Best Promo Code 2021 & Verified Reviews!

Bloomberg Exam Prep defies the laws of prep with a unique learning app that adapts to you as you learn. Combined with support from Master instructors, our course has already helped hundreds of students to master the GMAT and get into the business schools of their choice.

* Adaptive online learning
* Simulation tests
* One-on-one live tutor sessions
* Unlimited instructor support by email
* Unlimited essay marking

Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 1, 2013
College: IIT
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Good course for math and SC

May 11, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I've decided to take the GMAT on February and after 3 week with the official guide I understood I needed more help. I've signed up to this course on March and I'm about to take the test this Monday, 10 and a half weeks later, yet I've finished most of the course (over 90%), while working full time.

For those who never took the GMAT, this course is great. It forces you walk through everything. I have a strong math background and it still helped me with the tricks needed for quick and efficient solving. The course simplify complex subjects, even the hard-to-nail probability with combinatorial questions.
In the verbal section, this course do wonders with SC. I started with a very weak sentence correction and now I have a great statistics of about 1 mistake for every 10-11 SC I do. In the reading comprehension and the critical reasoning I found the explanations good but not great, so it is now my weakest point.


The biggest problem I found with the course wasn't in the content. It was the UI and the statistics tool. The website only tells you your stronger and weaker points but does not change it as you get better at certain point. The statistics tool only tells you how much of the course you have completed, and no statistics of the success rate of the different subjects, which was much needed for me. At some point I started my own statistics and wrote down on a paper where I was wrong or right. It turned out that my statistics were completely different from those presented to me at the course website.
As for the UI, there is help window on the side of every question. A great idea and really helpful, only it's about a square inch and the content needs more than that. It's really tiny and you can't properly read what is inside. The same goes for the home screen where you cannot easily find the subjects you want to revise, it's just a long,long list of subjects.
Moreover, no android app so I couldn't enter the website from either my phone or my tablet. That's a shame, because I spend almost two hours everyday going to wok and back and this time could have been more productive.

Overall, I recommend the course for those who do not need a boost in just one subject, but a complete start-over. It is thorough, and teaches you almost everything you need to know.

Good luck!
Joined: May 9, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 12, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Glad I found this great Tutor

May 10, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 360 After: 560


Hello,

in October 2012 I took the GMAT for the first time after months of preparation and got a score of 360. I was devestated. Then I tried The Economist GMAT Course. Although my motivation should have been below zero, this Tutor really made me sit at the desk for hours I never did before with such a good mood. In Feburary I took the GMAT for the second time and scored 560.

560 doesn't sound too good, but for me it's awesome and well enough. I am gladfull for the Tutor.

Not sure if the Tutor still offers a refund if one doesn't score high enough. But don't count on that. Because I think the software makes it almost impossible to reach the required amount of work time to be able to get a refund. But that was only my personal impression. And in the end, I scored so good, that it wasn't a problem.

Try it out. It's a good investment.
Joined: May 8, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 16, 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

college student

May 8, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I think this is an good program that breaks up the studying. I haven't taken the GMAT yet so I don't know how effective it has been, however I would like it if the modules would let you better pick what you could be doing.
Joined: Sep 10, 2012
Purchased Course: Oct 23, 2012
College: University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent and different from traditional book and notes method

May 7, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 520

First of all, let me begin by saying that I am a mom of a toddler who did not have much time to devote to GMAT in order to score in 700s. I have been weak in Math since school days. English is not my mother tongue. Despite my time constraints and shortcomings, GMAT Tutor gave me the confidence to crack the GMAT exam in my own little way. I could have scored in 600s, had I devoted more time.

