Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring

Bloomberg Exam Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 31, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 17, 2017
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Self-Paced Adaptive Learning

September 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The Economist Tutor program is self-paced and great for people with hectic schedules. The Premium package has so many great features, but here are my favorite:
1. Adaptive - tailors content and exercises to your weakest topics so you can zip through your strongest areas and focus on what you need to practice more
2. Predicted score - adds a level of gamification to the process. It was satisfying to see my predicted score go up week on week, and my final score was within the predicted range. Great accuracy.
3. Skype tutoring sessions - although I didn't take full advantage of this, I would recommend doing 2-3 tutoring sessions if you learn best by walking through exercises with a tutor. Great value compared to spending thousands on in-person tutoring.

My score went up 90 points after taking 80% of the course (I took the test only a couple of months into the course).

Overall, would recommend.
Joined: Aug 22, 2017
Purchased Course: May 13, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Will need supplementary materials, but overall a great course

August 25, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Overall the Economist GMAT was extremely helpful. I go to a mid-tier public university in the US and am thinking about getting my MBA in 2-3 years. I looked online and this was appeared to be the best resource.

I'll preface by saying I didn't study at all, and the first practice test I took was through the Economist and I got a 550. My quant was in the 30th percentile, but my verbal was already in the 80th.

By the end, my quant was in the 70th percentile and my verbal improved to the 90th percentile. Although the quant is very good, I felt like the questions near the end of the program were too easy and that I needed to find some harder question to push my thinking and expose myself to harder questions.

And overall I thought the Economist sentence correction questions were much easier than the official ones, so if you get the opportunity, I would prep with difficult ones.

Overall a good product and even though my improvement may be an outlier, it should drastically help you.
Joined: Aug 2, 2017
Purchased Course: May 7, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience even though only 50 point increase

August 2, 2017
  • Teacher: Na
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 700

: I started studying for the GMAT several years ago using just the Manhattan GMAT books. I kept falling off studying. Finally I decided to get committed and start the official Manhattan GMAT in person course. I learned a lot in that but my score was only 650 on the real gmat after that course. I was disappointed because my first practice exam I got a 620 and I got the exact same score on my last one. It's like the class did nothing for my score. When I took the exam o got a 650, which was not good enough for me, but still I was pleasantly surprised that I got higher than my practice exams.

I found the economist GMAT course online after searching for a GMAT course score guarantee. It amazed me that I could go up 70 points with no risk through the economist. I started the Exonomist the day after my first GMAT exam with the hopes of getting a 720.

I found the course to be extremely helpful! The quant section was especially good. It changed to show me more questions of what I needed help on and fewer questions for things that I already knew. I really liked how the course had a score estimate and a percent complete tracker. I also had great sessions with Jake Wengroff, my tutor for all but one of the sessions. You can't pick your tutor in the system but he and I were able to book appointments offline that he would then add to the system so that it would guarantee that he was my tutor. He was really great and I would recommend him for sure!

The verbal section I found helpful, but the sentence correction section didn't seem to be as difficult as the real exam. My verbal score went from a 40 to a 41, so really there was not much improvement there from my first real exam to my last real exam. My quant went up from 40 to a 45. I'm very pleased with my progress. Although I did not get the 700 points that they guarantee I plan on extending my subscription so that I can take the exam again in September and will hopeful ly go up 20 or more points. In all I would recommend the eco moist to anyone. It is possible to get to 700!! You just have to keep working at it.
Joined: Jul 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 13, 2017
College: Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeeth
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

An elegantly constructed, consummate course for every GMAT taker

July 1, 2017
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

The Economist GMAT can best be described as the ideal tool for working professionals. The tool takes care of your preparation from the get-go: monitoring your progress, planning the courses, making suggestions for review.
Working a full-time job, a regular class-room course wouldn't work for me and I would not be able to fully utilize even the best course in that setting.
The way that the Economist GMAT tutor allowed me to utilize even the smallest bit of time available to prepare and the ease at which my course could be set or reset according to my preferences made a huge difference to my preparation.
All courses improve scores by some amount. However, I can confidently say that the Economist GMAT tutor does even more - it allows the test-taker to identify his/her level to a more accurate degree, meaning that I could go into the test confident that I was going to be fairly close to my target, and so it proved.
A special mention to tutors Jake Wengroff and Kasia Slawinska. Jake worked with me very early on in my prep, teaching me the basics of what the GMAT would be like, how I need to tackle it and what the best methods were to increase efficiency and reduce stress. He'd also helped me with a lot of work on Quants and gave me some very useful tips for test-day preparation. Kasia had worked with me around 10-15 days before the test, teaching me how to accelerate my preparation and plan how best to use the remaining time I had . I cannot commend highly enough the influence of those two on my preparation.
Joined: May 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2017
College: York University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Most useless prep for me

