Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring

Bloomberg Exam Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Dec 18, 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 9, 2014
College: lehigh university
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to go at your own pace

December 18, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: N/A

the program has been extremely helpful for me to learn at my own pace and over an extended period of time. i had done intensive in person classes and private tutoring before but found that my work schedule did not allow for intensive studying. i had done the test in the past but wanted to work at my own pace in order to try to improve my score. economist gmat has proven to be the most effective way for me to put time towards the gmat. i can study at any time for any amount of time and feel and see progress.

Pros:
ideal for long term study
make your own schedule
not dependent on tutors or schedules
predictive algorithms are great at selecting material and ensuring efficient study

cons:
not as good for intensive study
less personal touch
Joined: Nov 30, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 4, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Adapative online course provided both a review of verbal and math fundamentals and a preparation course that is trailored to my specific needs.

November 30, 2014
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Economist GMAT Tutor is a web-based course that extensively covers the verbal and math portions of the exam. In addition to providing review of verbal and math fundamentals, the course also allows for the submission of five essays based on previous GMAT AWA prompts. The grade received from the course also provides detailed feedback regarding your essay, allowing you to adjust your technique to meet the requirements of the exam. You also have the opportunity to schedule Skype tutor sessions for feedback on your essays and simulation tests, or any other topic.

In addition to the content of the course, which adapts to your skill level as your progress, it also provides estimates of your exam grade based on course performance and simulation tests.

Overall, the Economist GMAT Tutor is an easy to use online course that covers almost the entire spectrum of topics and techniques necessary for success on the GMAT while providing feedback regarding course progress and grade projections.
Joined: Nov 19, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 8, 2014
College: ITESM
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Great study tool

November 19, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have yet to use all the 'perks' included in the course, however I have been using GMAT Tutor for over a month and I think it is very useful.
I've not only learnt a lot of techniques to answer questions faster, also, the GMAT Tutor really teaches you to put them in practice and sort of helps embed in your head when to use such techniques. I've already improved my score (from mock tests) over 50+ points.
The only drawback is that I only payed for 3 months, and am not sure if I will be able to finish the course on time without having to pay an additional 700 dollars.
Joined: Nov 14, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 12, 2014
College: Rotterdam school of management
Major: International Business
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Luxembourg
Verified Real Student Review

You should take it but have a look also to other prep

November 14, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Hi everybody,
First a little introduction about my self: I did a bachelor at the rotterdam school of management IBA. I always have been ok with math, however I'm not an native speaker (I come from france).
I studied the gmat with the economist for one month, about two hours during week day and 6 hours during weekends (I was also working).

I took the gmat and I got 640. I was a bit surprised and disappointed because I had for my three online test with the economist 620 then 670 and finally 690. I was electing more than 710.
The problem is that I scored low one verbal. Prehaps because I was over confident about that part as with the economist my scored improved a lot (from 28 to 38). I think I was used to the way the economist asked the questions, or maybe I was to not enough concentrated on the real gmat (stress ect)
However I would strongly recommend the economist: It is intuitive, it give a lot of tips. You should take more than one month to prepare the gmat, if you want to score above 700. I think in three months if you only do that, 6h a day it should be more than enough!
I did not study more than 4 hours one the IR and got 7: I think it the same as what you learn in quant!
I do not have my awa yet.
Joined: Nov 12, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 22, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent tool for GMAT prep - especially for unpredictable work schedule

November 12, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I found the Economist GMAT Tutor to be extremely helpful, especially because I travel abroad extensively for work and simply couldn't commit to regular in-person classes. The tool teaches you what you need to know as well as important strategies to raise your score that are unrelated to pure quant/verbal knowledge. I didn't take advantage of the Skype tutoring sessions until much later in the process and definitely should have capitalized on one of their "strategy" sessions before taking my first GMAT. The tutors are extremely helpful and friendly. The mobile app was useful for cramming in some quick refreshers when I was commuting or had a few minutes to spare.

I also found the entire team, including customer service, to be very easy to work with and flexible, which was a game changer for me and my unruly schedule.

I would absolutely recommend the product and think it's a very strong alternative to the more conventional courses/companies out there. Helped me raise my score by 80 points.
Joined: Aug 24, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 19, 2014
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Military
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Great Self-paced course, 150 point improvement in 3 months!