I began with GMAT tutor trial and before I knew it, I started loving devoting time to Math and Verbal sessions on Economist tutor. The most important part that the GMAT tutor did was to convince me that you do not have to be a geek or a Math wizard to crack the GMAT Math section. With the knowledge of basic formulas, time management, and "ball parking " (a good and valid guess based on your limited Math knowledge), you can handle the Math section well. Solving the problem step by step and consuming time will lead nowhere. Even with reading passages, CR questions, GMAT tutor imparted nice tips and tricks that helped me race against the time on GMAT exam day.

I loved logging into my Economist tutor account and going through different topics one by one even if it was for 30 minutes at a time. For me it was fun and interactive without the price tag of a live tutor. GMAT tutor would introduce a topic, explain, and make me do practice questions on the current topic right then.

Although GMAT tutor is excellent, I would still recommend taking as many practice tests as possible including the GMAT tutor practice tests. If someone wants, she can add books (Princeton/Nova/GMAT official guides/Manhattan) to her GMAT material. For example, for Math I also referred Nova and grockit.com in addition to GMAT tutor.

Overall, investing time and money on GMAT Tutor is worth the consideration.
Joined: Nov 25, 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good prep course overall

May 6, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 660

After studying for the GMAT previously, I knew that I needed try a different technique for my last attempt in order to achieve a score above 700. Overall, I think the Economist Tutor is a great program, but I was simply burnt out with standardized test material this last time around and did not use it to its maximum potential. If you are learning GMAT concepts for the first time, and have the time to give this program a few hours a day for a few months, I highly recommend it.

Pros: -Program offers a unique perspective on difficult math concepts, in most cases better than any other test prep program
-You cannot passively go through answers, the program forces you to stay focused and on track
- Concepts are presented in a way that the materials builds on itself

Cons: - They need to be more transparent about the time commitment this program requires if you want to get through all of the material. If you are working 50+ hours a week, you need a couple of months
- **my biggest con**- For folks who have taken the GMAT in the past, you cannot choose the concepts you wish to work on, you must stay in sequential order. I understand why they want users to follow a certain sequence of lessons, but for $500+ dollars, they need to be a bit more flexible
Joined: Nov 19, 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 8, 2012
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A course that covers all aspects in math and verbal

May 4, 2013
  • Teacher: Online Course
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 500 After: 590

I took the GMAT last year in July and did miserably. My mock tests were good, but my exam bombed big time. So I thought something was wrong with me on the test day. But I decided not to give up and take the exam another day.

I was researching for some courses online, and I read about the 70 point assured increase in the GMAT Economist course. I payed 1$ and went through with the course for a week! I realised how intensive the course was and how well planned it was. I paid the rest and started cracking.

The course has an option of choosing between the math and verbal sections or allowing the software to choose the pace for you.
I went with the software as there is a fine balance between both the sections.

The basics of math which I needed to brush up, were neatly presented and explanations were made simple. This, along with some sums after every concept was very useful. In the verbal section, there was an intense focus on sentence correction, which I think I needed as I am not a native english speaker. The CR question types were covered strategically. The explanations for how to crack the RC's were good, but I felt there were not many questions in this field.

Another highlight of the Economist GMAT prep is the fact that its extremely easy to review the concepts you have studied. There is no need to take notes, because its already there! So, before each test, reviewing concepts were made easy.

I used the classes for both math and verbal and the teachers were extremely smart and helped me (I left these for the end, something which I regretted. If I had cleared my doubts regularly, it would have been better)

On the exam day, I was well prepared but I was still a bundle of nerves.
My score increased by 90 points, but I have not reached my target score yet.

Im not giving up, Ill definitely beat the GMAT one day.