June 12, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Okay here's the thing. I didn't want to write this review. I really wanted Economist's GMAT prep to work for me. It didn't so I decided to buy Kaplan, Manhattan Prep, GmatPrepNow, and Magoosh. All of which are so much better. Here are my reasons:

1) Customizable: Economist doesn't let you customize your lessons. You can select quant or Verbal but within those two, they won't let you choose what you need to work on like the other preps. So if you understand 7 things already and need to work on 3, they make you go through all 10 before you can move on. And God forbid what you need is way down in their lessons, you have to go through everything before it. After emailing them a few times, they said I can check a box that says pick your own lessons, but I tried this twice and it didn't work.

2) Tutoring: The Tutors only work on what you've covered in THEIR course. I've emailed them about questions I had in the original guide but they said I need to go over what they've taught first about that topic. And if that topic is 40-50 lessons down, I have to go through all the topics before I can get a tutor to help me with what I need help in.

3) Strange format: They have this weird prompt screen asking you questions like "Is the math on the GMAT harder than high school math" on the way to the questions you need. You have to keep answering these to move on. I found this a waste of time and I just moved on to the other prep courses out of frustration

4) Refund: Forget about it. If you tell them the course isn't working for you and you would like to use the money on something that is more conducive to your learning, they won't do it. Instead they'll write you long paragraphs about how their course is the best and there's no need to look elsewhere.

5) 5000 practice questions: These aren't in the form of a question bank. I emailed them about this. They said you'll get a total of 5000 questions if you keep answering their questions on their weird path they have designed for you. I wish I had known this before because this was one of the main reasons I purchased it.

I've had the most frustrating experience with them and wish I never paid. It is partially my fault because I should have tried the week trial fully before buying it. However, I thought the lessons were just locked because I hadn't paid yet. But no... you have to go through everything.

So basically I lost $1000 and can't get it back. I am now studying using a bunch of other prep courses because Economist didn't have what I needed and their teaching style did nothing for me. Others might have had a positive experience, but this was mine.
Joined: Jan 22, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2017
College: MNNIT
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended

June 7, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 740

I used the Economist GMAT Tutor to prepare and I have to say that it gives a one of a kind & exceptional experience to the process of preparation. The portal to very well designed and organized, making everything simple to consume.

I am a non-native English speaker and started using the Economist portal especially to improve my verbal score. When I started I was around 27-30 range in verbal. That jumped to 40 by the time I took the test (in 4 months).

Eventually, the portal also gave me many hacks for quants which I could use in the practice tests. When used in combination with OGs, The Economist GMAT Tutor can work wonders.

Highly recommended for non-native English speakers!
Joined: May 29, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2017
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have beat the gmat without this course! 580 to 710 in five months!

May 30, 2017
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

My GMAT journey started around September 2016 when I took my first GMATprep practice test and scored a 580 (Q37, V33, IR7). For the next three months I studied on an off using OG books, but quickly realized the book approach would not work for me. After reading some reviews on courses, I decided to try the 1-week free trial for the Economist. I knew straight away that this would be a great course for me. Things that drew me to the course:
-I work a full-time job so I loved that you can complete a session whenever and for however long you want.
-The topics and answer explanations were clear and easy to follow.
-Really liked the time tracker for each question as well as the breakdown in how much time you had spent on Quant and Verbal topics.
-During the 1-week trial I took the free practice test and scored a 610 (Q43, V32, IR2) which I also felt reasonably correlated with my original GMATprep test score.

I knew December would be a difficult month for me to study, so I waited until the beginning of January to sign up for the Ultimate Prep, and the same week I signed up to take the real GMAT on April 1. This was a good time to sign up for the course because the rates were discounted for the New Year. I went for the 6-month Ultimate Prep for the 70-point guarantee and because I anticipated I was going to need to take the test more than once (just based on my experience with the SATs).

