Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring

Bloomberg Exam Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: May 8, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist offers a targeted GMAT study course

November 4, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 740

Let me describe my experience with this GMAT study program. After unsuccessfully trying to break the 700 level on my first exam in June 2016, I went on a studying hiatus. Two months later in August 2016, I signed up for this GMAT course due to its score guarantee.

The advantages of this course are:

1) The verbal, quant, AWA course materials resemble those on the actual exam.
2) In my case, the simulation test scores closely reflected the scores that I was getting on the official GMAC software (I purchased an exam pack).
3) There are more than enough practice questions for the student to work on.
4) Most of all, it walks you through the studying process so you know which skills to target. This was a real advantage for me because I was able to focus on the essentials and avoided taking in extra information.

In my opinion, this course can improve in several areas:
1) The practice questions are great, but sometimes the same types of questions show up more often than optimal, even if I was able to answer them with high accuracy.
2) It seems that the the system recommends practice questions based at least partly on the results of the simulation tests that the user took. On one of the practice exams my internet disconnected, leaving me with a significantly lower score than what I normally received. This then impacted the types of questions I got.

Overall, I made the right decision choosing this GMAT course. I had tried both the Kaplan and Manhattan materials before stumbling across the GMAT tutor and can say that this course put me into the 700's. However, do expect to put in over 100 hours overall because there is a lot of material.
Joined: Nov 3, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 10, 2016
Major: Psychology
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Do not recommend - Quant is good, verbal is terrible

November 3, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I decided to go with the Economist after reviewing several courses. Their quant section is good - lots of practice questions, good coverage of content and solid strategies around problem solving. However, I was very disappointed with their verbal section. The sentence correction content and practice questions are not even close to what is tested in the GMAT. The Economist ignores general readability errors and logical errors which are extensively tested in the exam, dangling and missing modifier type questions are not given as much importance and are introduced much later in the course, again concepts that are extensively tested in the exam. Moreover, lot of attention is placed on concepts that aren't really tested in the exam. The verbal comprehension practice questions are vague and don't make sense a lot of times. The critical reasoning practice questions aren't nearly as challenging as the ones you get on the exam, especially once you are past the 80th percentile. My baseline score for verbal was 70th percentile, however after 3 months of intense study and finishing about 90% of the course, my verbal score only went upto 76th percentile in the actual exam. Since I was stronger in verbal, my plan was to get a really high verbal score to balance my overall score. I ended up with a 650 in the exam which is a lot lower than I wanted. I highly recommend that regardless of which company you decide to go with, practice the questions in the official GMAT guide to get a real flavor for types of questions tested in the exam.

Some other cons - you are unable to pick topics that you might want to practice - the software decides what kind of problems and the topics you get. I also personally found it impossible to finish the course in 3 months as once you complete 80% of the course, the program goes into maintenance mode where a high a number of problems are repeated and the progress is slow. They charge you 200$ to extend the program for a month.

Overall I don't recommend going with the Economist as although their quant section is pretty good, you can't buy quant and verbal separately (which some companies offer) and the whole package just isn't worth it.
Joined: Oct 24, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 4, 2016
College: Grand Canyon University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely Love This Course

October 24, 2016
  • Teacher: System
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Economist's GMAT prep is a fantastic course. I took the 7 day trial and I was hooked. The interactive platform is actually pretty fun to work with, and my favorite part was it moves at your own pace. The system gauges where you need extra work, and gives it to you. I also have had an exceptional experience with their customer service team. I had a medical situation in my family that required my full attention for several weeks. The Economist team was very responsive in helping me out. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to do a self paced study.
Joined: Sep 26, 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 13, 2016
College: columbia college
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course! Don't buy it for the guarantee though.

September 26, 2016
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 730

I loved the Economist GMAT course. I had taken the GMAT Nov of last year, but didn't get into the school I wanted so I decided to take it again.

This time around I wanted to have a tutor/program to work through. I chose the Economist because it had a money back guarantee if I didn't hit above a certain amount of improvement if I did the full course. I spent over 130 hours studying between this course, tutoring sessions, practice tests, videos, and my own study material (official GMAT review book and some math books). The course took me through everything and kept me from solely focusing on quant where I struggled last time. I was able to improve both my quant and verbal sub-sections. I also improved my IR score (not as important to me since my school doesn't look at it). However, I didn't find the AWA portion helpful. It was very structured in how to build your essay, but I thought it was very one dimensional.