I would recommend the Economist GMAT Course to both people who have taken the test and those who haven't as the course content is extensive and it adapts itself to your skill level! Definitely worth the investment!
Joined: May 4, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 16, 2013
College: Middlebury
Major: Sociology
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Tutor from Economist gives you a competitive edge

May 4, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I've been studying with the GMAT Tutor from the Economist for about a month now and I am definitely seeing improvements. I've yet to take the real exam so it is hard for me to throw out numbers, but overall I would sum up my experience with the course as positive.

pros:
- practice anywhere, anytime
- set timed sessions ranging from 5 to 60 minutes
- built in "timer" questions that help you to build a perception of how long it's taking you to answer certain kinds of questions
- feels like a competitive video game so the content is pretty easy to get through

cons:
-a little bit hard to jump around although their is an option to choose what your session covers
- not yet sure how score estimates compare to real test
- no AWA questions provided - you have to get prompt from elsewhere and submit essay incl. question for a grade.
Joined: Apr 30, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 8, 2013
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Online Prep Course!

April 30, 2013
  • Teacher: Isaac, Kasia, etc.
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have been taking this course for about a month now and I am extremely pleased with the way it is going. I started with the trial thinking I had nothing to lose from giving it a shot, and I discovered that I really liked it and I ended up buying the course. My score has been slowly but steadily improving in both sections. I still have two months until I take the GMAT, and I seem to be on track to get a score that I would be happy with.

My favorite part about the course is the fact that you can start a session at any time for as short as five minutes. I generally prefer the 20-30 minute sessions, but if I'm pressed for time sometimes I'll squeeze in a shorter one. The program seems to use a solid algorithim and the lessons are very educational. I was afraid that a computer course would be too dry (compared to a live course) and I would get bored quickly, but the program is pretty fun and presents a really good course of study. The only drawback to any online course is that you have to be self motivated, but if you can handle that, this is a great course.
Joined: Apr 29, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 5, 2013
Major: Biology
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Easy to use, but not rigorous enough for 700+

April 29, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The GMAT Tutor is a unique and generally valuable tool for GMAT prep. Designed to constantly interact with the student, GMAT Tutor is best for those with busy schedules who need to fit targeted practice into set chunks of time. You don't have to worry about organizing material to study or figuring out what your weaknesses are, as GMAT Tutor does it all for you.

That said, I don't think GMAT Tutor will be enough for those who seek 700+ scores. It's a great place to start, but especially for advanced quant, other resources will probably be needed. Overall I'm glad I enrolled.

Joined: Apr 27, 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 12, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Good Course 3 Stars

April 27, 2013
  • Teacher: Online
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 440 After: 710

It's a good course but be prepared to put in 100+ hours to get the results you want. I did the online only course and it adapts to what you need to focus on. I.E. if you need to focus on a specific verbal or quantitative section, that's what you work on until you master it.

Practice tests are realistic but I thought the scores were low compared to what I got on the actual exam. Tutor sessions are via Skype.

Would be 5 stars except: Essays are generally returned within 2 days, but I had to wait a week for one of them. Limited instructions at the beginning. I.E. no instructions saying don't take a test, use a tutor session, or send in an essay until you've completed this portion of the course. I only found out after I had used a test, tutor sessions, and sent in essays too early.
Joined: Apr 26, 2013
Purchased Course: Dec 24, 2012
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

The GMAT classes are great.

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The study materials are good with fancy technology. It did help a lot with the Verbal and Math. Also, it is scientific because the system designed the review part for you. The only problem is that I did not get enough time to study
Joined: Apr 26, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 15, 2013
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Better than books for on-the-go learners

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I found it better than books, including Manhattan, because it targeted my weak areas automatically and let me practice on. It is really hard to categorize your own weak areas manually because there are 100s of categories in maths and verbal section of gmat.

When I started practicing for GMAT using Manhattan, my score improved from the range of 630-650 to 680-690 during the last few months of 2012. I was flip-flopping between Maths and Verbal, sometimes my Maths was low and Verbal was high, while at other times my Maths was high and Verbal was low.

I purchased GMAT Tutor in the middle of January, and practiced several hours of the day in front of the computer. By the mid of March, my score was flip-flopping between 710-730. It was a great improvement. My Maths core was solidified by tricks mentioned by the GMAT Tutor. Basic Sentence Correction was strengthened and Reading Comprehension was not tiring anymore. The essay practice improved my essay score to the range of 5.0-5.5.