Over the next 3-months I studied for about 1.5 hours/day on the weekdays (about 1 hour on Quant and 30 mins on Verbal) and 2 hours/day ay on the weekend. I loved that the course was self-paced, and that it kept track of my progress. I felt like the Quant topics were great and the answer explanations were thorough and easy to understand. The Quant review helped me immensely, and I learned valuable strategies as to how to approach certain questions. I also loved that as you completed more and more topics, the course adapted to your strengths and weaknesses. If you are weak in a particular area, the course really hammers in the material/questions on that topic until you start answering the questions correctly. In terms of the Verbal, I knew that my main weaknesses were CR and SC and the course really focused on these topics. I thought the Stop Signs for SC were useful and helped teach me what common mistakes to look out for in the sentences. During the 3-months leading up to my test I took 5 of the Economist practice test and the second free GMATprep test. My scores were as follows:

1) Feb 18, 590 (Q37, V32, IR4) Economist
2) March 11, 620 (Q47, V29, IR4) Economist
3) March 15, 690 (Q50, V36, IR5) Economist
4) March 18, 680 (Q45, V40, IR5) Economist
5) March 22, 680 (Q43, V42, IR3) Economist
6) March 25, 650 (Q47, V43, IR8) GMATprep test 2

During this 3-month preparation time I also utilized four of the personal tutoring sessions. I can't stress enough how important these sessions were for my progress. I had all of my tutoring sessions with Jake Wengroff and he was AMAZING! We mainly focused on debriefing my practice tests and going through questions I answered incorrectly. One of my biggest hurdles with the GMAT was the timing, and Jake helped me learn timing strategies as well as when it was ok to guess on certain questions. Jake mostly helped me with Quant, but in later sessions we focused more on SC/CR and his help in the verbal section was also great! On top of all of this, Jake is also incredibly nice and supportive. He really helped me deal with my some of my test-taking anxiety.

After months of studying I ended up taking the GMAT on April 1 and scoring a 660 (Q48, V33, IR6, AWA 5.5). I was happy with my improvement on the Quant section, but due to lack of sleep the night before and accidently starting the Verbal section late, I didn?t feel that this score reflected my true ability.

From my first test, it was clear I still needed to do some work on the Verbal section. I think the Economist course is great for teaching strategies on how to approach questions on the Verbal section, but I believe the biggest weakness of the course is that some of the Verbal questions do not closely align with official GMAT questions. I always did very well with the official RC questions, but I found the Economist RC questions to be incredibly difficult. I found the Economist SC questions were good practice, but they were often too easy and seemed to follow a formula. I found the official SC questions to be much more difficult. I felt the Economist CR closely aligned with the real thing. For the Quant, I felt the practice questions were on par with the official questions.

I decided to retake the test on May 20, but for the remaining 1.5 months of study time, I continued to do the Economist Quant practice questions and heavily focus on OG Verbal questions. I also had a three additional tutoring sessions with Jake in which we went over the last two practice tests I had taken before the big day. Come test day, I was able to achieve an overall score of 710 (Q47, V40, IR4, AWA6)!!!! The score forecaster on the Economist software estimated my score would be between 680-740, so this was right on target! In the end, I completed 89% of the Quant material (70 hours), and 86% of the Verbal (42 hours).

I also just want to quickly comment on the IR and AWA portions of the course. The Economist IR questions were reasonable, however, the course review for this section is fairly limited. If you need more work with IR, you may need to seek additional resources. For AWA, I thought the template was great and I used the exact template on the real exam. I submitted three essays for review, and while the feedback was useful, it does take around a week to get a response, so plan accordingly.

I know this a long-winded review, but I 100% believe I could not have achieved this score without this course and Jake?s help! The course may be somewhat pricey, but I think it was worth every penny!
Joined: May 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 18, 2017
College: Maastricht University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Too expensive and less convenient than other courses

May 23, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 510

I studied approximately one month with the Economist GMAT Tutor and was not completely satisfied with the course. First of all, I did not like the fact that there was no clear overview where, in terms of theory, you are. You are able to see how much percent of the course have completed but you do not know what chapter will follow and how many chapters are left. Additionally, I personally thought that the practice questions were not very representative for the actual GMAT questions. I thought the actual questions are tougher than those in the practice mode.