November 11, 2014
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 720

First of all, this program really delivered results. I took my first GMAT in July, and scored a 570 (33 V, 35 Q, 5.5 AWA, 6 IR). After about three months of the Economist GMAT course, I took the GMAT again in November and scored 720! (40 V, 49 Q, 6.0 AWA, 8 IR).

After the results of my first GMAT attempt, I decided that I needed help studying and determined to find a course that matched my needs. I was deployed at the time, so I needed a course that had a flexible schedule, and so I avoided courses that had set webinar times, and in person attendance was out of the question. I did the week-long free trial with Economist GMAT and I liked the way the course presented information. I also took a practice test at the end of the period and scored a 590, or about where I had scored a month previously on my real GMAT, giving me confidence in the practice test's accuracy.

This program is self-paced, meaning that it is entirely up to the student to schedule study times, and how long to take on each question. However, the program will determine what types of question the student most needs to practice, meaning that as long as the student can "show up" mentally prepared to study, he can focus on studying rather than waste time deciding what to study.

The Economist GMAT also provides several practice tests, which were incredibly accurate, but only cover Quant and Verbal (a week before my practice test I scored 40V/49Q on a practice test, the same score that I earned the next week!). There are separate graded essays, which I chose to do immediately prior to the tests to best simulate test day.

The other useful feature of the program is the ability to schedule Skype tutor sessions. The biggest drawback of these sessions is that they really need to be scheduled at least several days out, probably a week or more, and the student must choose the subject for the session when it is scheduled. However, the tutors are definitely experts, and can provide detailed insight into problems as well as strategy.

In a final word to students trying to choose a program - choose one that motivates you to do the work, because in the end it is you and not a program taking the test and earning a score. Some people respond better to certain approaches, but this program worked for me and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a self-paced course.
Joined: Feb 28, 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 19, 2014
College: College of Engineering Guindy
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Economist-better do what they are good at-publishing magazines

October 15, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I had enrolled for the Economist GMAT tutor with the hope of raising my GMAT score by 50 points or more. The course offered a guarantee in these lines and after taking the free 7 day trial period I enlisted for the same. But unfortunately my decision to trust one of the leading economic magazine in America bombed and I wish to share my opinions and experiences so that prospective test-takers can evaluate their requirements and my experiences before taking up the course.
I had bought the ultimate prep plan with the economist GMAT tutor which guaranteed a 70 point improvement on march -2014.Before taking up the course I was hovering around mid 600 range with the official GMAT prep test and I felt I needed a course to help me breach the 700 mark.
I worked with the software for around 160 hours and at the end of the day my official GMAT score was at the same place where I had started. After dedicating almost 4 months on the program I was greatly disgruntled that not one of the various promises made by the company were held true and I had run around circles thanks to the program.
I list out the various cons of the program in my opinion:
1.Simulation tests & Scoring Estimate:-
The simulation tests(6 nos) are a very poor indicator/simulator of your actual test scores/conditions. In some of the tests that I took the quant section literally had more than 20-25 data sufficiency questions. No matter how poor a student may be in that particular question type, it is no reason for a simulation exam to keep throwing the same type of question.
There was no IR or AWA section which means you will not get a actual feel of the exam and the stamina needed if only the verbal and quant section provided in the tests are taken.(I used to gather AWA questions from MBA website and IR question from the GMAT Prep software before taking the tests)
The scoring estimate provided was very illogical where in certain tests I had 8-9 questions wrong intermittently were scored equally to those where I had scored 15-16 questions wrong continuously. And when questioned on the logic of these estimate the people in charge send a standard text copied from their website. There were also cases where the question types were wrongly labeled. I had a data sufficiency/problem solving question label in Verbal section.
2.No timing or difficulty level available.
Although there are a number of practice questions available, a very few of them are timed and there is no indication of difficulty level(the no of people who got it right/wrong or the range to which the question belongs to).Since the program is adaptive, you cannot go back to these questions later on as there is no simple way to archive the questions.
If you want to analyze your performance and timing there are no tools with the software that help you to analyze your strengths and weakness.
3.No new or innovative strategies:
Once the program identifies your weak areas it keeps throwing questions on the same area with the repeat of the basics . It does not provide any new or innovative strategies or tactics to overcome your weakness and the foundation lessons can be found in any high school textbook. Especially for quant which was my weak area prior to taking up the course remained so till the test day.
4.Bogus money back guarantee:
The money back guarantee offered may seem attractive to many at first. What I felt was the money back guarantee is just a gimmick to get people enrolled to test the bugs in the program and streamline it for the future. Also there are many wordings in the fine print which people may miss such as a compulsory session with an instructor on strategy for the exam that has to be taken 7-14 days before the tests. But the Economist tutor people have written it in such a manner that users may understand that all sessions have to be taken at least 7-14 days before the tests.So if you take the strategy session 15 days before the actual test you lose your qualification for money back.
A 45 minute session a week before your exam with an instructor can work wonders and gain you a 70 point increment than the 160 hours you spent with the program is what is being implied by such a guarantee.
5.Proof Reading:
The questions though numerous in quantity were poor qualitatively with a number of typo errors. This coming from a tutor program owned by one of the supposedly best business magazine in the united states made me wonder about the quality of the program itself and the credibility of the question makers.
6.NO IR section:
The program for its cost could have provided a comprehensive IR section with the question types tested so far in the GMAT. But the theory covered is very meager and literally of no use when you take up the original test.

