Test Prep Companies, Private Tutoring

Bloomberg Exam Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Sep 2, 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 15, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great for those without a Private Tutor

September 2, 2013
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: N/A

I have used the GMAT tutor for about a month now , starting from the 7 day trial of the course. I find the course engaging because it selects the topic you need to study, & keeps your head light from any worry about what your next topic should be.

The quant is excellent , especially it looks like they fill your gaps from high school. I haven't finished the course , but from what I have started it is a very interactive experience.

I scored a 630 the last time I gave the GMAT & hope once I complete the course, I will be near the 700's .
Joined: Jul 23, 2013
Purchased Course: May 21, 2013
College: IDC
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent and life compatible.

July 31, 2013
  • Teacher: Issac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I found this course excellent and really compatible with my lifestyle that forced me to learn at really weird hours. I was doing an hour before work and two hours after work for just over two months and thanks to this course I was ready to rock on exam day.

The course is really really great, it adapts to your level of learning and keeps going back to the subjects you are weaker at. Thanks to the course I managed to raise my score from an initial 620 that i got on a simulation exam i took before the course began to a 700 on the actual day (from a quant 35 to a quant 47!).

The only area that I think may need improvement is the RC part which is still not up to the level of the rest of the topics.

The response time on questions and requests was very very quick.

Massive thanks to everyone at GMAT Tutor.
Joined: Jul 17, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 11, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

The future of test prep

July 17, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

This program, in addition to being responsible for a 200+ pt improvement in my GMAT score, was truly a pleasure to use.

Concepts are explained clearly, with different tactics (video, small exercises, etc.) used in different areas of the curriculum. The tailored algorithm works surprisingly well, too, and I noticed that the program after a while tended to give me questions in areas that I knew represented my weaknesses.

But what makes the program work at the end of the day is the incredible support staff that responds to any questions almost immediately. You can ask them about any topic and expect a clear explanation soon after. The live tutor sessions via Skype are also helpful to talk through test-taking strategy, although I didn't use all my allotted sessions. The folks on the other end are always courteous and I got the sense that they are truly committed to making their program as easy to use as possible, especially in their development of the iPad app and other changes made as I was taking the course.

There are, as others have noted, some small weaknesses that I'm sure will be improved as the program is developed further. The section for Integrated Reasoning is still small, and the simulation tests don't include IR which means you'll need to use other sources to find proper practice tests that are the real deal. And it would be nice to have the option of slightly more control over the content, although in my case it was nice to have sessions planned for me. Finally, this program took me 6 months to get through - don't plan on spending a few weeks on prep if you use it.

All told, if you're self-motivated and short on slots of time during the week to take a full-fledged class, I cannot imagine a better option. I recommend this program wholeheartedly.
Joined: Jul 2, 2013
Purchased Course: Jun 2, 2013
College: Indiana University
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Utilities
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thorough and "fun"

July 2, 2013
  • Teacher: Isaac
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 610

I decided to finally stop talking about applying to business school and actually do it. The only problem with my decision is the application was due in two months. I immediately went to Amazon and purchased the Official GMAT study guide which is inarguably a great resource. I then found the Veritas Prep videos on the iPad that really helped me understand thinking like the test maker. Unfortanately, thinking like the test maker didn't translate into beating the test maker as my first score was much lower than I anticpated. I think I let my poor performance on the IR section affect me during the Quant and Verbal sections but regardless I needed to retake the test in one month and increase my score at least 50 points. At that time I found great reviews and a free trial for the Economist's GMAT Tutor. I bit on the free trial and after being impressed with the teaching style of the online course I purchased the one year subscription. I did not have enough time to complete the entire course but in the 40 hours I was able to get through approximately 40% of the material and raised my GMAT score by 100 points. Overall I was impressed with the layout and teaching style and have recommended it to several other co-workers considering going to B-School next year.

While nothing is perfect, I really only had a few small complaints regarding the Economist GMAT Tutor. The first is more an issue with my lack of time as I did not have time to get to some of the sections that I knew I needed more time with like Geometry and Combinatorics. I also wanted to review the exponents section a few days before the test but you are unable to select specific topics. I also had two technical issues, the first on my work computer where I am unable to login via IE because of a "no transport" error. However, it is a work computer so who knows what restrictions are causing the issue but Firefox worked without a problem. I also tried to use the course on a first generation iPad and some of the scientific notation fonts would not render which made learning the Quant sections impossible but selecting Verbal only was still available while I was mobile.