On the other hand, I very much appreciated the Skype tutoring sessions which are included in the course. All lessons were very well organised and were very effective. Also, the five practice exams that the course provides to all students were very good for practicing and provided great explanations in case one does not understand a question.

Overall, I still consider the price for this course way to high and I would therefore not recommend this course. After my first trial, I waited approximately 2 months and studied with the Magoosh Course. Within three weeks, I jumped from 510 (Q37; V23) to 660 (Q46; V35).

Good luck!
Joined: May 3, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 14, 2017
College: Brown University
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for flexible study--if you have too much OR too little time

May 3, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 760

I went from not having opened a GMAT book to a 760 on my first try taking the GMAT with the help of the Economist GMAT Tutor. The whole process took me two months.

I started with the trial run and took my first test and scored a 650 on my first practice test. I enjoyed the flexibility of the program, as I am a college student with a lot of time on my hands and wanted to be able to study on my own time. I studied for around 2 hours every day five days a week.

I am an Applied Math major at school so I thought I would be prepared for the quantitative section. However, on my first test I scored very poorly. I believe that the Economist Quant prep is extremely helpful in giving you the right ways to approach problems. Certain problems that originally took me 5-7 minutes to solve, however, after using the approaches given to me by the Economist tutor, I could solve them in 1-2 minutes.

The adaptive nature of the program is extremely useful. This way certain types of problems that I just couldn't get right originally I easily mastered and problems that I knew how to solve easily originally I didn't waste time on.

I believe the verbal prep also must be among the best. I originally scored about where I thought I should on my practice test, as I do not have strong verbal and grammatical skills. The "Stop Signs" the program used were a great way to identify possible errors in sentence correction. The critical reasoning practice problems were also great and nearly identical to the real test. I believe that the reading comprehension in the GMAT tutor was slightly more difficult than the real exam but definitely helped me prepare.

I completed a little over 80% of the course and in the last two weeks started working more on the GMAT Offical problems in the app they give. I think that using the tutor to have a solid background and familiarity with the types of problems they give and then working on official problems and tests was the best approach for me.

I didn't take as much advantage of the in-app questions and tutoring sessions as I could have. However, the sessions I did have were informative and helpful. They really look at the data and your progress in order to give you helpful and critical feedback.

I scored much lower on all the practice tests I took on the Economist program than I did on the real test--my highest score was a 720. However, I believe that that has more to do with my test taking mentality rather than the difficulty of the real tests as my highest practice score on the Official program was also a 720.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor, especially if you want to study on your own time.
Joined: Apr 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect Prep Course for Busy People

April 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I decided to apply to Business school 3 months before the application was due. I knew that I wouldn't have time to take the GMAT multiple times and had to ensure the my studying was as efficient as possible. The Economist GMAT course exceeded my expectations. The lessons were concise and easy to understand, and the one-on-one tutoring sessions were extremely valuable.

The best part about the course are all of the practice problems. When you get a question wrong, it not only tells you what the correct answer is, but also why the answer you selected is wrong. You have the opportunity to send an "ask a tutor" inquiry if there are questions that you still don't understand after reading the explanation. I ended up only needing to use about 20 out of 50 available "ask a tutor" inquiries because the explanations provided are so thorough.

After completing the Economist GMAT Prep Course in 2.5 months, I improved my score by 130 points and achieved my target score of 720. I highly recommend the Economist GMAT course!
Joined: Mar 30, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 26, 2016
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible and time efficient GMAT prep

April 1, 2017
  • Teacher: Emily
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

First of all I have to say that my initial goal was to score 700 points in the GMAT which I did not achieve. In my first, and so far only, official try I scored 650 after scoring not more than 580 in the test exams during preparation. After 2 months of classic studying with books I decided to go for the basic Economist GMAT Tutor option. I thought it might be more time efficient in order to support me for an intensive preparation in the last month before my official GMAT (and it was indeed).

I felt really comfortable working with the desktop version as well as the mobile app e.g. on my way to work. You can choose between 5 minute and 60 minute sessions on either quant or verbal or both combined. Tasks that were not answered correctly can be reviewed instantly and are noted by the software. Then, over time it gives you less of your strong tasks and more new topics with your weak spots frequently in between.