There were a few pros too in the program
1.The verbal section was comprehensive and covered most of the questions asked in the GMAT till date. I found the Sentence correction especially good.
2.Highy flexible with regards to timing as it is a online program where you can schedule a session based on your availability. However, at least two to four half an hour sessions a day with the program will be helpful than a number of 10 minutes sessions.
3.The AWA grading done by experts is especially useful in identifying weakness in your reasoning and style and the pointers provided are genuinely helpful.

All in all I would not recommend the program to re-takers as I believe you already have got the basics right and need to work on either your test taking tactics or on advanced topics. Both of the mentioned items are not covered by the program.
Joined: Oct 5, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 9, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Score Guarantee is not dependable. Quant good, Verbal Easy(Not so close to GMAT).

October 5, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 630

So the GMAT TUTOR is very convinient - phone/ ipad/ laptop. You can start anywhere.

However the biggest problem i found with the course was - you cannot revise old topics in a full screen window. They have a 3 inch wide window in the software where you will have to read vertically extended passages of notes.

Secondly they do guarantee a full refund of your fees. But they dismissed me over a technicality. So brace yourselves when you are paying for it. Consider the money spent. I wish I didn't have to apply for the refund in the first place. But now I have less cash and a low score!

I bought the software twice actually because they only give you a 3 month window to complete the GMAT. I had to renew my subscription.

I only found their one-to-one skype sessions helpful as some of the teachers were pretty good! But otherwise I would advise against it because there are much better courses available online who don't do false marketing for people with tight budgets.

I have found one that is alot cheaper than GMAT TUTOR and my recommendation for people Re-appearing for the GMAT - GROCKIT.

Hope this was helpful to a few people. All the best!
Joined: Sep 25, 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 13, 2014
College: University of Colorad at Boulder
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive Course, Engaging System

September 25, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: N/A

I am extremely satisfied with the Economist GMAT Tutor. First of all, the layout of the online system is extremely fluid. I can organize time-tailored practice sessions, schedule a tutor, review my progress, and analyze my strengths and weaknesses. This contributes a lot more to my studying pattern than I could have imagined, mostly by keeping my seemingly endless studying very engaging.

I think the "computer adaptive" aspect of the program is the most impressive. The program quickly identifies my strengths and weakness and tailors a study program that suits my needs. The online tutors also have access to data and progress, so they know exactly what I need to practice to improve my score. Their tutors are also extremely helpful and very timely in their responses to my "Ask a Tutor" emails.

Overall, the Economist Tutor is an excellent program that is great for people who do not have the time to enroll in an online or classroom based course, but still want a comprehensive, tailored studying experience.
Joined: Sep 15, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 21, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

September 15, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score.
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 28, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great review prep

September 14, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have been using The Economist GMAT Tutor for a couple of weeks. The course is great and gives you an extreme amount of flexibility, which is good for anyone with a full time job. The course is also adaptive, so it recognizes the types of questions that you consistently get wrong and works on them until you show improvement.

They also give you a good amount of practice tests so that you can test what you have learned in a test-taking environment.

