• Target Test Prep 20% Off Flash Sale is on! Code: FLASH20

    Redeem

GMAT Focus Course Best Promo Code 2024 & Verified Reviews!

Come learn with e-GMAT where every instructor is top rated, full-time, and dedicated to your success.

Joined: May 29, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 29, 2015
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT Verbal, the best course out there!

May 29, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

e-GMAT verbal Online course is one of the best course I have come across. The Verbal online course is very well-structured and approach used for each section is highly effective. Every topic has a pre-assessment quiz to gauge the existing level of understanding and a post-assessment quiz to evaluate how well the student has understood the topic.

For Sentence correction, the emphasis is on meaning.Every concept is explained really well with examples. With e-gmat approach to SC, I can now solve each SC question within 1 minute, without further guessing the correct answer.

For Critical Reasoning, the pre-thinking approach is really good. It trains your mind and helps you cross-out the wrong answer options immediately.

In RC, emphasis is on understanding the structure of the passage. Logical structure of the passage,along with pre-thinking approach helps to evaluate the right answer choice.

I am extremely confident of tackling GMAT Verbal questions all thanks to this course. Worth every penny!
Joined: Aug 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 26, 2015
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Improve with e-GMAT. A must have!!

May 28, 2016
  • Teacher: Payal Tandon
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: N/A

After two failed attempts and various prep courses for my GMAT exam I realised I need help, that?s when I decided that I would only go with the e-GMAT course for my next and final attempt.
e-GMAT Verbal for non-natives is one of the most reviewed courses for a reason, it actually is the best.
Why?
The e-GMAT course is really well structured and the methodology used is highly effective. It covers all the concepts that are important from the GMAT perspective and the ability quizzes are the best as they help you in tracking your progress in each section.

The Verbal live prep is excellent as it covers all the basics in detail and the flow of the course is very clear and to the point (learned it the hard way after ignoring details earlier). I have been following the schedule to the T now and the gains are significant. Pre-thinking method for CR and RC is great, it is time consuming in the beginning but as you practice and stick to the process the time reduces and you can see the results.

The e-GMATs Quant Live prep is the dark horse here you?ve got so many reviews about the verbal live prep that this overshadows the Quant prep course. But it is a very well structured course (my scores have improved in mocks from 44 to 49).

e-GMAT?s instructors are very good and helpful and the normal response time for all the queries is 24-48 hrs. Overall it is an excellent course and I hope that this time I?ll be able to get my desired score and update you all about my success story.
Joined: May 24, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 20, 2015
College: VNR VJIET, Hyderabad
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Sure shot verbal improvement with eGMAT

May 27, 2016
  • Teacher: Payal
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 700

Being a non-native exam taker, verbal was my biggest pain area. I was always confused between seemingly right answers and grammatically right answers. This is where the eGMAT course really helped me to understand the fine nuances of spotting grammatical mistakes.

I have taken the CAT MBA entrance exam in India earlier and scored a 99%tile on the same. I interacted with few others preparing for GMAT exam and the general feedback was that if you have taken CAT then GMAT should be a walk in the park. With this overconfidence I took the exam without delving too much into the test patterns, type of questions etc.

To my shock, i scored 670 which was below a target score of 700 and above. I came back home straight after the exam and enrolled for a full course with eGMAT verbal online.

The course can seem a little slow but it packs in lots of examples, application files, quizzes and OG questions to strengthen your understanding of verbal concepts step by step.

With some dedicated preparation on the verbal part i retook the exam three months after my first experience and was able to score 700. The 30 points improvement was in Verbal with my Quant scores remaining the same between the 2 attempts.

I would definitely recommend eGMAT to any non native test taker who is looking for big improvements in their Verbal scores.
Joined: May 25, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2, 2015
College: Chulalongkorn University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: Thailand
Verified Real Student Review

Best verbal course for non-native!

May 25, 2016
  • Teacher: Rajat Sadana
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 640

I'm a non-native who used to be quite confident about my English skills. I got a TOEFL of 113/120.
Math has always been my worst nightmare, but I had no idea verbal part could be so traumatizing.
GMAT verbal was nothing like what I thought it would be.

I've finished all the questions in the Official Guide and Verbal Review...twice.
I took a GMAT course that cost around 1,000 USD.
Hired a native private tutor that cost around 100 USD/hr.
Still nothing really worked.
I still couldn't improve my verbal score that much.

Then my friend introduced to E-GMAT. My first thought was that it was a lot cheaper that all the courses I've attended. I've done no research on the reviews about the course whatsoever, but decided to try it anyway.