I started with a text exam right away and so the adaptive nature of the software got hold of my strengths and weaknesses pretty quickly. Obviously this is generally a huge advantage of software over classic book learning. Unfortunately I realized that far too late, otherwise I would have spend all 3 months of prep just with the Economist app. On the other hand I does make a lot of sense to work at least with GMAT material from two different companies in order to have a comparison.

Due to the insights from the test exam I focused solely on improving the quantative section, where the Economist app provides a massive amount of excercises. Although I spent three weeks only in the quant section I hardly managed to finish 50% of the quant section.

I am sure that the app it helped me to especially work on my weaknesses and that it deserves a huge part of the credits for my 650. Since I just got accepted to my first BS choice I can say that the 350$ were a good investment. They have different payment plans from which my option was the cheapest. It is valid for three months (one week free trial in advance) and comes with the study material + 3 test GMATs, 1 essay review, 20 ask a tutor questions via a chat interface.

Since then I have always recommended this app to anybody who asked me for GMAT prep recommendations.
Joined: Mar 21, 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 6, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Ultimate Economist GMAT Review

March 21, 2017
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The Economist GMAT Tutor has a rigorous verbal preparation. The Reading Comprehension is more difficult than the real GMAT and it prepares you for very tough questions which is great! The Sentence Correction uses Stop Signs in order to train you which turned out to be very useful as it points you to the type of mistakes you need to look for. It was especially helpful as I'm non-native speaker! The Critical Reasoning was very useful too, showing you the main distractors and traps. The Quant section was great - they teach you shortcut techniques which for example are not shown at the Official Guide. The way I have prepared was to use the Economist as a foundation and practice questions from the Official Guide at the end - once you do that and see the explanations at the OG you will really appreciate how good the Economist is and the way they have taught you to think.
One point for improvement is the time it takes for AWA essays to be graded. It usually takes 1 week and if your GMAT is quickly approaching, it might be a limitation to the number of essays you will be able to submit.
However, the core curriculum which is the most important component was great. The opportunity to take tutor sessions aids your preparation and you can work on your weaknesses. The system offers predicted score which in my case was accurate and it gives you more ambition to work harder in order to get to your goal.
To sum up, I highly recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor and it's a great tool for preparation!
Joined: Mar 2, 2017
Purchased Course: May 18, 2016
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

I recommend the Economist GMAT tutor for the GMAT math prep

March 9, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 650

The Economist GMAT is the best material to beat the quant section of the GMAT. I am an engineer with a strong mathematics background. However my mathematics knowledge is completely different from the one that is needed for the GMAT quant. In fact I've learned how to do calculus steps by steps and prove difficult mathematics theories, but not how to guess , nor to do basic computations in the most effective way and solve problems in 2 mins. Therefore my results on the quant on the very first simulation tests were frustrating. I then decided to take a course to improve my score. I tried the Economist GMAT tutor for 7 days (there is a week free trial ) and noticed at the very first day that it is the application that I needed. The availability of the apps on Android and Windows devices is very useful. I was able to practice in the train while going to work every day...
The course is computer adapative. You will have the questions on the same topic until you ace it. You cannot move to another chapter if you don't do reasonnably well on the previous. The one to one tutor session via skype is really valuable. I was abe to talk to my tutors who gave me precious advice to strenghen my weaknesses , to manage efficiently the time. They even go through my simulation tests and tell me how to do improve my score.
It proposes a really time saving template to write essays.
I found the verbal courses good too but less effective as I am not a native.
I highly recommend the Economist GMAT to learn the technics to solve the quant problems and the essay.
Joined: Mar 1, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 6, 2015
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: Community/Economic Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Would highly recommend - it takes away the burden of managing the process of studying

March 1, 2017
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Whenever anyone mentions they're currently or thinking about studying for the GMAT, I always tell them to check out the Economist GMAT Tutor and at least do the free week trial.

Why I recommend GMAT Tutor to everyone:

1. The adaptive learning component.
This is the main reason I would highly recommend it. When working full time, you?re just so busy you barely have time to study, and don't have time to ?manage? the process of studying. I felt like the GMAT Tutor took the load of managing the process of studying off me and enables me to just focus on understanding the content and practicing.

How it does this: GMAT Tutor feeds you learning and practice materials at a pace that is custom to what you do well at. If you rock the geometry stuff, it'll fly you through that section. If you struggle, it'll give you more practice problems there and keep coming back to it over time until you've mastered it. The GMAT itself is an adaptive test, and I really appreciated this component of the GMAT Tutor program. It takes the stress and burden of coming up with your own study plan. All you have to do is log in and press start, and it feeds you what you need.