My main tutor was Jake Wengroff. He was an excellent tutor. He knew how to walk through practice problems at my speed and how to explain concepts. He also did a great review of the problems from my practice test when I asked for assistance reviewing it.

So while the course was very helpful, I do want to warn: do not buy it for the guarantee!!! Getting the guarantee is next to impossible. You have to complete 90% of the course and doing so would take 100 hours after finishing the first 75-80% of the course (this is based on what I was told by a tutor other than Jake). Basically it is a huge undertaking and will most likely lead to getting burnt out on studying which means it isn't worth it. With that being said, I got 50 points of improvement and moved 10 percentile up. Not quite the guaranteed 70 points for the course I bought, but in my opinion it was worth the money!
Joined: Aug 2, 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2016
College: The University of Western Ontario
Major: Civil Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Study Efficiently

August 2, 2016
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 710

Over my lifetime of purchases the Economist GMAT Tutor ranks in my highest bracket for product satisfaction.

Initially I was a bit discouraged about the high cost, but I gave the free week trial a test run and loved the software from minute one. I found the program forced you to sit down and study at an intensity level that was equivalent to that of test day. Personally this would not have been possible for me if I was studying independently. With the program I studied about 85 hours total, but they were hardcore focused hours.

I only completed one live tutoring session which was very professional and easily accessible. I did not feel I needed further one on one sessions because the program explained everything very logically.

I did use three of the essay reviews and it was evident that the marker put some thought into the essay and provided insightful comments.

Lastly the program gives you an "estimated score" as you progress through the course. This was very rewarding to see your estimated score rise at the end of a long study session - further motivation.

I initially wrote a 540 without studying. At test day about two months later I wrote a 710! If I had put in the same amount of time without the Economist prep tool I would estimate my score would have been around a 670.

These extra points landed me a huge scholarship at my first choice school - easily paying off my initial sticker shock.
Give the free trial a run, you have nothing to lose.
Joined: Oct 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2016
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Economist got me a better score than Manhattan GMAT

July 8, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 730

I have a long history with the GMAT. During senior year of my college year I took a self-study Manhattan GMAT course and was only able to score a 650. This was disappointing as anyone whose looking at an top program knows they need a 700+.

I decided to give it another go a couple years later. I had heard good things about the Economist so I went with them. I found their adaptive learning program to be much more effective than watching a lecture and then doing problems. In the end I obtained a 730 score thanks to the excellent structure of the program and the helpful tutors. Thanks, Economist!
Joined: May 10, 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 4, 2015
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Broadcasting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Works

May 27, 2016
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

The Economist GMAT Tutor was exactly what I needed. It starts with the basics, which is exactly what I needed because when I stated, I didn't know what I was in for. But it starts you out with small steps and works with you at the pace you can go. And if you are struggling with a concept, it goes back and keeps hammering at those subjects until you get it down. The tutors you get paired with are very helpful. I ended up working with two different tutors over Skype, but I had one tutor who took a real interest in my studies and help me with some strategies where I was weak. I don't know where I was at the beginning of the program (I think it put me around a 450 score as I started) but by the end I was scoring in the high 600. I took two practice tests through the Economist and another one through the GMAC. The Economist scores were really accurate. I got a 670 then a 680. On my real test I got a 690. It got me into my number one choice school with a great scholarship.
Joined: Sep 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 16, 2015
College: Universidad de San Andres
Major: Business
Country: Argentina
Verified Real Student Review

Fun, interactive and worth your time and money

May 24, 2016
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I decided to apply to business school mid-September, so my timing was less than ideal. I had always assumed that a little practice would help me shape up and I would obtain a good GMAT score easily. Economist?s free mock exam (which you get on your weekly trial) proved to be a defining moment in my journey. I scored 630 and I did very poorly in quant. It was a rude awakening, but a necessary one. I can confidently say the money I invested in the Economist GMAT course yielded excellent value and was the best decision I made in the process of applying to business school. These are the features I liked the most about the course:

1) Interactive, engaging platform improved my discipline and my enjoyment of the process. The same wit you find in the magazine is present in the course material.
2) You can let the adaptive engine take you through the course working more intensely on your weakest areas or you can chart your own course by selecting which topics you want to cover as you go. This was very important to me given my time constraints.
3) No need to take notes, you can always revisit key highlights of a lesson in your control panel.
4) The ask a tutor feature is responsive and useful. You?ll get a response within 6-12 hours.
5) The live one-on-one sessions with tutors were great to build my confidence tackling data sufficiency questions. The tutors will pull up questions on topics you select in advance and work on the questions with you.
6) AWA grading. My first essay sucked. The person who graded it basically dissected the thing with five or six comments and completely changed my approach. Went from a 3 to a 6 in three attempts.
7) Had a head start comparing with other internationals when it came to Verbal due to my English skills. But the sentence correction material? it was brilliant. After a month with the Economist prep I just could not get a sentence correction question wrong. Very simple rules make you improve dramatically.
8) I found the mock exam to be a lot more realistic compared to what I tried on other companies, particularly MPrep. Still, the best mocks are those you get from GMAT prep.