I've found that the course structure and interface were so easy to navigate.
Each VDO clip is short, yet informative. And they are structured in a way that makes your learning curve about each topic improve very quickly.
(You have to take a quiz at the end of each clip before you can move on to other sections. The quiz helped to improve my application of each of the concept a lot.)

E-GMAT focuses more on training your brain to be more used to GMAT kind of logic, which to me, is the most important of all.
The pre-thinking approach they've introduced was very useful. It helped improve the time I spend/que. a lot.
The scholaranium part was the best part. It will help you keep track of your progress so you can strengthen one part at a time.
The course helped improved 5 points for my verbal part for my last GMAT. And I'l still be using it to improve my score further more.

I would highly recommend this online course to anyone taking the GMAT to give this a try.
Joined: May 11, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 1, 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Literally the BEST Verbal Course available.

May 23, 2016
  • Teacher: Payal and Rajat
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 500 After: N/A

Let me start off by saying that I'am NOT a non native speaking student and I still found this course extremely helpful. Over the course of 2 years I have used both Veritas and Manhattan GMAT and I must say that EGMAT provides the best Verbal material by far. To relay some of the benefits, I'll split my review across the 3 GMAT Verbal categories.

Sentence Correction:
I have nothing negative to say about the Sentence Correction material. I have taken several other courses and none of them have provided memorable lessons and strategies than EGMAT. It truly differs

Critical Reasoning:
Now for the CR section, I liked the strategies provided for Bold Face, and Assumption type questions but the approaches for the other question types weren't as easily applicable.

Reading Comprehension
I unfortunately did not find this course very useful, the strategies geared toward finding the purpose of the passages were somewhat helpful but overall the suggested strategies just took too long to implement and were not efficient enough to realistically apply during the test.

Scholaranium is by far EGMAT's best offering. The capability to practice certain question types under each category really allows you to hone in and sharpen specific skills. For example the SC question category contained subsections such as Modifiers, Pronouns, Comparsions, Parallellism, etc. in which you can practice questions that spoke to those areas. This is key to understanding the nuances between each question type and developing the skill to quickly spot the errors. A much more effective learning experience versus running through random SC questions in the official guide.

It is just so useful for those who need the extra organization for efficient studying.


If I had to compare Scholaranium to a specific platform, it would be Khan Academy. So if you enjoy that type of learning style then you'll love Scholaranium. I also feel like a lot of people underestimate the value of the Q&A/comments section offered with each question. This tremendously expands your understanding of not only the approach taken and errors made after you answer a question but also what the fellow members think about EGMAT's process and answer explanations. This experience is almost similar to what you get when researching questions on BEATtheGMAT or GMAT Club.

Overall an great product, I'm taking my GMAT for the third time in June and I have already seen a significant increase in my my practice test scores.
Joined: Jun 28, 2013
Purchased Course: May 7, 2015
College: Poona University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You ought to have it!

May 23, 2016
  • Teacher: Rajat Sadana
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 640

If you are a non-native and dream to be in the Elite club of 700+ GMAT you are certainly Hands down in the right place.

Let me give you a brief background on my profile before I move on with my story. I am a non-native working full-time as an Design Engineer at one of the fortune 500 companies in the Bay area. With the market going side ways in the technical domain and the stress of carving a successful career moving on required me to have some new and different skills added to my profile in order to attain my career goals, I decided to go for my MBA. As we all know GMAT is the 1st step in the process for doing so. Highly motivated and with an aim to beat the GMAT, I started my Gmat journey with just official sources. I booked the date and started preparing with the OG. Being a Math fanatic I was feeling OK with Maths and that's what reflected on my real GMAT as well where I got a 49 with less than a week of review of Maths just from OG (If Aiming 700+, I personally feel we should target 50/51). I did a lot of mistakes in my plan of action when I wrote the test for the very 1st time in April 2013. I knew from the get go that Verbal is my problem and what I did was I tried too hard and didn't followed a well laid out plan to attack my weakest link. After 3 weeks into the preparation I came across e-gmat on the GMATCLUB and I signed up for their free trial and I was very upset that why I didn't signed up for such a great tool from DAY 1. I will put the details of the course in the later paragraphs but let me tell you this course is the key in your GMAT preparation along with a disciplined schedule.
I reviewed the SC in the 3 weeks I had and some portion of CR and RC and wrote the test. I got a 640, which I know is not something that one should be proud of. But I can totally say that in such a small time and with just 1 thorough review of SC from their curriculum boosted my score to 50 points as in my mocks I was on the borderline for 600. So e-gmat definitely helped.