2. The flexibility of the online sessions.
I could study whenever and wherever I wanted, and select how many minutes I wanted to study. I found a lot of value in doing quant drills without pen/paper on the mobile app when I was in a taxi or wanted a 5 minute break from work. Also, the progress and score projection tracking made it feel like a game--I enjoyed watching my progress % and score projection range go up after every session and it made me excited to study.

3. The Skype tutoring sessions and in-app question feature.
If I came across a piece of content or a practice problem that I struggled with, I could click a button on that box and jot down an email to a real person, who would respond via email within a day or two. The tutors I met with over Skype were also very helpful--having someone explain difficult concepts and work on tough problems with me was valuable. I also appreciated the opportunity to have a handful of practice essays graded and returned with comments.


Compared to other options: While I didn't take an in-person class, I know the cost of a class is typically higher, it's definitely less convenient, and you go at the class pace instead of your own.

I did buy the Manhattan textbooks and did a focused 3-months of GMAT prep with them before switching to GMAT Tutor. I found it very difficult to know what topics on which to focus my study with the books, and felt I wasted a lot of time going through content I didn't need to spend so much time on. Additionally, I felt like my motivation to study had to come from sheer discipline, while it was so much easier to just jump on and press Go on a GMAT Tutor session.
Joined: Feb 11, 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 6, 2016
College: University of Western Ontario
Major: Civil Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

630 to 710 with Economist GMAT

February 11, 2017
  • Teacher: Self-Directed
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I have been using the Economist GMAT Tutor course for the last 3 months and it was remarkably helpful for helping me achieve my goal of scoring 710. This program came highly recommended from a friend of mine who described it as "one of the top 3 purchases of his life".

With a full time job and long workday hours, doing a series of weekend prep courses was not a good option for me. I was looking for a program that I could use in my free time and would let me study for 15 minutes or 4 hours depending on my schedule. I used the 7 day trial (which I recommend anyone should do before considering the purchase) and was hooked.

I was especially impressed with the full explanations provided for every answer in the Verbal section. Those were extremely helpful for understanding the structure of arguments and subtle grammar and style issues in sentence correction questions.

I studied engineering in university, so the majority of the math concepts were familiar to me. However, on some of the GMAT questions, I had trouble solving the questions in the recommended 2 minute window. The big advantage of the Economist program is that it teaches you shortcuts and quick ways to solve tricky problems, and gives you multiple tools to solve the problems. Further, after every question, the program asks you "How long do you think you took to answer the question?" This is especially helpful to get a feel for timing and pacing. You are taught not only how to answer questions correctly, but also to be aware of the big picture and how far off pace you might be.

Some other great features of the program are that you can have multiple one on one skype tutoring sessions with tutors from around the world (I highly recommend Jake Wengroff), you can submit written essays for the AWA portion and get them graded by real people, and you can submit any kind of question through their "Ask a Tutor" feature. The responses you get back are often very detailed and helpful.

Finally, studying with this program is addictive. Just like the real GMAT exam, the program features adaptive algorithms that target your weakest areas and force you to practice those. Once you have completed a certain set of questions, a % complete graph will project a possible range of scores for you. This is addictive because the projected score tends to increase the more you study, so I found that I was always looking forward to the next study session so I could move the projected score up higher and higher. I wrote 6 practice exams with the program, all of which were in the project range; therefore, I believe it was a fair estimate of my abilities.

In total, I spent 75 hours going through about 85% of the course content and practice questions. I wrote 6 sim tests and scored the following:

Format: Score (IR, Quant, Verbal)

630 (3, 42, 36)
660 (6, 48, 34)
660 (3, 51, 31)
710 (5, 46, 43)
710 (6, 50, 38)
730 (6, 50, 41)

I submitted 3 essays for AWA and was graded 5.5, 5.5-6.0, and 5.5-6.0.

On my real GMAT I scored:

710 (8, 49, 37) with a 6.0 on AWA. 91% percentile.

I hope to apply to an MBA program in 2018 and am confident that this score will get me into my first choice school, hopefully with a big scholarship.
Joined: Oct 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 1, 2016
College: California State University, Long Beach
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Austria
Verified Real Student Review

Breaking 700

January 24, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 700

Knowing how helpful (good) reviews are for choosing the ?right? GMAT prep tool, I would like to share my recent experience using the Economist GMAT Tutor.

