Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring

Bloomberg Exam Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Nov 25, 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good prep course overall

May 6, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 660

After studying for the GMAT previously, I knew that I needed try a different technique for my last attempt in order to achieve a score above 700. Overall, I think the Economist Tutor is a great program, but I was simply burnt out with standardized test material this last time around and did not use it to its maximum potential. If you are learning GMAT concepts for the first time, and have the time to give this program a few hours a day for a few months, I highly recommend it.

Pros: -Program offers a unique perspective on difficult math concepts, in most cases better than any other test prep program
-You cannot passively go through answers, the program forces you to stay focused and on track
- Concepts are presented in a way that the materials builds on itself

Cons: - They need to be more transparent about the time commitment this program requires if you want to get through all of the material. If you are working 50+ hours a week, you need a couple of months
- **my biggest con**- For folks who have taken the GMAT in the past, you cannot choose the concepts you wish to work on, you must stay in sequential order. I understand why they want users to follow a certain sequence of lessons, but for $500+ dollars, they need to be a bit more flexible
Joined: Nov 19, 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 8, 2012
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A course that covers all aspects in math and verbal

May 4, 2013
  • Teacher: Online Course
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 500 After: 590

I took the GMAT last year in July and did miserably. My mock tests were good, but my exam bombed big time. So I thought something was wrong with me on the test day. But I decided not to give up and take the exam another day.

I was researching for some courses online, and I read about the 70 point assured increase in the GMAT Economist course. I payed 1$ and went through with the course for a week! I realised how intensive the course was and how well planned it was. I paid the rest and started cracking.

The course has an option of choosing between the math and verbal sections or allowing the software to choose the pace for you.
I went with the software as there is a fine balance between both the sections.

The basics of math which I needed to brush up, were neatly presented and explanations were made simple. This, along with some sums after every concept was very useful. In the verbal section, there was an intense focus on sentence correction, which I think I needed as I am not a native english speaker. The CR question types were covered strategically. The explanations for how to crack the RC's were good, but I felt there were not many questions in this field.

Another highlight of the Economist GMAT prep is the fact that its extremely easy to review the concepts you have studied. There is no need to take notes, because its already there! So, before each test, reviewing concepts were made easy.

I used the classes for both math and verbal and the teachers were extremely smart and helped me (I left these for the end, something which I regretted. If I had cleared my doubts regularly, it would have been better)

On the exam day, I was well prepared but I was still a bundle of nerves.
My score increased by 90 points, but I have not reached my target score yet.

Im not giving up, Ill definitely beat the GMAT one day.

I would recommend the Economist GMAT Course to both people who have taken the test and those who haven't as the course content is extensive and it adapts itself to your skill level! Definitely worth the investment!
Joined: May 4, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 16, 2013
College: Middlebury
Major: Sociology
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Tutor from Economist gives you a competitive edge

May 4, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I've been studying with the GMAT Tutor from the Economist for about a month now and I am definitely seeing improvements. I've yet to take the real exam so it is hard for me to throw out numbers, but overall I would sum up my experience with the course as positive.

pros:
- practice anywhere, anytime
- set timed sessions ranging from 5 to 60 minutes
- built in "timer" questions that help you to build a perception of how long it's taking you to answer certain kinds of questions
- feels like a competitive video game so the content is pretty easy to get through

cons:
-a little bit hard to jump around although their is an option to choose what your session covers
- not yet sure how score estimates compare to real test
- no AWA questions provided - you have to get prompt from elsewhere and submit essay incl. question for a grade.
Joined: Apr 30, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 8, 2013
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Online Prep Course!

April 30, 2013
  • Teacher: Isaac, Kasia, etc.
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have been taking this course for about a month now and I am extremely pleased with the way it is going. I started with the trial thinking I had nothing to lose from giving it a shot, and I discovered that I really liked it and I ended up buying the course. My score has been slowly but steadily improving in both sections. I still have two months until I take the GMAT, and I seem to be on track to get a score that I would be happy with.

My favorite part about the course is the fact that you can start a session at any time for as short as five minutes. I generally prefer the 20-30 minute sessions, but if I'm pressed for time sometimes I'll squeeze in a shorter one. The program seems to use a solid algorithim and the lessons are very educational. I was afraid that a computer course would be too dry (compared to a live course) and I would get bored quickly, but the program is pretty fun and presents a really good course of study. The only drawback to any online course is that you have to be self motivated, but if you can handle that, this is a great course.
Joined: Apr 29, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 5, 2013
Major: Biology
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Easy to use, but not rigorous enough for 700+

April 29, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The GMAT Tutor is a unique and generally valuable tool for GMAT prep. Designed to constantly interact with the student, GMAT Tutor is best for those with busy schedules who need to fit targeted practice into set chunks of time. You don't have to worry about organizing material to study or figuring out what your weaknesses are, as GMAT Tutor does it all for you.