After my 1st GMAT attempt I was certainly disappointed and wanted to score better but life had something else planned for me. I was forced to relocate at a different location with more responsibilities added to my profile at work. So GMAT took a backseat. I tried to prepare on an ON/OFF basis but never took it very seriously. As I work in such an environment where we work based off deadlines, I decided to book a date for my 2nd attempt end of June 2016 and get back on with my preparation with a timeline and a plan to get a score of 730+.

I did tried other companies but by far e-gmat is hands down the best. E-gmat language is simple and easy to understand and retain. I recently reviewed some concepts from another company and believe me I was able to retain what I reviewed in 2013 regarding the same concepts and not the ones that I reviewed less than a week ago. So I have decided to get back with e-gmat and just the official guides and That's it!

With 6 weeks to GMAT and this plan I believe I will be able to attain the dream score I want.

Why e-gmat is the Best?

1- SC is well laid out. they have a method that you need to hard wire to your brain. just as with formulas in Maths, it should come natural with an SC question that you need to understand the meaning of sentence - identify pharses/clauses review errors and the follow the Process of Elimination. It's hard in the beginning to force yourself follow the process but it works. mastery is the Key to success. The explanations of every single OG question is detailed and help students see clearly why each answer choice is right or wrong. If you think 2 answers are very close and can both be correct, e-gmat would show you why one of them is *obviously* the wrong choice. For e-gmat, there is NO guessing involved.

2 - CR and RC courses are great. I think CR defines the different buckets of questions and helps you understand every question type and the plan of attack for the same. As I didn't had much time to spent with e-gmat during my first GMAT preparation in 2013, I did took a couple of things from both CR and RC that helped me get a better understanding of different CR and RC question. Most important one being PRE-THINKING! I really look forward to work with CR/RC thoroughly in the next attempt.

3-Quant - I didn't opted for the course but I did used the trial version and it looks very thorough. Again Practice, Practice and more Practice!

4- Overall layout/customer Service - I like the way the is course set up with the concepts, quizzes, lectures, apply to GMAT questions, and OG questions list. It prepares you mentally and force to bring a certain habit in practice. GMAT is a test of consistency. when you are running out of time which you will then you don't want to experiment with a new way to answer question. its good to have a strategy to deal with questions when you don't have time which you will master through diligent practice and discipline.

E-gmat customer service is killer! I never waited more than 24 hours to have my questions answered. They are out there trying to help you attain your goal and they know how important it is in such a time sensitive game.

I will definitely recommend every GMAT aspirant to sign up for e-gmat and really put your best effort in your preparation. Everything is planned for you all you have to do is just follow what's there in their curriculum and study plans and you will definitely Succeed!
Joined: Apr 18, 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 5, 2016
College: R.V. College of Engineering
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Education
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT Verbal is a Game Changer

May 21, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 750

I first attempted the GMAT in 2012 and scored a 680 (Quant:49, Verbal: 34). After 4 years of sitting on that score, I decided to retake the GMAT and my target score was 750. To achieve this score, I knew I had to significantly improve my performance on the verbal section. Before I joined a paid prep-course, I wanted to spend sometime preparing on my own and seeing how it goes.After 2 weeks of flying solo, I realized my efforts lack direction and it is better to join a properly structured course. Classroom courses make sense to a lot of people, although in my experience they are only as good as the instructor taking your class. As I am living in a small town, I knew that the trainers available even at the renowned chain test-prep companies would not be too good. At this point I was fairly certain that I need to enroll myself in an online prep course. After a lot of apprehensions, I decided to give e-GMAT a try.
It was the best decision I made in my test prep. Let me just say that e-GMAT has decoded the mystery that GMAT verbal is for most non-natives. If you do their Sentence Correction module properly, you are set. I have become such a big fan of e-GMAT that I recommend the course to every aspirant I know. Though there is no magic pill to ace the GMAT, you can ensure the best possible returns from your effort if you take this course.
I reached my target score of 750 in a little over 2 months .
Joined: Nov 17, 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 11, 2016
College: Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Major: Construction Technology
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

E-GMAT Verbal online - One stop place to bank upon for all Verbal needs.

May 18, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Ever since, I made my mind to start with the GMAT preparation, I scouted every nook and corner for the best prep material available in the market. As any typical Individual, I have started preparing from the books. I found studying from books is not effective after taxing day at the office. I need different means /way to attack GMAT.
As my search process was on, I landed up at E-GMAT. The courseware is very effective as it has quiz attached to every lesson which helps in identifying the weak areas. It's very structured in terms of breadth and depth of course coverage.
Pros:
1) The content structure and the audio visual interface are also designed to make the learning easier.
2) Modifiers in SC and the prethinking concept in CR are very helpful in getting your core skills right.
I would surely recommend this course to anyone looking for improving their Verbal score.
Joined: Mar 11, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 15, 2015
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT course for Verbal

May 18, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: N/A

e-GMAT verbal online course is one of the best course I have come across. The Verbal online course is very well-structured and approach used for each section is highly effective. It is a single course that covers every concept that is important from the GMAT perspective. After each concept, there is a respective application quiz for practice.