Since I regularly work long hours, the only real option for me was to take a self-paced course. Thus, with three months to go before the test date, I signed up for free trials for both the MGMAT and the Economist GMAT Tutor program. And after only one day, I was 100% sure that the Economist tool was going be ?my? tool in getting ready to finally beat the GMAT. Here is why:

As opposed to the MGMAT tool, the Economist tool does not use videos, meaning that you have to read all the content and answer explanations. Moreover, you constantly have to answer both short review questions and actual test questions as you work through the material. If you ? like me ? are the kind of person who studies late and easily loses focus when watching videos, the Economist tool will certainly work much better for you.

The Economist tool also makes it really easy for you to track your progress as it gives you a lot of detail on the time spent studying, the percentage of completed content and an approximate score estimate. The last two features in particular were a game changer for me because practicing thereby became kind of a computer game.

The algorithm running the Economist prep tool really hones in on your weaknesses and spends much less time on your strengths. For example, I completed 90% of the verbal content in a quarter of the time that it took me to complete 90% of the quant material (note that quant has been my weakness all along). Moreover, you do not need to use material, which makes studying all the more efficient (although I do recommend using the OG for the last two weeks of your prep).

As far as the Economist GMAT tutor?s CATs go, I feel that they are pretty accurate in measuring how you will do on the actual test. My scores after finishing all the content were 720, 670, 700 and 710 and I ended up scoring a 700 on the actual test.
Additionally, the Economist GMAT Tutor offers a score guarantee, meaning that you are guaranteed a 70 point improvement from your base score (which I set at 610 points during my free one-week trial) if you sign up for the 3-month trial. Since my target score was a 680 this was all the more incentive to sign up. After all, if hadn?t reached my target score, I would at least have gotten my money back.

AWA: The AWA templates are really helpful. If you are really weak in writing though, I can see how the templates alone will not do much for you. Definitely use the essay grading feature ? the personalized feedback you get on your essays is pretty good.

IR: To me, this is definitely the ?weak spot? of the Economist GMAT tutor. For my taste, there are far too little questions in the question bank to allow for a thorough preparation. Moreover, the CATs do not have an on-screen calculator like on the real test.

Quant: The quant sections is amazing! The Economist tool has it all: simple explanations, a huge question bank, and good tutors (you get up to six one-on-one tutoring sessions via Skype) about any topic you choose. Moreover, the algorithm really hammers test taking strategies (e.g. POE, approximations, etc.) into your brain and literally forces you to approach quant problems the way you should.

Verbal: I cannot seriously say much about the helpfulness of the verbal sections as I scored above the 90th percentile from the beginning.

Last but not least, I want to mention how helpful Isaac was as a tutor for my ?strategy sessions?. Although my first session with him was a rough awakening (he pretty much told me that much of what I had been doing was ineffective), he completely changed my approach to the test itself. If it wasn?t for him (and his super helpful timing charts) I would have never been able to exceed my target score and get a 700 on the actual test! Thanks!
Joined: Jan 22, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 10, 2016
College: Yale University
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Strong recommendation for Economist GMAT prep

January 22, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 750

I first took the GMAT after some studying on on my own at the end of last summer. I thought I was adequately prepared to hit my target score, but walked out of the testing center disappointed. I realized that I needed to attack the exam with a thorough study plan so that I could reach my target.

I first signed up for the 7 day trial of the Economist GMAT tutor and felt that it would be the complete review I needed. I knew that I would have to space my studying out over multiple months, so I had to rework my first study approach. The course is great in that it allows you to work at your own pace and if you can make time to do an hour or two a day over a couple months, you will have worked your way through the majority of the material. I found that the course helped me identify some of the nuances seen in the harder level questions that can be difficult to understand. Also, the way that the course is designed allows you to stay engaged with the material as long as you are going through it consistently. As you make your way through the course, you will notice that the lessons and questions you are seeing are tailored to the areas that you tend to struggle with more. The tutors and support team are also extremely helpful and respond to questions promptly, they definitely want to see you do well and they strive to make themselves as available as possible.