The constant interaction required with this course is guaranteed to keep you involved in the learning and forces you to learn the material.
Joined: Jun 20, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2013
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

June 20, 2013
  • Teacher: Aron Lin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 740

I had a great experience with the GMAT tutoring from the Economist. The setup is great for people with odd schedules who need to get some studying in but don't know when. The tutoring, especially from Aron, was top notch. Be sure to schedule in advance if you want a specific time. The verbal tutoring was also great but not as good as the quant prep.

Response times for tickets/requests were usually less than an hour.

I also have to say that doing the practice tests online was a very big help.

Thanks so much, I got the score I wanted and I'm very pleased with the level of service offered.
Joined: Apr 21, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 30, 2013
College: Washington & Jefferson College
Major: Psychology
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great guidance, but takes time.

June 18, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I would definitely recommend the Economist's GMAT prep program! When I initially began studying for the GMAT, I attempted to prepare using standard online and print resources, which offered basic test-taking advice, content review, and lots of sample practice questions. As I only had a little over a month to study, I quickly realized that I needed a more focused strategy. I tried the Economist's free trial week of their program and felt that my efforts had become much more efficient and productive. The content review was very helpful, presented in a step by step, adaptive format that tailors the lessons to individual strengths and weaknesses. However, ultimately it was the even more personalized guidance of the actual, very helpful, human tutor that convinced me to purchase the program. His advice to capitalize on my strengths in verbal, rather than attempting to master the quantitative content in such a limited time frame, was a major factor in my achieving such a high overall score. I do believe that if I had had a full 2 to 3 months to devote to preparing, I would have gained a high degree of confidence on the math sections as well. Overall I was very pleased with my overall experience.
Joined: Jun 12, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 10, 2013
College: Louisiana State University
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great potential, not yet fully realized

June 12, 2013
  • Teacher: Various
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This is obviously the future of course prep. Self-directed, interactive, computer/mobile devise based, with human interaction both in the form of pre-planned tutoring sessions and unlimited email interaction. Tutors usually respond within a few hours and their responses are always thorough, thoughtful, and enlightening.

My biggest criticism of this service as a whole (besides the lack of android support) is the lack of any form of a literal or figurative "back" button. You cannot go back and review old questions, and you cannot go back and re-learn old lessons. Their explanation for this misses the mark. They will never convince me that there would be no value in being able to go back as well as forward in their linear pedagogy.

Overall, I am grateful it's available. I feel like it's well worth the cost, but my big hope is that this sort of format catches on on a wider scale for not only test prep but also other types of interactive self-directed courses.
Joined: May 24, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 24, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, with great real human being support online

May 24, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

While I have no basis of comparison with other courses, the scores I received on practice exams as my exam approached steadily improved, and my actual score was my highest score. The adaptivity of the course seemed to be very helpful, as I had a constrained study period, and was able to obtain what is, based on the research I have done, a competitive score.

A definite pro that I would cite with respect to the course was the availability of real human being responses to my questions within a reasonable time period. Compared with other online courses I've taken, this exceeded my expectations. I really didn't feel severely disadvantaged by the fact that the course was online; in fact, as I could take it whenever I had time, I perhaps accomplished more studying that I may have otherwise.
Joined: May 24, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 8, 2013
College: University of Toronto
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Dynamic, individual, and fun

May 24, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Practice test score: 610 --> 730
Official GMAT score: 740

While I have cannot compare this course with other courses since I have no experience with others, I can confidently say that Economist GMAT Tutor is very effective in helping students understand the fundamentals of the tested topics. More importantly, it is tailored to each individual's needs, providing the most practice in his or her weakest areas. Above all, the program is very engaging and user-friendly, and is designed to make the user feel like an actual tutor is supervising and assisting him or her during the preparation process. I could not be more happy with my results from using the program!
Joined: May 16, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 5, 2013
College: USC
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Adaptive Course!

May 16, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I prepared for the GMAT in 4 weeks (during which I did not have any other commitments, so I could dedicate myself fully to studying) using the Economist Tutor.