Overall I have enjoyed it and would recommend using it.
Joined: Sep 12, 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 17, 2014
College: Rutgers University
Major: Biology
Industry: Medical/Health Care Devices
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Economist

September 12, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The course was great and every practice exam was very accurate. The adaptive technology was very realistic and the material was presented in a great manner.
Joined: Aug 22, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 5, 2014
College: Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

I increased 80 points because of this course

August 22, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I took one of the exams from the GMAT Prep Software before I started the program and scored 640 (I don't remember my quant score but I got a 32V and 6/8 in IR). After 9 CAT exams and 2 months training with the The Economist GMAT app I achieved 720 on my actual GMAT (49Q, 38V, 8/8 IR, 5.0/6 AWA). The app helped a lot with my Verbal skills, I even got a 42V on my CAT exams but had fever on the day of the exam and could barely finish it on the test day. I would also recommend the program for your essay (AWA) training. Whenever you submit an essay you'll a really harsh review as feedback but don't feel let down because I got a 3.0-3.5, 4.0-4.5 and even 2.5-3.0 and on my test I got 5.0. The essay reviews may not be realistic on the way they evaluate you but the way they teach how to write the AWA is pretty easy and intuitive. I did not use the app for my IR training, I didn't train for that but the Math training is pretty straight-forward and it's even more difficult than what you'll actually find on your test. Don't over-train yourself with other programs. I definitely recommend you this program. I took because I had not much choices living in Peru (South America for those who don't know it) and helped me a lot!
Joined: Aug 19, 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 20, 2014
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist GMAT Review

August 19, 2014
  • Teacher: Issac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The course is adaptive and that is what makes it amazing. The progress chart doesn\'t only depend on the time you spend in the course but also depends on your output. Number of Rights and Wrongs per session. Their is simplistic and fine. The verbal, tricks and techniques are absolutely brilliant. The sentence correction part is the best. I have completes over 50% of the course within 1 month and in 45 Hours. I gave my first free test on 17th July and scored a 560 with 44in Quant and 25 in Verbal. After finishing 48% of the course I gave another simulation test and I scored 700 with 49 in Quant and 38 in Verbal. The course is interactive. I can easily recommend this to anyone who is willing to write the GMAT seriously. The cost is worth it and more importantly its equal to the cost of other coaching institutes around.
Joined: Nov 14, 2011
Purchased Course: May 5, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Solid program.

August 12, 2014
  • Teacher: Issac, Ilana, Aaron
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 680

The course was very good. I enjoyed working on it. The ?Ask a tutor? application was great and I used to ask questions all the time. All my questions were answered within 24 hrs. The content of the program closely reflected the GMAT. The tips and tricks they teach is indispensable.

The schedule a session with a teacher is a great feature. If you are lagging in a particular area, this is a very good feature to use. I had good sessions here. The application really drills down on the areas which you are not good at and repeatedly makes sure you get a concept right.
Joined: Jun 23, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 29, 2014
College: Bilkent University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: Turkey
Verified Real Student Review

Great place to learn how to beat the GMAT

June 23, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 670

I have entered the GMAT before i studied just for one month and got 580. Because I have an engineering background i can easily handle the quantitative part however, as l am not native english speaker person my verbal score is to low. Thats why I decided to get a professional help from the bests in the market. Then I chose Economist GMAT tutor and I am very lucky and happy to find them and study with their style. for just one and a half month I increase my score to total 670. Economist also help to improve my quantitative skills as well as verbal.

I feel lucky to reach them. and I believe if I have more time for studying, such as 3-4 months, I will easily reach 700+

the teaching system and the topics are extreamly GREAT. I have never seen something like that. I do not need any more tudor sessions, or lessons on-site. I handle all my work with myself online.

THANKs Economist GMAT Tudor.
Joined: Jun 23, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 16, 2014
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Good Course

June 23, 2014
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The quality of the curriculum is pretty good and the best part is that it adapts to your speed and accuracy. The mobile apps are very good too.
Joined: Jun 11, 2014
Purchased Course: May 23, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Economist GMAT Prep - A good option