For Sentence correction, the emphasis is on meaning.Every concept is explained really well with examples. With e-gmat approach to SC, I can now solve each SC question within 1 minute, without further guessing the correct answer.

For Critical Reasoning, the pre-thinking approach is really good. It trains your mind and helps you cross-out the wrong answer options immediately.

In RC, emphasis is on understanding the structure of the passage. Logical structure of the passage,along with pre-thinking approach helps to evaluate the right answer choice.

Best part of the course is the Scholaranium. It offers a very good practice and helps you track the progress in each section.

I would really recommend this course to someone who has exhausted all the available resources and is still struggling hard to improve on the verbal score. Even after going through the theory available at various sources, I was missing on the application part. The e-gmat step by step approach helped me to build the concept, and effectively apply it to questions. With help of e-GMAT, i could push my verbal score from 23 to 35+.
Joined: May 15, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 10, 2015
College: NIT Jaipur
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

When I got rid of the GMAT tag from my electronics!

May 17, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

From the time I was introduced to the binary number system, my thought processes have been binary. Not less, not more, but rather 1/0. Likewise for me, GMAT was simply above 700 and below 700. And this is the story about how I moved from latter to the former.
I belong to the common pool of candidate (Indian-IT-male-engineer), which I can vouch is one of the most competitive across the globe. I started my GMAT prep without any particular B-school target,but a score target.
I failed miserably (read this below expectation) in my first attempt with a below 700 score. However, being optimistic and confident, came back strong with the motivation to achieve the target score. After spending 2 weeks in trying some Bengaluru based coaching classes, getting feedbacks and looking for online reviews, I decided to go for the Verbal course from e-GMAT.
I wanted this to be final attempt and didn't want to rush in with a date. My start with the program was good. The sentence correction part not only improved my understanding but improved my basic concepts. As an exercise, I went back and reopened all my work emails and skimmed through all the errors I had made. I was learning and improving with each email I was writing.
Once SC was my strength, I moved on to CR and RC. I dealt with these topics simultaneously in order to hash out the monotonicity. While the CR was good at some places, RC was not helping my case. I realised that my basic instincts and problem-solving techniques of RC , though somewhat similar to e-GMAT instructions, were sufficient to solve the RC problems.
With the scoloranium support, I was able to pinpoint my problem and strength areas. I am not saying anything different here, but scoloranium is the game changer. It is a basic rule of life, finding the problem is a bigger challenge than improving on the problem especially with concepts. I had really good results and really bad results with various attempts, but I could predict my outcome.
After solving the problems rigorously , I happened to re-attend Rajat's strategy seminar. This time, I could connect to the stuff he was mentioning and just after viewing the session gave a mock. The result clearly stated that strategy is a key player in the GMAT score outcome.
I didn't do anything special on the d-day. I went in with the feeling that I have to give my best and there will be no GMAT preparation material in my routine after this day. As simple as I can state, the strategy worked and I scored a 720.
Moreover, the e-GMAT learning has made me and avid grammar enthusiast. I read grammar specific feeds, try to correct people when using wrong grammar and review my emails like never before.
GMAT score might arguably be my achievement but I am thankful to e-GMAT team for inculcating me the awesome habit.
Cheers
Shailendra
Joined: Apr 25, 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 15, 2015
College: PESIT
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course for non-native speakers

May 17, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: N/A

E-Gmat's Verbal live prep was quiet helpful for me. Basics were covered well and the flow of course was very clear and to-the-point. Helped me a lot in improving my verbal skills.
Joined: Mar 25, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 25, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT

May 16, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

As an engineer, I was quite confident about quant. But, later realised that it isn?t that simple.
e-GMAT provided a complete refresher of all the concepts along with the various different types of examples

I would definitely recommend e-GMAT's to everyone
Joined: Mar 25, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 23, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Easy to understand and practical

May 16, 2016
  • Teacher: Shraddha
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

e-GMAT's Verbal definitely the best verbal prep course I've taken. The analytical approach to verbal questions. e-GMAT's 3 step process is a must, and the videos sessions make it easier for you to learn and remember the concepts. It provides the complete coverage of questions.

The forum is also very useful, any questions are answered within a day and the explanation is very clear and easy to understand

For those of you who are weak in verbal, e-GMAT provides a logical approach which is easy to understand and remember.