I would like to see the following improvements:
- After I completed 80%-90% of the tests, the GMAT tutor focused only on limited weak areas. I would like it to cover even the areas where I was strong so that I get more practice.
- Cover Integrated Reasoning questions
- Improve Sentence Correction
- Sample GMAT Test not reliable

I would recommend this course for anyone just starting to prepare for GMAT. I have wasted countless months relying on books and not advancing to magic 700 figure.

After doing this course and reaching 700 figure, please complete at least 10-12 mock tests. You can buy these mock tests from Manhattan, 800-score, or Veritas.

Before the GMAT exam, I did one mock test every day.
Joined: Apr 15, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 4, 2013
College: Colombia
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Chemicals
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

I feel the improvement.

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I used the one week the free trial and from the first 10 minutes I felt connected with the program, it is very advantageous to have the opportunity of this free trial, I was confident to pay the course.

It doesn?t matter the level I have, the program will adjust to my pace and knowledge, topics that are easy will go fast, and those topics that are difficult will present extra exercises and explanations.

I feel that this program is helping to improve my English as well; explanations in the Verbal prep are good grammar tips that are helping me to prepare my English proficiency exam too.

Support is amazing, I have received a satisfactory answer to all the questions I set to the tutors; they always give a quick and clear answer when I need a clarification.
I have used the program 2 to 3 hours per day, I feel the improvement, I have my appointment in 2 weeks, probably is not going to be the last one, I will post an update after my result. Right now I feel that I have chosen the best option available in Gmat preparation. (My status: I have used the program for 1 month, 2 to 3 hours per day, I have completed 1/3 of the program. I need over 710, and I have 8 weeks more available to prepare exams).
Joined: Oct 1, 2011
Purchased Course: Feb 1, 2013
College: aarhus university
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

Callibration of tests is 100 points off.

April 26, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 530

Hi,

I used to score around 570-600 on all available simulation tests, I needed only a score of 600+ to get where I want... however I took GMAT economist mandatory simulation test with a result of ridiculous 490.

I completed only 75% of the quant section which is where I needed improvement, and 35% of the verbal. In total I put in about 60h of studying in it. I wouldn't say the app is as adaptive as advertized and the price is obviously too high, but on the other hand these are the market prices.

Tips&tricks in the course boil down to using educated guessing, which isn't something you haven't learned through your education.

My real GMAT score was 530, therefore I'm in for one more attempt. I would recommend this course if you have iPad or a smartphone, because you can access it easily anywhere. But most of all I would recommend you to work really hard and don't give up. There is no "snake oil" easy solution to high GMAT score, I think the economist's GMAT is a handier than written materials, and helps to organize your learning... (saving you about 1/3 of the time).







Joined: Jan 5, 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 1, 2012
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Not an amazing experience...

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: N/A

They only provide you with a set of problems and the algorithm they use is not too great. The worst part is that the same (five/six) RC passages keep coming back with only one new question - which is very unlike the real GMAT.
If you want to go back to the lessons/basics, they do not allow you to do so....you are only allowed a view of the summary of the basics that too is a tiny window.
The access to the website is automatically revoked after the completion of the duration, and after that you are expected to pay $90 per month. The probability of accessing the course beyond the ninety days is higher, but they allow that for only for the additional price.
It was a sad experience for me.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 26, 2012
College: national university of singapore
Major: Computer Engineering
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Save your time, just get a GMAT tutor from the Economists

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 720

Before I signed up for the Economist Complete Prep, I spent about 6 months to do self-studying using official guide and other prep books to prepare for my 1st GMAT. Despite all the hardwork I only got 680.

And I saw the GMAT tutor from the economist and signed up for it. And guess what, even though my improvement seems small- only 40 points, but the programme has really helped me improved on areas that I did not do well. And I think I should have signed up for this course earlier, instead of trying save the money, that would have saved me 3 months to half a year of preparation time.

