Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Target Test Prep

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 19, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 9, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Website

August 19, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 740

GMAT round 1. I took my first GMAT in early April, 2015. Leading up to it, I worked extensively in the Princeton Review book with the vast majority of my time being spent on practice problems. I weighted my verbal/quant practice at about a 40/60 split respectively, noting that my math skills needed much more help than my verbal/writing. I think I spent about an hour a day for a month in total preparing for my first GMAT - obviously not the most in-depth preparation...and the score reflected that.

Round 1 scores: 39 Verbal, 42 Quant, 5 Writing, 7 Reasoning with a 660 final score.

GMAT round 2. Not being satisfied with my 660, I vowed to redo the GMAT. Noting that my verbal score put me almost in the 90th percentile, I committed my time exclusively to the Quant section. I wanted a better study method and came across Target Test Prep. I was impressed right away with the ease of use of the website and the way that the material was structured. I also liked the instructional videos. Books are great but, at least for a person like me, it is often helpful to see the pen-strokes and have the logic conversationally broken down. I spent 10 weeks intensively using the website, working through the taught material for my worst subjects and conducting 30-50 practice questions per day. Overall, I probably spent 75 hours on the site between June and August.

The big breakthrough came for me when I started doing custom tests. Its easy to go through a chapter and then do the practice questions immediately afterwards because you are mentally primed to jump those mental hurdles. I think its actually a disservice to you to go about it that way. I recommend a 50/50 split in your time if you use TTP. Spend half your time working through your weakest chapters and learning/understanding the concepts. Spend the other half doing custom tests with a variety of questions so that you're having to shift the mental gears that you'll have to shift on test day - practice like you'll perform.

As I stated earlier, I exclusively committed my re-study time to the quant section using TTP. I retook the GMAT in mid August and came out with the following scores:

42 Verbal, 48 Quant, 4.5 Writing, 6 Reasoning with a 740 final score.

I would recommend Target Test Prep to any prospect GMAT taker - 5 out of 5 stars, I was blown away by the results.
Joined: Aug 19, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2015
College: Brown University
Major: History
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Incredibly Dedicated Company

August 19, 2015
  • Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I used Target Test Prep to study for the GRE. I was very strong on verbal, but needed to refresh math concepts that I hadn't thought about in over a decade. I used the website and worked with Scott (via their online tutoring program). Scott is incredibly committed to his teaching and his students. He is an excellent math instructor and an all-around great guy. His attention to detail is reflected across the course. Target Test Prep is in a league of its own.
Joined: Aug 17, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 14, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent math prep

August 17, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I worked with Jeff Miller on math prep and found him to be an excellent teacher who was very engaging and made the subject matter as interesting as possible. He was also very good at providing several ways to get to the right answer -- a critical skill for any GMAT test taker.

I highly recommend Jeff and the Target Test Prep team.
Joined: Aug 17, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 3, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing

August 17, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 740

I highly recommend Target Test Prep for GMAT tutoring. I came to TTP with a 650 GMAT and finished with a 740 GMAT!! My quant score alone jumped from the 50th percentile to the 85th percentile, all thanks to the GMAT prep I did with TTP! My tutor knew the GMAT inside and out and was able to teach those skills to me. Also, he was very flexible and accommodated himself to my changing work schedule. I worked with TTP for 25 hours over six weeks. In that time, we covered all the GMAT math subjects and had time to return to subjects that I struggled with during review. We went at my pace and focused on the issues I was weak in. TTP has a fool-proof method for covering every subject and all the tricky question types that the GMAT can throw at you. Thanks to TTP, I now have a GMAT score I am proud to submit to any business school.
Joined: Aug 17, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 3, 2013
College: Howard University
Major: Finance
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

My GMAT Testimonial

August 17, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 640

Target Test Prep was the right GMAT prep partner for me. The comprehensive approach taken during our tutoring sessions along with the robust mix of lessons and practice questions enabled me to lift my score 100 points! The tutors at Target Test Prep are not only proficient instructors but also excellent coaches and supportive accountability partners. They were committed to my success on the exam, and I would strongly encourage anyone seeking to go beyond self-study to consider the team at Target Test Prep.
Joined: Aug 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 15, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

I owe my CBS degree to Jeff!