Things not so great about it:
1) The score predictor does not work very well, I wouldn?t pay attention to it.
2) Pretty weak on IR preparation. Seems to me that the Economist subscribes to the ?IR doesn?t matter? view. I had to complement my preparation with GMAT prep.
3) I found the Reading Comp. questions a little more ambiguous than the actual GMAT
4) While the engine works well, it does repeat a few questions you?ve answered before every once in a while.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed. Went from a 630 to 730 in the last Economist mock and scored a 760 in the real thing.
Joined: May 10, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 24, 2015
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: International Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

From 540 to 730 with the Economist Ultimate Prep

May 10, 2016
  • Teacher: Kasia and Jake
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 730

I purchased the ultimate prep by the Economist upon recommendation from a colleague. My opinion is that the overall course (algorithm based software + simulation tests + tutoring sessions) is great for anyone looking for an overall improvement, and who learns best from a mix of self-studying and tutoring sessions. It helped me go from 540 to 730 over a period of 6 months. The strength of the course is the quantitative part of the algorithm based software and the live tutoring sessions. However, the course has two major drawbacks that are worth considering. Firstly it is too expensive for what it is. Sure, the tutoring sessions are extremely helpful and the tutors are competent, but the algorithm based course itself does not cover anything that e.g. Magoosh does not cover. Secondly, the Sentence Correction section of the algorithm based software is not as strong as the other parts (RC, CR, PS & DS), and it is definitely not sufficient if you are aiming for a high verbal s core. I had to purchase the MGMAT SC book to cover the advanced Sentence Correction questions - which is not optimal taking the price of the course into consideration.
Joined: May 10, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 22, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very efficient way to get ready for the GMAT

May 10, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

I was very satisfied with the GMAT prep course from the Economist. It was a very efficient way to get up to speed, as the software clearly noticed what I am good at and in which areas I still need more preparation for. Also, whenever I had a question, the team behind this app got back to me quickly and always with relevant information. Overall, I am very happy with this tool and would definitely recommend it to anybody who would like to get ready for the GMAT.
Joined: May 10, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 1, 2016
College: university of dayton
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very solid product

May 10, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

I had a chance to work from home for 4 months and knew I wouldn't have another chance the grind out the hours necessary to do as well as I wanted to. I picked The Economist GMAT prep based on its content delivery style. The conversational tone and adaptive software keep the information fresh and flowing throughout the months of studying. It does a great job of dropping you back into timed questions to help with patience and information retrieval. Really helped me reach my goals.
Joined: May 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 24, 2015
Major: Computer Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good for those with a tight schedule

May 1, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Even though this course is a bit expensive compared to other ones out there, if you have trouble finding time or tend to get distracted once you start studying, this is a good course. You can do timed sessions. I did most of my studying on 30 minutes sessions. It helped me keep track of my study hours and was able to study during lunch hours or whenever I could spare a few focused minutes.
Joined: Apr 26, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 9, 2015
College: Brigham young Unversity
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The absolute best value for your money

April 26, 2016
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

When I started studying for the GMAT, I felt like I was moving through lead to get it done. I was reading through Manhattan GMAT books and not really making any progress in my practice tests (I went from a 550 to a 580 on practice tests after poring through the Manhattan books for a couple weeks).

A friend who graduated from Harvard Business School strongly recommended I try the Economist GMAT Tutor, and I started the 7 day free trial. I LOVED it?I honestly enjoyed studying! Not only did studying become much easier, I scored a 740 on the real GMAT after a little less than 4 months of studying with the Economist.

Here?s why I highly recommend the Economist to anyone and everyone thinking about taking the GMAT:
(1) I can't tell you how fun studying for the GMAT became! It's like a gamified study tool that's customized to you. There are graphs that show your progress in the course, time spent by Quant/Verbal, and a score forecast graph that is so fun to watch go up and up as you progress through the course.