That said, I don't think GMAT Tutor will be enough for those who seek 700+ scores. It's a great place to start, but especially for advanced quant, other resources will probably be needed. Overall I'm glad I enrolled.

Joined: Apr 27, 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 12, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Good Course 3 Stars

April 27, 2013
  • Teacher: Online
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 440 After: 710

It's a good course but be prepared to put in 100+ hours to get the results you want. I did the online only course and it adapts to what you need to focus on. I.E. if you need to focus on a specific verbal or quantitative section, that's what you work on until you master it.

Practice tests are realistic but I thought the scores were low compared to what I got on the actual exam. Tutor sessions are via Skype.

Would be 5 stars except: Essays are generally returned within 2 days, but I had to wait a week for one of them. Limited instructions at the beginning. I.E. no instructions saying don't take a test, use a tutor session, or send in an essay until you've completed this portion of the course. I only found out after I had used a test, tutor sessions, and sent in essays too early.
Joined: Apr 26, 2013
Purchased Course: Dec 24, 2012
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

The GMAT classes are great.

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The study materials are good with fancy technology. It did help a lot with the Verbal and Math. Also, it is scientific because the system designed the review part for you. The only problem is that I did not get enough time to study
Joined: Apr 26, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 15, 2013
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Better than books for on-the-go learners

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I found it better than books, including Manhattan, because it targeted my weak areas automatically and let me practice on. It is really hard to categorize your own weak areas manually because there are 100s of categories in maths and verbal section of gmat.

When I started practicing for GMAT using Manhattan, my score improved from the range of 630-650 to 680-690 during the last few months of 2012. I was flip-flopping between Maths and Verbal, sometimes my Maths was low and Verbal was high, while at other times my Maths was high and Verbal was low.

I purchased GMAT Tutor in the middle of January, and practiced several hours of the day in front of the computer. By the mid of March, my score was flip-flopping between 710-730. It was a great improvement. My Maths core was solidified by tricks mentioned by the GMAT Tutor. Basic Sentence Correction was strengthened and Reading Comprehension was not tiring anymore. The essay practice improved my essay score to the range of 5.0-5.5.

I would like to see the following improvements:
- After I completed 80%-90% of the tests, the GMAT tutor focused only on limited weak areas. I would like it to cover even the areas where I was strong so that I get more practice.
- Cover Integrated Reasoning questions
- Improve Sentence Correction
- Sample GMAT Test not reliable

I would recommend this course for anyone just starting to prepare for GMAT. I have wasted countless months relying on books and not advancing to magic 700 figure.

After doing this course and reaching 700 figure, please complete at least 10-12 mock tests. You can buy these mock tests from Manhattan, 800-score, or Veritas.

Before the GMAT exam, I did one mock test every day.
Joined: Apr 15, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 4, 2013
College: Colombia
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Chemicals
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

I feel the improvement.

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I used the one week the free trial and from the first 10 minutes I felt connected with the program, it is very advantageous to have the opportunity of this free trial, I was confident to pay the course.

It doesn?t matter the level I have, the program will adjust to my pace and knowledge, topics that are easy will go fast, and those topics that are difficult will present extra exercises and explanations.

I feel that this program is helping to improve my English as well; explanations in the Verbal prep are good grammar tips that are helping me to prepare my English proficiency exam too.

Support is amazing, I have received a satisfactory answer to all the questions I set to the tutors; they always give a quick and clear answer when I need a clarification.
I have used the program 2 to 3 hours per day, I feel the improvement, I have my appointment in 2 weeks, probably is not going to be the last one, I will post an update after my result. Right now I feel that I have chosen the best option available in Gmat preparation. (My status: I have used the program for 1 month, 2 to 3 hours per day, I have completed 1/3 of the program. I need over 710, and I have 8 weeks more available to prepare exams).
Joined: Oct 1, 2011
Purchased Course: Feb 1, 2013
College: aarhus university
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

Callibration of tests is 100 points off.

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 530

Hi,

I used to score around 570-600 on all available simulation tests, I needed only a score of 600+ to get where I want... however I took GMAT economist mandatory simulation test with a result of ridiculous 490.

I completed only 75% of the quant section which is where I needed improvement, and 35% of the verbal. In total I put in about 60h of studying in it. I wouldn't say the app is as adaptive as advertized and the price is obviously too high, but on the other hand these are the market prices.