August 12, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 710

After working with Target Test Prep, I was able to score a 710 on the GMAT. TTP's innovative one-on-one web-based tutoring and online curriculum is by far the best way to prepare for the GMAT. I was able to meet with TTP tutors more often and focus more on the GMAT material. Unlike other tutors, who treat you like you're just a face in the crowd, my tutor really cared about my progress and kept my confidence up, even when I doubted my abilities. My tutor was extremely flexible and adapted the material to my unique strengths and weaknesses. We were able to efficiently hone in on the high-value GMAT material I needed to master. In between sessions I spent countless hours studying with the Target Test Prep GMAT quant course. This course allowed me to work on concepts I was not able to learn with my tutor and kept me on track to becoming a GMAT machine. Unlike other major test prep resources, it?s clear that TTP really spent the time and energy to create an amazing product.

All of my studying and hard work with TTP really paid off! I would recommend Target Test Prep to anyone who is preparing for the GMAT.
Joined: Aug 11, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 8, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Target Test Prep

August 11, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I had a great experience preparing for the GMAT with Target Test Prep. Their GMAT curriculum is first-class and my tutor was awesome. The structured lessons and test questions allowed me to pinpoint my weak points and focus on specific GMAT quant subjects in addition to refreshing other math topics in which I was weak. I was a bit hesitant at first about the one-on-one online private tutoring because my tutor and I were in different states, but the online lessons were awesome. The WebEx meetings were ultra-flexible and allowed me to fit them in around my busy schedule. I felt that my tutor was sitting in the room with me. I highly recommend Target Test Prep to anyone preparing for the GMAT; you will not be disappointed!
Joined: Aug 11, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 18, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Outstanding Math Review

August 11, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Target Test Prep clearly laid out lessons, helped me identify areas to focus on, and their custom designed tests helped me reinforce those lessons. I found the layout very intuitive and the prep absolutely helped me more than any other GMAT prep I tried.
Joined: Aug 11, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 29, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommended, Personalized, and Affordable

August 11, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 770

I have to say, I did tons of research trying to find the right GMAT tutor to help me get my score. I spoke to Jeffrey about the issues I was having on the quant section and he immediately diagnosed my problems and provided me with ways to fix them. Jeffrey and I spoke twice a week and I supplemented our discussions with in depth training through Target Test Prep's software. I felt that, unlike other GMAT prep software, Target Test Prep was geared towards questions and concepts that one would actually see on a test. Their accuracy in this aspect allowed me to focus on specific concepts that would reduce my time spent on questions and dramatically increase my quant score. I was testing in the 60% range before meeting with Jeffrey and saw my score go into the 80%. I highly recommend discussing your issues with him.
Joined: Mar 3, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 23, 2013
College: Texas A&M
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Transportation
Verified Real Student Review

Game Changer

August 11, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 640

Before Target Test Prep, I felt lost and hopeless, and that no amount of pratice was going to change my score. Target Test Prep gave me hope and personalized a curriculum that help me acheive the score I needed. Thanks Target Test Prep!
Joined: Aug 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 19, 2015
College: George Washington University
Major: International Relations
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Jumped from 690 to 730

August 10, 2015
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Highly recommend - enabled me to identify my weak content areas and drill them like crazy (with timed, progressively difficult problem sets) until I had them mastered.
Joined: Aug 9, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 20, 2014
College: George Washington University
Major: Economics
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to relearn the GMAT math you forgot from high school

August 9, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I should have been so lucky to have been taught math the first time in high school with as much clarity as Target Test Prep did for my GMAT. In my preparation for the test, I spent approximately 15 hours working with my wonderful Target Test Prep tutor, in addition to reading every chapter of the online material and doing nearly every practice problem.