I found that some of the verbal material was substantially harder than what I consider more common in the official GMAT Prep questions, especially the reading comprehension. But you can feel confident that if you are able to get through the Economist material in this section, you will probably do very well on the actual exam. Also, it is difficult to look back at all the material that you have already covered, although you can find brief summaries of each lesson on the home page.

All in all, I highly recommend the course to people who are disciplined with their study time and are able to devote a sufficient time to get through the majority of the course.
Joined: Jan 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 7, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

100 point improvement from 640 to 740 in under 3 months

January 6, 2017
  • Teacher: Kasia
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 740

I initially sat the GMAT exam with minimal study and scored 640. I quickly realised that I needed to boost my mark in the verbal section of the GMAT which was the weakest component of my score at 33 (69th percentile). Over the following two and a half months I focused on the dreaded sentence correction component of the verbal exam. The Economist GMAT course helped me understand the nuances specific to the GMAT exam, such as the fact that the word 'as' should be followed by a conjugated verb whilst the word 'like' should not.

In addition I also had two 1 hour sessions with the Economist verbal tutor Kasia. Initially I was skeptical of how large a difference a simple 1 hour session could make to my overall score, however my Skype session with Kasia quickly changed my views. During the session she identified several areas I was weak at such as 'Bold' questions in critical reasoning and the conditional rules in sentence correction. She sent me nearly 100 questions with simple explanations specific to my weaknesses to guide my self-study and two highly relevant grammar textbooks along with guidance on which chapters to read. I did all of the questions, reviewed my answers and read the textbooks in detail.

In the exam I scored 44 in the verbal section, which put me in the 98th percentile and lead to an overall score of 740 (97th percentile). I also scored 6/6 in the Analytic Writing Assessment (AWA) and 8/8 in the Integrated Reasoning (IR) section. Consequently I received multiple offers for schools of my choice including one from a business school ranked in the top 5 in the world by the Financial Times and another that offered me a merit scholarship, that discounted my course fees by 50%, saving me thousands of dollars. I highly recommend the Economist's GMAT Course!
Joined: Nov 17, 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 20, 2016
College: Vassar College
Major: Music
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Product Out There

November 17, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I used the GMAT tutor for about 2 months leading up to my test date. Initially, I had picked up a few review books and tried other computerized programs that aimed to simulate the test's feel and layout. They were not helping as much as I wanted. The Economist product held several differentiating features that helped me learn not only the 'tricks' to specific question types, but review some math and verbal concepts that I was rusty on. Specifically, the GMAT Tutor's ability to dynamically walk through various points of explanation, depending on what I was getting wrong most helped to streamline my study. Material that I demonstrated mastery of immediately wasn't shown to me many times - I was able to concentrate on improving more than just going through the motions. The other feature that stood out was the ability to ask specific questions to the Economist staff about material that I wasn't understanding. Focused, personal responses got me father, faster in my my study.

I didn't take advantage of the essay samples, but I can imagine that they would be useful for others. The only improvement that I could possibly suggest is a more modular approach to the content. I had to study math concepts more than verbal, and it would have been nice to jump around between modules at my discretion, especially close to my test date.
Joined: Nov 12, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2016
College: University of Cape Town
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Verified Real Student Review

Very thorough GMAT preparation with Economist GMAT Tutor

November 12, 2016
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 710

The Economist GMAT Tutor provided me with an extremely thorough preparation for the GMAT. The course helped me to improve my score by 90 points.

Things I liked:
- you can work at your own pace
- featured a graphical indication of your progress through the course
- uses an enjoyable, interactive and adaptive curriculum
- the online tutors always respond to your question within two days
- very much practice based...practice practice practice
- the answer to each practice question is explained thoroughly
- the simulation tests are very comparable to the real GMAT
- I found the explanation of mathematical and verbal concepts very easy to follow
- the estimated score prediction is accurate
- the mobile app is great for studying when you are away from your computer

Things I disliked
- the course is very expensive, but you get what you pay for
- I could not finish 100% of the course in time. If you are working full time you will need 3 full months, putting in about 2- 3 hours each evening and at least 8 hours during each weekend. I had a few weeks where I wasn't able to work. Overall I completed about 67% of the course in 3.5 months (86% of the quant (62 hours of work) and around 51% verbal (14 hours), plus 6 simulation exams). I also did some practice exams with the official software.

Overall the prep was very thorough and I fully recommend spending the money.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 9 10 11 12 13