Tips&tricks in the course boil down to using educated guessing, which isn't something you haven't learned through your education.

My real GMAT score was 530, therefore I'm in for one more attempt. I would recommend this course if you have iPad or a smartphone, because you can access it easily anywhere. But most of all I would recommend you to work really hard and don't give up. There is no "snake oil" easy solution to high GMAT score, I think the economist's GMAT is a handier than written materials, and helps to organize your learning... (saving you about 1/3 of the time).







Joined: Jan 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 1, 2012
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Not an amazing experience...

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: N/A

They only provide you with a set of problems and the algorithm they use is not too great. The worst part is that the same (five/six) RC passages keep coming back with only one new question - which is very unlike the real GMAT.
If you want to go back to the lessons/basics, they do not allow you to do so....you are only allowed a view of the summary of the basics that too is a tiny window.
The access to the website is automatically revoked after the completion of the duration, and after that you are expected to pay $90 per month. The probability of accessing the course beyond the ninety days is higher, but they allow that for only for the additional price.
It was a sad experience for me.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 26, 2012
College: national university of singapore
Major: Computer Engineering
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Save your time, just get a GMAT tutor from the Economists

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

Before I signed up for the Economist Complete Prep, I spent about 6 months to do self-studying using official guide and other prep books to prepare for my 1st GMAT. Despite all the hardwork I only got 680.

And I saw the GMAT tutor from the economist and signed up for it. And guess what, even though my improvement seems small- only 40 points, but the programme has really helped me improved on areas that I did not do well. And I think I should have signed up for this course earlier, instead of trying save the money, that would have saved me 3 months to half a year of preparation time.

Pros:
- self paced.
- structured course that can adapt to your learning, and this can save you a lot of time. Preparing for GMAT should not take too long, more effort should be spent on applying for the school you want isn't it?
- Very clear instructions and feedbacks from the computer. I actually think I don't need an instructor to be honest. And in case you need, you can always schedule 1 with the tutor.

Cons:
- Questions in the Verbal section is easier the actual GMAT test. But this is not a big problem. The Economist GMAT course will teach you all the fundamentals you need to know.
Once you complete the course, just do the free prep questions/tests from GMAT Preptest from MBA.com and more practices online to familiar yourself with the difficulty.

Would I recommend it? Yes I will, wholeheartedly. My wife is preparing for her GMAT now and she signed up for the The Economist GMAT course too. And I just got an offer and scholarship from one of the world's top 50 university. Thank God!
Joined: Jan 20, 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 20, 2013
College: College of William and Mary
Major: Business
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Should have been doing this before I took the GMAT twice before

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: N/A

Ok, so I've taken the GMAT twice and used books both times to prepare: Kaplan, Princeton Review, and the Official Guides. They are all great (OG is the best), but I realized that nothing beats actually sitting down at your computer and working on problems. There's just something different about having to work the problem out with only a notepad and pen. (You can't write on your screen you know?)

Anyway, the GMAT Tutor has been super helpful because it's computer based and it works according to your level of ability. (I've been using it on my iPhone too, it works well.) My score is already climbing when I take the GMAT practice test software on my computer. I'm pretty sure I'll hit my goal of 700 with another 6-8 weeks of practice.

Their guarantee is awesome too, and Beat the GMAT gives you some sweet discounts and bonuses if you go through the site.

Check it out!
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 19, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT prep

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Economist GMAT course is excellent. As others have said the course does seem like a bit of a game and I have enjoyed it.

While I havent yet finished the course, my practice tests have gone from 620 to 740. I put this solidly down to the fact that you arent slogging through huge textbooks and the course gives you the information in a clear and concise manner.

All up, I couldnt imagine a gmat course to be much better. The tutors reply promptly to questions with tailored responses and are very helpful. The adaptive nature of the course is great too as it forces you to work on areas in which you need more practice.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 15, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Simply amazing

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher: Isaac B.
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 650

I've taken GMAT prep courses in the past (wont mention because I do not want to focus on the negative) but GMAT Tutor was truly the course for me. Not only were the staff amazing, they were also very quick to reply to any doubts that I had about specific subjects whether is was Verbal or Quant.

As I went on with my prep, I did the amount of work I could do with my busy work schedule. I would sometimes even do 10 minute sessions just to keep my prep going consistently. The effective style/teaching methods taught in this course really did help me look at the GMAT in a way never before. I was seriously in shock how SC questions really worked.

All in all, I would HIGHHHHLLLYYYYY recommend this course to anyone thinking about taking the GMAT. I would suggest taking this course and fully completing it before jumping to the OG material. Your accuracy an timing will be better if you do this in my opinion.