(2) Speaking of customized: the Economist is a smart, adaptive tutor that adjusts to what you need to spend more or less time on. The GMAT itself is adaptive, and I love that the Economist is, too. The Economist either quickly moves through the content if you keep answering things right or slows you down and gives you more practice if you're struggling. Rather than having to skim through stuff in a book that you think you Might have mastered, or waste time and sit through stuff in a class that you don't need to spend time on?or worse, have to rush through harder concepts for you because you have to follow the class' pace?the Economist helps you focus on what you need to focus on.

(3) You can study on your own time, whenever and wherever. It isn't a scheduled class you have to attend always at a certain time, or take time to travel to. You also don?t need to lug a heavy book around with you. I downloaded the mobile app and studied for 5-minute increments on my phone when I needed a break at work, and for 25-minute increments on my lunch break. You can also use the app offline (on an airplane, for example).

(4) The ?Ask-a-Tutor? feature was seriously awesome. Any time I had a question on a specific practice problem or concept in the course, I would just hit a button and submit my question, and within a day or so a tutor would reply via email with a detailed explanation to answer my question. It was fantastic. Also, the Tutoring Sessions were very helpful and I really enjoyed getting customized help and walk throughs with the Tutors over Skype! (P.S. Jake Wengroff is the bomb.com).

(5) This is maybe a small point, but the AWA Essay tutoring in the Economist is the best. They give you a very easy format to follow/memorize, and allow you to submit practice essays that they return, graded and with comments. I followed their format exactly and got a 6.0 on the AWA portion.

For the cost (around $650), I think the Economist is a great value. Way better than either books or a class. Even if you don?t end up going with the Economist, I highly recommend taking advantage of the 7-day trial!
Joined: Nov 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 25, 2015
College: The University of Texas
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Economist GMAT Prep Review

April 25, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I used the Economist GMAT prep in the Summer/Fall of 2015. I managed to go from a 560 on my first practice test in July to a 750 on my actual GMAT in November. I had tried self study prior to taking the course to little-to-no improvement. The courses adaptive format takes the guess work out of what your weaknesses are and what you need to devote time to. In the early going of test prep this is great as it gives you exposure to a wide variety of materials and gives you a litmus test of what will require extra attention. Additionally the adaptive model helps with fatigue as it moves between subject matters frequently and prevents you from getting exhausted on a single subject. This worked for the majority of my prep. Being able to send in emails/questions to tutors was also a huge help when I just "wasn't getting it." Additionally setting up the live calls was a huge help especially in terms of planning and scheduling my test prep. When it came time to focus on the tes t itself the economists prep was a little lacking in that it only had 5 tests. I ended up resorting to using other resources to get additional test practice. They also don't have a generic question bank to run through practice questions. My only other complaint is that the included app isn't very well designed. It's a regurgitation of the desktop experience in an app, which works on some subjects but those requiring a pen and paper or working out a problem don't work.

Pros:
Adaptive model
Timed Sessions
Live instructor calls
Ask an instructor option

Cons:
Not enough practice tests - can't retake previous tests
Can't take/retake specific lessons
Not enough practice questions
App isn't optimized and required network
Joined: Apr 20, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 5, 2016
College: UNC
Major: Journalism
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Efficient 670 to 780

April 20, 2016
  • Teacher: Jake Wengroff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 780

Highest reviews for Economist GMAT Tutor.

Loved how the model adapted to pinpoint weaknesses and throw you more questions in those areas. I didn't have a lot of extra time to study for the GMAT so I appreciated the fact that every minute was used well and no time was wasted. The program also forces you to stay active in reading and solving problems whereas other online programs include watching videos which allows you to become passive in your studying. I would much rather spend my time trying out problems and going through the wrong ways to solve a it than watch a video of a tutor showing me how to solve.

Also felt the questions in the practice tests were very similar to those of the real GMAT so when test day came I was confident going through the exam.

But ultimately the results speak for themselves, I went from 670 to 780 using the Economist GMAT Tutor program. For what it's worth, my strategy was to study for about an hour a day for about 3 months. 5 weeks out I started taking a practice test each Friday, reviewed it Saturday and tried to schedule a tutor session on the Sunday/Monday afterwards. I also had the same tutor for every online session (Jake Wengroff) which was very helpful as we were able to build a good rapport.
Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 23, 2016
College: Ukraine
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Sports
Country: Poland
Verified Real Student Review

from 500 to 710 in 2 months

March 18, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I found this course really helpful. Within two months I use this course only and finally got 710 in real exam, 47Q and 42V. Before taking the course, I hardly did any quant at all since school (so, for 15 last years - just calculating a discounted price for coffee).