June 13, 2014
  • Teacher: NA
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This course is in my opinion the best \"on the go\" GMAT reference and it has a very user friendly approach and understandable text. Sample questions appear to have the requisite level of difficulty and the explanations are generally clear. Not everyything is perfect. For the quantitative section, the program appears to rely too much on plugging in / POE techniques, at the expense of explaining algebraic / equation based approaches. However, the explanations remain sound for those of us that would refer to use a more traditional mathematical approach. Also, the verbal section seems tedious in some areas and it can be difficult to do one or two reading comprehension questions in isolation. The Ipad program seems to work well, but the effectiveness of the program without an internet connection is a bit unpredictable. It seems like the program can store some data for offline use, but sometimes this fails. Some increased transparency on this would be helpful. Also, everyone once in a while the text of a question can be \"glitchy\" (word missing!); this is very annoying and I have had this happen three times. This distracts a lot from the experience. The program also purports to work on iphone but it seems like the text would be WAY too small to make this practical. Also, there is no way to increase the text size in the Ipad program, which can be tedious for a longer study session. I would not recommend this as a standalone program but this program is fantastic for a fresh look at the key skills and techniques required for a respectable score. For my prep, I have been using some Manhattan GMAT books and took a live Kaplan course, but the Economist GMAT really has helped a lot in bringing everything together. Another thing I really like is that the program is recursive -- it loops back to past concepts periodically to confirm you still remember. That is great for those of us that work fulltime and therefore need to split the studying up into chunks.
Joined: May 10, 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 31, 2014
College: Georgia Institute of Technology
Major: International Business
Verified Real Student Review