Thank you GMAT Tutor team!
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 27, 2012
College: Athens University of Economics and Business
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the money

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I would stronly recommend the GMAT Tutor from the Economist. I didn't have a lot of time to study and the fact that I could study at home whenever I could helped a lot. The first time I took a practice gmat test before I studied for it I got a 560 and after a couple of months with this programme I managed to score a 700 on the actual test. The programme is interactive and focuses on your weaknesses, with plenty of exercises and a full explanation on why each of the answers is wrong or correct. You get to learn many time-saving tips and techniques, especially on the maths section. I also liked how you could choose how long the studying sessions were and what they would be on (maths or verbal). All in all, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to study for the GMAT.
Joined: Jan 7, 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 18, 2013
College: United States
Major: Political Science
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great system to cover the basics.

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I haven't taken the GMAT yet and I thought I'd write one after taking it in June. But Economist is offering a 25$ giftcard to write one before May 15, so here goes.

I graduated college in 2011 and took a course with Manhattan GMAT - free through work - that fall. But I decided that I was not yet ready to think about or apply to business school and postponed indefinitely. However, I became vaguely familiar with the GMAT and the logic behind the exam.

Fast forward to February 2013, I decided to take the GMAT in May/June. I had all the books from Manhattan, so I started using them. But due to work schedule, and lack of motivation on my end, it became really difficult to concentrate on studying using books. Enter Economist GMAT.

Seemed like a fair deal after the 1 week trial and purchased it (thankfully, subsidized by work again). And I started plugging away.

Pros-
1. Easy to cover material. You're working on a computer and doing lessons at your own pace. This is really important. I have a fairly decent verbal background, so I was able to run through a lot of the verbal lessons while taking time on the Quant portion. This is also a definite weakness in actual in-class programs like Manhattan - they have to spend time on everything depending on the class. I was in class with a bunch of engineers who breezed through the quant and we spent more time on verbal. But then again, you had an instructor who could help you if you were stuck etc

2. Tracking system is good. It tracks your strong lessons and your weak lessons, which is good to know.

3. I think the Practice GMATs are decent. No expert here though. I scored 710, 650 (hungover), 690 (missed 5 quant questions at the end) in the three exams. There are 2 more left for me to do.

4. One of one tutor sessions on Skype. I had one - wasn't really useful. I didn't really have a lot to discuss, hence it wasn't really useful. I think it'll be useful if you have specific topics you need help with.

5. Value for money at 400$ something.

Cons-

1. Some sections are not that great. For CR, I bought Powerscore CR Bible as recommended on BTG and it's incredible. Same for SCs with Manhattan Strategy Guide. Again, this is really for bumping your verbal scores from ~41 to mid-40s

2. Can't comment on Quant. I'm using questions on BTG, GMat Club, OG and I need all the help I can get. My performance is inconsistent and I'm aiming for ~48+

3. No question banks. Really useful feature of Manhattan GMAT.

4. No way to reset GMAT exams like in Manhattan.

5. Reading comprehension passages are limited and constantly reappear in lessons/exams etc to the point where you become really familiar with some of the passages.


For my preparation, I'm currently using:
Economist GMAT.
OG 13
OG Quant
Powerscore CR Bible
Manhattan GMAT SC, RC, Number properties
Veritas Combinatorics and Probability Guide.
BTG Flashcards
BTG daily Questions
GMAT Club - Bunuel Quant sets.

That's all from me. I'll edit this after my GMAT.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 8, 2013
College: Saint Edward's University
Major: International Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect for a busy lifestyle.

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher: Aaron
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The GMAT is tested on a computer, so preparing with a computer instead of a lecture format is key.

Simply the fact that it is electronic rather than a book allows for instant feedback on answer choices.

You learn in blurbs and have to actively hit continue. Then you're quized unexpectedly. It beats pushing yourself to read a text book.

It's perfect for the generations to follow.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 26, 2012
College: Rhodes College
Major: Economics
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent way to prepare 30 min at a time

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher: n/a
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Disclaimer: I did not use the real human trainer resource. The online materials and practice tests were enough for me. I spent about 80% of my time on math questions because that was where I perceived I could make the greatest gains. The training materials were really outstanding. The strategies were very effective and easy to master and remember during the exam. I did not try any other training materials other than free ones, so I cannot compare this course to other paid courses. I chose this course because of the price and because I'm an avid Economist reader and knew that they would not put their name on an inferior product!