The online Target Test Prep website clearly explained algebra/geometry/probability concepts in a way that eschewed teaching the reasoning behind how/why approaches work, instead rightfully focusing on the quickest way to solve a problem. This is a key differentiator than Target-s larger competitors and high school math teachers. (After all, when in business school would one ever really need to know *why* some triangles have similar angles to others?) Moreover, the humorous example and practice problems - usually involving pirates, karate, and/or dairy products - added some levity to the otherwise tedious process of studying for the GMAT math portion. Target was also kind enough to grant me access to their new slick mobile-friendly platform which was in beta at the time, allowing me to rip through practice sets on my iPad while on the train to work.
Most important to my success though was the time I spent with my tutor Jeff. Though we met remotely via Skype and GoToMeeting, the interactive whiteboard made it as easy as if he were sitting next to me. I really appreciated Jeff respected my time and money by quickly figuring out what subjects I most needed work on, and then focusing our tutoring time on those. What I most appreciated, however, is that Jeff never made me feel like an idiot when I didn-t understand something the first time he explained it or made a careless arithmetic error. Unlike when I studied for the LSAT with one of Target-s competitors several years ago, Jeff always respected my intelligence and encouraged me to solved problems in a different way than prescribed by the course material if it made more sense to me that way. Getting the problem right quickly was always more important than doing it the -Target way-.

Overall, I could not be happier with my Target Test Prep experience. Jeff and Target took me from the 660 I got on my first practice test to the 710 I ultimately scored on the real thing - high enough to be admitted to Oxford Business School! As such, it is no understatement to say that without Jeffrey Miller and Target Test Prep, I would not be about to fulfill my long-held dream of earning my MBA at one of the best programs on the planet.
Joined: Aug 7, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 14, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Instructor, Great Material

August 7, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 640

Jeff is top notch. Incredible instructor. Relates well with the client. Adapts to his/her needs. Jeff and the course helped me focus on my weaknesses. I improved my quant score. And I would recommend Jeff and this course to anyone who wants to reach their goal on the GMAT. And I would put Jeff above anyone else in the industry. Note I tried other competitors and I feel like Jeff and Target Test Prep are the best!!!
Joined: Jul 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 24, 2014
College: The Ohio State University
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Must Have for Perspective Business Students

August 6, 2015
  • Teacher: Scott Woodbury
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 490 After: 650

I was recommended Scott as a tutor by my friend that used him previously to prep for the GMAT. Initially, I did not listen and took a standardized course from one of the well known test prep companies. That resulted in a lot of wasted time and money. By the time I got to Scott, I had a limited amount of time to get my score where I needed it. Luckily he had the right resources and could clearly identify my personal missteps to give me quick feedback on how I can fix my common mistakes. In just a short period of time I raised my score by over 100 points just by working with Scott! I've recommended him to well over 10 of my friends and now we're going to the top business schools in the country. If you are serious about being a part of the Class of 2018, skip the standardized courses and work with the best resources and tutoring that is catered to you. It will save you a lot of time and money.
Joined: Jul 29, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2015
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best quant materials

July 29, 2015
  • Teacher: Scott and Jeff
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 670

The Target Test Prep materials are much more comprehensive and helpful than the Kaplan book I had originally bought. The team is dedicated to helping you succeed, and will build a study plan around your schedule and skill level. They see you through the entire process, and go out of their way to make themselves available for questions, extra sessions, etc. In addition, the website and interface of the materials is super accessible and makes it easy to hone in on problem areas.

Would recommend them to anyone!
Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 5, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT prep course

July 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 730

After working with Target Test Prep, I scored a 730 on the GMAT, which was almost a 130 point increase over my prior two GMAT attempts (I scored in the low 600's twice after self-studying). I would strongly recommend that anyone who is serious about getting a great score on the GMAT work with Target Test Prep. After months of self study followed by a 3 month course with one of the "elite," well-known companies, I found that while I could get certain types of problems right, my understanding of the various GMAT topics was not deep enough to earn a high score. However, after working with my instructor at Target Test Prep course I was really able to master the material and saw almost an instant increase in my score. Aside from the rapid improvement in my test scores, I found working with my math and verbal instructors to be a very rewarding experience. They undertook a systematic approach to first understand where my weaknesses lay and then to come up with a strategy to eliminate them. We worked together to build my knowledge base through the web-classes (which, by the way, I found much more effective than any in person course I have taken).