A fantastic course for a GMAT re-taker

May 10, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 750

When I started the Economist program, it was 2-3 months after I had taken my first GMAT. For that first test, I studied my way through the Manhattan book series at my own pace and did some of the OG practice problems. I felt like I didn?t achieve my full potential that time around, since my GMAC practice tests were in the 730 ballpark, but my actual test came out a 690.
I started the Economist prep trial software in January out of curiosity, at that point, not entirely intent on re-taking the test at any given time. However, I was drawn into the platform of the program, which combines adaptive teaching (to what extent, I?m not sure) with progress tracking and score prediction. The fact that the program offered a score increase guarantee of 50 points (with conditions, of course) in a certain period of time (in this case, 3 months) felt like the right kind of commitment I needed ? finite time-wise with a very specific goal. After the one-week trial period, in which I appeared to have completed around 10% of the program, I decided to go all the way.
I purchased the program in February and got started with a practice exam (my program included 3 of them). I scored 710 on that exam, meaning, I could base my score improvement on that first score (assuming I met the other conditions, one of which is to complete 90% of the course) ? 760 guaranteed? Awesome.
Over the next two months, I spent 5-7 hours per week going through the lessons and practice problems. At times it was annoying to have to click through topics I already knew, but the interspersion of practice problems with new topics is a great feature of the program and constantly keeps you practicing and refreshing your knowledge of previously taught topics.
I felt like the verbal section was particularly strong in the program. It teaches really solid rules for sentence correction (I think this made the biggest difference for me) and guidelines for reading comprehension that helped me save a lot of time. When feeding me verbal practice questions, it seemed to give me mostly SC problems, which I suppose mimics the composition of the real test, but it would have been nice, after I had answered 20 consecutive SC questions correctly (no exaggeration) that it would have given me some critical reasoning or reading comprehension questions. Anyhow, I breezed my way through the bulk of the verbal section in the first two months, spending 1/2 to 2/3 of the time that I spent on quant. I noticed my verbal score on the practice tests (I did official and Manhattan practice tests on the side) making marked improvements, from 38-40 to 42-44. At the end of two months, I had finished all of the lessons in the verbal section (between 70-75% completion, as the program tracks it), leaving only practice problems.
Throughout the program, I had mixed feelings about the way quant is taught. As a detail-oriented person, I was a little annoyed that they were teaching ballparking as a fundamental skill. However, this approach is actually very helpful in brushing off seemingly insurmountable problems without over-dedicating. I learned some new approaches to solving quant problems (both problem solving and data sufficiency) that I think were especially helpful. There were not any remarkable ways of re-learning the fundamental math behind the problems, but the repetitive drilling of practice questions helped a lot to get formulas memorized. While this program may not be as strong as others in teaching test-takers to correctly answer the super-difficult quant questions, I thought it did a good job overall in preparing me for the quant section as a whole, considering all the questions, strategy and timing. At the end of the first two months, I had only finished around half of the quant part of the program, despite having spent significantly more time on it.
Throughout the first two months, I used 3 of the 4 tutoring sessions included in the program. The session basically consists of a 45-minute Skype conversation with a tutor to review an area of your choice. I chose the areas that had been weak in practice tests. While we were not able to cover many questions in that time, as compared with the GMAT practice problems, I found it helpful to discuss in detail the elements of the problems and to learn new strategies for dealing with questions. I don?t consider the tutoring sessions to be a crucial part of the program, but it?s definitely a nice bonus to have.
At the start of my third and final month of the program, I took some time to assess what I needed to do to get where I wanted to go. I had a goal of 760 (within the program, anyway) and needed to complete approximately 40% of the quant and 15% of the verbal in order to meet the 90% threshold for The Economist?s score guarantee. I did notice that progress beyond a certain point (somewhere in the 60-70% range) becomes significantly more difficult to achieve. At some points, I would work diligently for an hour, only to get less than one percent progress. I think this has to do with concept mastery, which makes sense. If I hadn?t mastered the concepts, I should only be able to progress so far. Anyway, it is important to note that progress within this program is not linearly correlated with time spent. I spent 35-40 hours on practice sessions (not including practice tests, of which I took about 8 during the same time period) in the third month, and did not come close to the 90% milestone. However, my practice test results were promising ? I had scored in the 740-750 range on the last two Economist tests and a 760 on one official (practice) test. I figured I?d go ahead with my early-May GMAT (my prep program ended in April) and see how it goes, with no score guarantee.
I submitted one practice AWA for review and comment (I still don?t think I?ve received any feedback on it, three weeks later). The program supposedly includes 3 AWA reviews, but I didn?t make use of it to any significant degree. I wrote a few AWAs as part of the practice tests I did leading up to the real test, so felt sufficiently prepared.
I did not come across any integrated reasoning sections as part of the GMAT practice prep. I think there is a short section at the end of the quant lessons (which I did not reach). Anyhow, I didn?t worry too much about it, as I had aced IR on my first GMAT.
So, I went in to take my test on May 3, with a reasonable level of confidence. I had meditated the night before and went for a short run a couple hours before test time. I may not have finished the prep program, but I had a solid foundation and was in the right state of mind. I managed to breeze through the essay (and even have time to review ? not normal for me). I felt good about my performance on IR, and although I didn?t finish, I wanted to stay focused on the ?important? parts. Quant went as smoothly as it could have. For the more conventional problems, I could quickly pull out the needed weapon (their use fresh in my memory from all the drills and practice tests), strike the problem down, and proceed to the next; for the more exotic quant beasts, I was able to gauge within a reasonable amount of time whether I was worthy of the foe or should take a cheap shot and flee (and live to see another day). I think this this ability to assess quant problems before getting knee-deep in them was what I gained most from the program. For the verbal section, it was more like the last few miles of a marathon than a series of battles. In my first GMAT, I faced mental exhaustion in the verbal section, unable to focus after spending so much energy previously. This time, not so ? I managed to pace myself through to the end, finishing in the last 10 seconds. With the solid verbal practice that I gained from The Economist?s program, the challenge was just to stay calm and focused.
Half dreading and half elated about what my result could be, I took the maximum amount of time during the survey questions. The result came up, and it was a 750 (49Q 44V). Phew. I?ll take it.
While I didn?t achieve the 760 that I wasn?t guaranteed by The Economist, I am in every way satisfied with my results (minus the drop in IR score, small matter) and I found it a great way to achieve real results in a set amount of time. It is also far more flexible and cost effective than receiving tutoring from a human. That isn?t to say that personal tutoring isn?t valuable, but for the cost of the program, the amount of information and practice I got is phenomenal.
Joined: Mar 21, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 10, 2013
College: Odessa national academy of Telecommunications
Major: Engineering
Industry: Trading/Import/Export
Country: Ukraine
Verified Real Student Review

Great if you have limited time for studies

April 30, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

My profile: non-native, didn't do any math in a long time.
It took me 2.5 months to complete 92% of the course. So there is a lot of material and a good question bank especially for math. Math questions were very alike original stuff with theory covering everything from the bottom. Adaptive system on quant was great, I think I started with less than 40 in the quant and now I hit 50 on average.
Verbal didn't felt that good for me. There is a good pack of theory, especially for SC. I didn't actually finish verbal part and didn't get my hands on harder questions but original thing felt way harder. Questions definitely hammer basics into you but it probably wasn't enough for my level.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 13