I used the course materials for only about 6 weeks and I only got through about 50% of the math material before I took the exam. I am positive I could have gotten a higher score if I continued to study, but this score helped me to get into a top 10 program!
Joined: Aug 12, 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 9, 2012
College: Penn State University - University Park
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend - Use with Official Guide Books for More Success

April 22, 2013
  • Teacher: Kasia (5 sessions), Aaron (1 session), Ilana (1 session)
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 730

Great resource to teach you the fundamentals of each topic. Highly recommend buying an Official Guide after you complete this course. The OG does a terrible job explaining why each answer choice is right or wrong. The GMAT Tutor fills this void by helping you understand the fundamentals. I have no regrets about signing up for this course.

Pros:
- the tool works if you have time to devote to acing the GMAT.
- Very thorough with all of the material.
- Tool adapts to your strengths and weaknesses. If you are an all-star in one section, the tool will push you to your limits by giving you tough questions to continuously challenge you in that one section. However, completing a series of difficult questions will make you mentally exhausted, so you'll need study breaks. Similarly, if you are struggling in one section, the tool will spend more time helping you to understand the fundamentals and the reasoning behind why the answers that you select are incorrect.
- I received a one-year subscription to The Economist magazine. I enjoy reading this on my iPad on the weekends. This magazine is more internationally focused than most US newspapers/magazines.

Cons:
- Course is not short. Takes several months worth of commitment to complete the course. Be sure that you have the time to reach your goals.
- Question types are slightly different that the official GMAT questions. So it is essential to use the Official Guide after completing the course. You will still score well if you don't use the official guide, but I added 40 points to my score by going through the Official Guide after taking this course.
- Tutoring sessions are with tutors from Poland, Israel, Taiwan, so the tutoring times are at odd hours for students in North America (i.e. 10PM - 8AM CST).
- The support for the Integrated Reasoning section is very weak. Use the Official Guide to study for IR; the OG is a much better resource.
- The AWA section is weak. GMAT Tutor provides overview of "how" to write an essay, but doesn't give you a list of sample essay topics and doesn't force you to write practice essays. Use the OG for a list of sample essay topics.
- The tool's advice on Reading comprehension did not work well for me. I tried to follow the tool's advice to first do an initial reading by "skimming" through the passage and jotting down notes, and then digging for details later; however, I found that I scored much higher and I spent much less time by reading the entire passage thoroughly the first time. Going back and fourth between the passage and the questions just took way too much time for me. The skimming method may work for you, but if it doesn't, don't let the GMAT Tutor's suggested RC method hurt your GMAT score.
- The tool's advice on "ball-parking" was, in many cases, more time consuming than solving the problem by shorthand arithmetic. If you're terrible at math, then this "ball-parking" (or guessing) method is an ok approach. Again, you really have to determine which method is the most efficient for you. I suggest following the tool's advice at first, but if the tool's advice isn't working for you after you're 75% complete with the course, then use the method that is most effective for you.
- There were only a few Reading comprehension passages and each passage was repeated too often. It would have been more beneficial if there were more passages.

Advice for students:
- Bring a pen/pencil and a pad of paper to each GMAT Tutor session.
- Do not take this course when tired or distracted. At first it is hard to build up an endurance to study for at least an hour straight, so start off with shorter study sessions. Take breaks between study sessions.
- At the end of the course, attempt longer study sessions to build up endurance.
- Try to understand why you answered questions correctly / incorrectly. Just because you guessed and answered a question correctly doesn't mean that you will do the same on a later date with a similar question.
- Read the fine print on the money back guarantee. Not doing so could cost you $700!!
- Buy the OG for use at the end of the course (especially for the verbal section). The OG is a great resource to help build up your stamina/endurance right before you take the test. I studied with the OG for the 3-4 weeks prior to the real exam. Try to answer each OG question in less than 90 seconds to build your endurance.
- Take tutoring sessions towards the end of the course; bring questions to the tutoring sessions. Tutors are willing help you with questions from the OG or other studying resources. I found tutoring sessions were most helpful when I came to the tutoring session with a list of OG questions that were difficult for me.
- Take the mba.com practice tests right before you take the real GMAT.
- Complete at least 90% of the course before you take the test; I still learned new things at 85% progress. How can you expect to "ace" the GMAT without knowing/understanding all subjects tested?
- Take the real GMAT before taking this course. Taking the real GMAT before taking this course will establish a "baseline" for your 70 point score increase guarantee. Study for this initial GMAT test to maximize your baseline score. If you are not familiar with the GMAT prior to taking this course, you are bound to score poorly on your "baseline" examination.

Good luck!! Wishing you the best of success on your GMAT endeavor!!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 7 8 9 10 11 12 13