Their GMAT self study course was also the best that I have seen. I found their personalized teaching process and detailed solutions to be far superior to many other test prep courses that focus on guessing strategies. Their commitment to see me succeed helped me to develop more confidence in my test taking abilities and contributed to my improved performance. That fact that the GMAT practice questions were written by the instructors themselves really differentiated the learning process relative to other tutors I have worked with in the past. Not only were there almost 3,000 practice questions, but also the questions are designed to test concepts and not just limited to certain types of problems. On my GMAT test day I found myself able to extrapolate the concepts from my classes and apply them to test problems very easily. All in, not only do the instructors really understand the material but more importantly, they are fantastic teachers and I really wish I had learned about their services sooner!!
Joined: Jul 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 7, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Increased Score

July 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 600

Thanks to the help of Jeff and Target Test Prep's study materials, I was able to increase my score! They have a great tutoring program as well as fabulous online material to study on your own time. I was very impressed with the whole course and very satisfied with all that I got out of it.
Joined: Jun 28, 2013
Purchased Course: May 18, 2015
College: University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Most comparable to actual GMAT, period.

July 27, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 700

I reluctantly came into Target Test Prep after failing to reach my desired score on the GMAT for the second time. Previously undergoing other test materials and prep websites, I knew that I needed to get my quant up, but was frustrated in how other courses went about the material.

Target Test Prep changed that for me- it was a clean layout, easy to track and work through, and I indefinitely solidified my skills to take me to the next level.

The best part- learning the absolute fundamentals of every lesson, and then steadily applying variances in small, but understandable lessons. This was different from other courses in that it was a methodical progression that I understood, rather than a focus on some of the extreme variations that rarely actually make it on the test. And- it was the absolute closest question sets to the test itself, hands down.

For the folks that are looking to get down the basics- their layout is for you. For the folks that are looking to take the next step and get in the Q47-51 range, this is also for you. Their layout is great for both getting down every aspect of how to solve anything thrown at you, while also figuring out the difference in the difficulty levels of a particular question type, which changed the game for me.

I chose to simply do the self-paced study- no tutoring involved- and still felt adequately confident headed into test day. Everything jumped for me taking through the test, but probably the biggest jump was in the confidence itself.

Cheers to beating this thing.
Joined: Jul 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 17, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended GMAT program

July 26, 2015
  • Teacher: Jeff Miller
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 460 After: 520

This program is a great tool to help you improve your GMAT quant score. It was very helpful and easy to use. It provides you with chapters to read, chapter tests, customized tests, and tons of review questions. With the help of the software and tutoring sessions with Jeff Miller, I was able to get the score I needed. He showed me techniques that no GMAT book or other website ever mentioned and I was able to answer questions that I would blindly guess on before. What I liked most about working with Jeff and the Target Test Prep program was everything was customized to fit your personal needs. You can customize practice tests to include questions you need to focus on rather than wasting time doing questions you know how to do. I strongly recommend using this program to prepare for the GMAT.
Joined: Nov 23, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 24, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent practice problems and even better customer service

July 24, 2015
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 730

I took the GMAT about 75 days ago and scored 690 with a 44 in quant. I was not pleased with my score and ended up reading about target test prep on the forums at BTG. I purchased their monthly flexible study plan, simply so I could practice more quant problems.

The curriculum is very well designed. There are practice tests organized into three difficulties. This allowed me to take a practice test, see how I did and how I felt with the material and then decide if I needed to review the curriculum or move on to a more diffficult level. The 'hard' difficulty level is definitely harder than what I saw on the real GMAT, which is great practice.

I had already studied pretty extensively, so I was more interested in practicing different/more types of problems before my retake. There is a tremendous amount of practice problems to go through if that is what you're looking for.

I also did a couple of lessons and was more than impressed with how they presented the material. They also had practice problems to try immediately after they presented material so you could practice the concepts right after studying them, something I find extremely helpful.

I took the gmat after about 3 weeks of using the program and scored a 730, with a significant improvement in my quant score.

On a different note, I had an issue with billing that had the potential to be frustrating and I received a personal phone call from Scott personally ~4.5 minutes after I submitted my feedback to the website. It was truly amazing customer service. He was incredibly nice and is 100% focused on getting the best product to people.

I strongly recommend target test prep for anyone looking to improve their quant score. It made a huge difference with just 3 weeks of using the program.

Cheers and good luck!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 8 9 10 11 12 13