Pros:
- Adaptive, meaning it will learn your strengths and weaknesses (through quizzing) and will give you problems that challenge you repeatedly, till you get better at them.
- Summary of your personal strong/weak topics is provided
- Very good support via internet/phone -- you will get a response in less than a day to any inquiries regarding problems you do not understand
-Thorough coverage of material in every topic, with more time dedicated to topics that are more frequently tested
- Good practice exams (minus the first diagnostic one-- I think this has many more challenging/strange problems than the others, my opinion..) that are quite reflective of performance/level of the official GMAT exams. Gives you confidence going into the real exam.
-Computer-based program, so you get used to solving problems on a computer

Cons:
- Statistics could be improved to give you a better sense of strengths and weaknesses per topic (rate of making mistakes, average time per question....)
- Tutoring sessions provided didn't really help me. I used 1 out the 4 available




Joined: Feb 21, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2013
College: Bucknell University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great format and content - makes it fun

May 15, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am halfway through this course and really enjoy the format - it makes it fun and keeps you engaged. Because you have to answer questions and prompt responses every few minutes, the program keeps you engaged. The periodic introduction of practice questions on previously covered material during the progressing course keeps all of the material fresh. I like that the program is self-paced and easily accessible (can be used on iphone and ipad or a computer, through a browser - no downloads needed!) - it is great for people who need flexibility. The site highlights your strengths and weaknesses and shows your progression through the content. The program has a great mix of fundamentals, tips and tricks.

I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 for functional shortcomings of the website: I would really like to see more features such as the ability to go "back" in instances of a misclick, the ability to "exit" a session in progress and the ability to replay whole modules. The site does give you summaries of each modules and revisits them with practice questions and reminders throughout but sometimes I would like to just go through the section again.

All in all, I think this program is going to boost my GMAT score tremendously over my initial practice test.
Joined: Feb 17, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 21, 2013
College: Bucknell
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Just started and feeling like it was worth the investment

May 15, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: N/A

I have only been studying for about a month. This course is very good and teaching you the specific knowledge required for the GMAT. I already feel like I'm in a better place for the exam.
Joined: May 14, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 5, 2013
College: Western University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Other Services
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Strong GMAT preparation system that adapts to your ability as you proceed

May 14, 2013
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: N/A

I have only started my preparation with GMAT Tutor from The Economist, but already it has exceeded my expectations.

I initially purchased and studied from a Kaplan GMAT textbook. Although I was able to score a 680 on my first GMAT test, this score was not to my satisfaction as I am aiming to attend an Ivy League MBA program or receive a very generous scholarship for another solid MBA program.

When studying from the Kaplan text, I could only learn so much as it catered to an "average" test taker. I wasn't able to expand on the technique I already knew, and because of this I wasn't able to score in the 700's.

I have only studied with GMAT Tutor for one month, but have already noticed a drastic improvement in my GMAT test-taking ability. GMAT Tutor is a computer adaptive program that adjusts the level of difficulty of the material to suit your needs as a student.

As a test-taker that is aiming for a top score, the GMAT Tutor study program has exceeded all my expectations, and has thus far prepared me well to reach a score well beyond 700.
Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 14, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Very good pacing in the GMAT Tutor

May 13, 2013
  • Teacher: Issac Bettan
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: N/A

There are a few things which are really good about the GMAT Tutor from the Economist:

- Personalized guidance from the tutor, in this case was Issac, who was very patient and gave valuable tips
- Good pacing, if you dedicate approximately 70 hours in total, you should be able to finish the course in three months
- Good for students who are working / parenting at the same time as the courses are fluent and not just questions, there is a simple feedback system
- Dynamically changing question set ensures that the full list of questions are taught
- Short 30 minutes quick lessons such that you can still fit in the course when you are too busy; this can be extended to a longer time period

Minus points:

- Relatively expensive for an online course
- Ability to only choose from Quant/Qual; and not in a more granular axis - for example if you would like to focus on data sufficiency etc

My suggestion is still, take the course for 7 days - there should be a trial period, to see if you would like the format before you take the plunge.
Joined: May 13, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 7, 2013
College: UCSC
Major: Political Science
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep Resource

May 13, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

It's great for someone looking for an adaptive testing tool. I like the set up and ease of use. Pumped to take the GMAT!
Joined: May 12, 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 2, 2013
College: Wheaton College
Major: History
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Pretty goo course

May 12, 2013
  • Teacher: Alan
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I took Knewton about a year ago. Hated it. It was a waste of time, money and concentration.