The feature of the program I adore the most - it is adaptive, so it focuses on your strengths and weaknesses. It is like private tutor with unlimited (almost) exercises.

And I highly recommend Kasia Slawinska for "ask a tutor session" in the course: due to her advice I got in 96 percentile in Verbal!

Though I plan to retake the exam in a month (my dreamed school is one of the best), I want to thank all the GMAT Economist Team for their product)))
Joined: Jul 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 16, 2015
College: Southern Methodist University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the money

February 2, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I loved this course. They do a great job keeping the content fresh and drilling home the key concepts.

In terms of verbal, they really hit the nail on the head. It's good to look at the OG as well before the exam but overall, I couldn't ask for much more.

In regards to quant, I heard a few pepole grumble that it was good to give you a good theoretical overview but lacked the level of difficulty really high quant scorers look for. It's difficult for me to judge in this respect since I was much stronger at Verbal but definitely can't argue with my overall score of 730!

I would reccommend this course if you are studying at home and have to balance this with work etc.
Joined: Jan 12, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 17, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Economist

January 12, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I really appreciated that The Economist was adaptive to my learning - it would quickly pass off subjects I was proficient in and really hammer home areas where I wasn't. I felt that all of the example questions were very different from one another and overall it was a good course experience. The 1-on-1 tutoring was probably the most beneficial part to me, as I got to ask someone real my questions and work through specific problem sets.
Joined: Aug 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 31, 2015
College: University of Cambridge
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Great product Overall

January 1, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 740

I gave 2 diagnostic tests before starting with the Economist GMAT tutor and scored a 650 and 680 on them. Over approximately 2 months I spent 92 hours on the Economist GMAT tutor software and did not use any other preparatory material. I scored 760 on the two official GMAT practice tests and 740 on the final GMAT. Overall, I was very happy with my experience with the Economist GMAT tutor and even though it may be a bit more expensive than some of its competitors, I feel the money was well spent.

Positives
? Adaptive learning ? Most GMAT programmes follow the ?one-size fits all? approach. GMAT test takers have different backgrounds and skill sets, which means that there is really no ?average student? which makes it important for a learning programme to meet the specific needs of the student. After giving the initial diagnostic tests, I did not give another test till I finished approximately 50% of the programme. Throughout this time I felt like I was making no progress because my accuracy on the practice questions with the GMAT tutor remained the same. However, the software was probably working on my weaknesses and giving me tougher questions on my stronger areas, which is what eventually helped me improve my score.
? Easy to fit into a busy schedule ? This programme is really good for people who need to balance work and other commitments with GMAT studies. You can have sessions from 5 mins up to 1 hour and can easily fit in short sessions on your way to work or during breaks so you are constantly making some progress.

Negatives
? Can not go back to past questions or explanations ? Your ?Dashboard? on the GMAT tutor has summaries of all the topics you have covered but it?s not possible to go to the detailed explanations of previous topics/practice questions.
? I had scheduled two tutoring sessions the day before my final GMAT to solve a few last minute doubts, but BOTH the tutors did not show up on skype for the sessions. They later apologised and said that this was a rare occurrence, but it was incredibly frustrating and highly unprofessional of them because not only did I waste time on skype waiting for the tutors, I had to spend a few hours on the internet trying to find the answers to my questions when all I wanted to do was relax one day before my GMAT.
Joined: Dec 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 3, 2015
College: UNITED BUSINESS INSTITUTES
Major: Finance
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Very satisfied

December 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Jake/Kesia
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

The Economist GMAT Tutor is very complete.
I had less than 2 months to study for the GMAT, which is quite challenging when you are working full time. But the option of choosing the length of a session, makes it very useful to manage time. Furthermore, there is a window that shows the progress and an approximate gmat score, which in my case was very accurate.
I got 690 and the estimator had estimated my score between 680 and 710.

The tutors (Kesia and Jake) that gave me the private sessions were phenomenal, knowledgeable and very helpful. I recommend doing a strategy session. The advice in time management they gave was crucial.

All aspects of the quantitative and verbal section got me well prepared for the GMAT. I just thought the sentence correction part was a little weak though. I complemented it by purchasing a pack from the official gmat prep.

I got 5.5 on my essay, I have to give 100% credit to the Economist for that. They were great and very helpful.

The integrated reason part is ridiculous though.

Overall I'm very satisfied, and I wholeheartedly recommend The Economist GMAT Tutor.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 9 10 11 12 13