Pros:
- self paced.
- structured course that can adapt to your learning, and this can save you a lot of time. Preparing for GMAT should not take too long, more effort should be spent on applying for the school you want isn't it?
- Very clear instructions and feedbacks from the computer. I actually think I don't need an instructor to be honest. And in case you need, you can always schedule 1 with the tutor.

Cons:
- Questions in the Verbal section is easier the actual GMAT test. But this is not a big problem. The Economist GMAT course will teach you all the fundamentals you need to know.
Once you complete the course, just do the free prep questions/tests from GMAT Preptest from MBA.com and more practices online to familiar yourself with the difficulty.

Would I recommend it? Yes I will, wholeheartedly. My wife is preparing for her GMAT now and she signed up for the The Economist GMAT course too. And I just got an offer and scholarship from one of the world's top 50 university. Thank God!
Joined: Jan 20, 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 20, 2013
College: College of William and Mary
Major: Business
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Should have been doing this before I took the GMAT twice before

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: N/A

Ok, so I've taken the GMAT twice and used books both times to prepare: Kaplan, Princeton Review, and the Official Guides. They are all great (OG is the best), but I realized that nothing beats actually sitting down at your computer and working on problems. There's just something different about having to work the problem out with only a notepad and pen. (You can't write on your screen you know?)

Anyway, the GMAT Tutor has been super helpful because it's computer based and it works according to your level of ability. (I've been using it on my iPhone too, it works well.) My score is already climbing when I take the GMAT practice test software on my computer. I'm pretty sure I'll hit my goal of 700 with another 6-8 weeks of practice.

Their guarantee is awesome too, and Beat the GMAT gives you some sweet discounts and bonuses if you go through the site.

Check it out!
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 19, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT prep

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Economist GMAT course is excellent. As others have said the course does seem like a bit of a game and I have enjoyed it.

While I havent yet finished the course, my practice tests have gone from 620 to 740. I put this solidly down to the fact that you arent slogging through huge textbooks and the course gives you the information in a clear and concise manner.

All up, I couldnt imagine a gmat course to be much better. The tutors reply promptly to questions with tailored responses and are very helpful. The adaptive nature of the course is great too as it forces you to work on areas in which you need more practice.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 15, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Simply amazing

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher: Isaac B.
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 650

I've taken GMAT prep courses in the past (wont mention because I do not want to focus on the negative) but GMAT Tutor was truly the course for me. Not only were the staff amazing, they were also very quick to reply to any doubts that I had about specific subjects whether is was Verbal or Quant.

As I went on with my prep, I did the amount of work I could do with my busy work schedule. I would sometimes even do 10 minute sessions just to keep my prep going consistently. The effective style/teaching methods taught in this course really did help me look at the GMAT in a way never before. I was seriously in shock how SC questions really worked.

All in all, I would HIGHHHHLLLYYYYY recommend this course to anyone thinking about taking the GMAT. I would suggest taking this course and fully completing it before jumping to the OG material. Your accuracy an timing will be better if you do this in my opinion.

Thank you GMAT Tutor team!
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 27, 2012
College: Athens University of Economics and Business
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the money

April 25, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I would stronly recommend the GMAT Tutor from the Economist. I didn't have a lot of time to study and the fact that I could study at home whenever I could helped a lot. The first time I took a practice gmat test before I studied for it I got a 560 and after a couple of months with this programme I managed to score a 700 on the actual test. The programme is interactive and focuses on your weaknesses, with plenty of exercises and a full explanation on why each of the answers is wrong or correct. You get to learn many time-saving tips and techniques, especially on the maths section. I also liked how you could choose how long the studying sessions were and what they would be on (maths or verbal). All in all, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to study for the GMAT.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 7 8 9 10 11 12 13