The GMAT tutor is different. Their program goes through the quant (which is what I need help on) very well. Whenever I have had a question the tutors have emailed with the answer. Finally, at least for me, confidence seems to be a large portion of the test. The staff over there has been very supportive and has made me believe that I can succeed. I haven't taken the test yet, and am still working through the problems, but this program has really helped me move in the right direction.
Joined: Apr 25, 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 1, 2013
College: IIT
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Good course for math and SC

May 11, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I've decided to take the GMAT on February and after 3 week with the official guide I understood I needed more help. I've signed up to this course on March and I'm about to take the test this Monday, 10 and a half weeks later, yet I've finished most of the course (over 90%), while working full time.

For those who never took the GMAT, this course is great. It forces you walk through everything. I have a strong math background and it still helped me with the tricks needed for quick and efficient solving. The course simplify complex subjects, even the hard-to-nail probability with combinatorial questions.
In the verbal section, this course do wonders with SC. I started with a very weak sentence correction and now I have a great statistics of about 1 mistake for every 10-11 SC I do. In the reading comprehension and the critical reasoning I found the explanations good but not great, so it is now my weakest point.


The biggest problem I found with the course wasn't in the content. It was the UI and the statistics tool. The website only tells you your stronger and weaker points but does not change it as you get better at certain point. The statistics tool only tells you how much of the course you have completed, and no statistics of the success rate of the different subjects, which was much needed for me. At some point I started my own statistics and wrote down on a paper where I was wrong or right. It turned out that my statistics were completely different from those presented to me at the course website.
As for the UI, there is help window on the side of every question. A great idea and really helpful, only it's about a square inch and the content needs more than that. It's really tiny and you can't properly read what is inside. The same goes for the home screen where you cannot easily find the subjects you want to revise, it's just a long,long list of subjects.
Moreover, no android app so I couldn't enter the website from either my phone or my tablet. That's a shame, because I spend almost two hours everyday going to wok and back and this time could have been more productive.

Overall, I recommend the course for those who do not need a boost in just one subject, but a complete start-over. It is thorough, and teaches you almost everything you need to know.

Good luck!
Joined: May 9, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 12, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Glad I found this great Tutor

May 10, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 360 After: 560


Hello,

in October 2012 I took the GMAT for the first time after months of preparation and got a score of 360. I was devestated. Then I tried The Economist GMAT Course. Although my motivation should have been below zero, this Tutor really made me sit at the desk for hours I never did before with such a good mood. In Feburary I took the GMAT for the second time and scored 560.

560 doesn't sound too good, but for me it's awesome and well enough. I am gladfull for the Tutor.

Not sure if the Tutor still offers a refund if one doesn't score high enough. But don't count on that. Because I think the software makes it almost impossible to reach the required amount of work time to be able to get a refund. But that was only my personal impression. And in the end, I scored so good, that it wasn't a problem.

Try it out. It's a good investment.
Joined: May 8, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 16, 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

college student

May 8, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I think this is an good program that breaks up the studying. I haven't taken the GMAT yet so I don't know how effective it has been, however I would like it if the modules would let you better pick what you could be doing.
Joined: Sep 10, 2012
Purchased Course: Oct 23, 2012
College: University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent and different from traditional book and notes method

May 7, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 520

First of all, let me begin by saying that I am a mom of a toddler who did not have much time to devote to GMAT in order to score in 700s. I have been weak in Math since school days. English is not my mother tongue. Despite my time constraints and shortcomings, GMAT Tutor gave me the confidence to crack the GMAT exam in my own little way. I could have scored in 600s, had I devoted more time.

I began with GMAT tutor trial and before I knew it, I started loving devoting time to Math and Verbal sessions on Economist tutor. The most important part that the GMAT tutor did was to convince me that you do not have to be a geek or a Math wizard to crack the GMAT Math section. With the knowledge of basic formulas, time management, and "ball parking " (a good and valid guess based on your limited Math knowledge), you can handle the Math section well. Solving the problem step by step and consuming time will lead nowhere. Even with reading passages, CR questions, GMAT tutor imparted nice tips and tricks that helped me race against the time on GMAT exam day.

I loved logging into my Economist tutor account and going through different topics one by one even if it was for 30 minutes at a time. For me it was fun and interactive without the price tag of a live tutor. GMAT tutor would introduce a topic, explain, and make me do practice questions on the current topic right then.

Although GMAT tutor is excellent, I would still recommend taking as many practice tests as possible including the GMAT tutor practice tests. If someone wants, she can add books (Princeton/Nova/GMAT official guides/Manhattan) to her GMAT material. For example, for Math I also referred Nova and grockit.com in addition to GMAT tutor.

Overall, investing time and money on GMAT Tutor is worth the consideration.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13