I would definitely recommend e-GMAT's course to anyone who wants to ace GMAT verbal
Joined: Oct 13, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 24, 2015
College: CIT
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Very organized content for ease of learning

May 16, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The E-gmat course content is very solid and organized to assist ease of learning. I personally found SC very helpful in this context. The course did have a profound effect in my ability to quickly spot SC errors and finalize an answer.
The practice problems in verbal and OG video explanation for verbal section was indeed an assest.
The key behind the ease of use and score improvement is e-gmat strategies, which were extremely useful.
Thanks.
Joined: May 15, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 18, 2016
College: NIT Durgapur
Major: Computer Science
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

eGMAT- The Best course for GMAT Verbal preparation

May 16, 2016
  • Teacher: Rajat Sadana
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 720

1) Great quality content: The team has created online video courses for each and every important section thats important from GMAT prep perspective with very nice illustrations and top quality examples.
2) Online test platform : eGMAT provides its users with a tool called scholarium which is a very powerful platform to analyse ones performance/progress after one completes certain topics. Additionally it lets you set the topics you would specifically like to be tested on with attributes such as time, sub section, etc. Highly effective in my case. I used it exte nsively by filtering questions based on the topics I wasn't good at and started tracking my progress.
3) Expert's help: Whenever you are in doubt, you could write to them and you can expect a reply in just 2-3 days with concept clearing answers.
4) SC : The team provides a secret sauce particularly in this section. Honestly I started enjoying solving SC questions. I reached a very high accuracy rate for SC questions.
5) Study plan : The eGMAT team also provides its users with a study plan. This is also very effective as it defines your goals for the course of your preparation.
6) Very economical : The verbal online course is priced at a very reasonable rate compared to products offered by eGMAT's competitors.
Joined: Jan 19, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 15, 2015
College: NIT Trichy
Major: Engineering
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufacturing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Great Verbal Concept builder-Egmat-SC in particular

May 13, 2016
  • Teacher: Payal Tandon
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 650

Review text: I would strongly recommend the Egmat Verbal Live Prep for Sentence Correction. The course covers all concepts required for SC very clearly. It also does good justice to the CR and RC concepts that will be tested on the GMAT. After completing the course, I would recommend that you develop a strategy that really works best for you to solve questions right in time( e.g. the way you read and work logically towards a solution may be unique and trying to adapt too much to some other way may reduce your speed and accuracy--I have found this to be true irrespective of the test prep company in the picture) . You will need to practice doing the questions quickly and naturally on your own after the concept building part from egmat. The verbal scholaranium is a powerful tool to identify your current ability in SC, CR and RC--use the tool effectively once you are done with timing and accuracy preparation.I found egmat quant live prep really effective as well. The people at egmat are very helpful and provide free extension services if your situation is genuine. I found both quant and verbal e-gmat live prep materials very useful!
Joined: May 11, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 13, 2016
College: Lady Shri Ram College for Women
Major: Statistics and Actuarial Science
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

RC can make or break your GMAT [V34-V41 thanks to e-GMAT]

May 11, 2016
  • Teacher: Shraddha
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 750

I had given my GMAT more than a year ago (710- V34, Q50) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dread RCs. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong, and CR and SC were average, RCs just didn't come to me naturally. And no, this does not mean that I'm weak at English in general. Infact, I'm among the most annoying grammar nazis that you may across. But each time I would come across an RC in the middle of my mocks, I would feel low and lose time and thereby end up rushing through my SC and CR questions as well.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot him enough for having done that. After a year long break, I felt the need to go over SC and CR concepts as well and the videos provided by e-GMAT made them a whole lot of fun. I would stay up till late night, watching the videos, almost like I'd be watching a sitcom. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. This tip helped me a lot and I would really recommend it to you all as well. I made my notes nice and colourful and added screenshots and links to them. Going over them later seemed fun because of all the colours I had added. (let me know if you want me to share them with you!)

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. The one strategy that worked wonders for me was "to get immersed". I would literally tell myself at the beginning of each passage that "Oh! this sounds interesting, lets read what happens next!" I even used the note making approach during RCs quite regularly and was thereby able to get ALL my main point and structure questions right. These strategies seem very time consuming in the beginning, but within no time, you start to internalise them.

The other thing that I absolutely loved about the VLP was the scholaranium. Since I knew that RC was my weak point, I had decided to do atleast 4 passages every day, along with 20 SCs and 20 CRs. I used to create a lot of RC Ability quizzes and while I started with a 43% accuracy (with no time left to answer the last one), by the end I had 96% accuracy which was a great achievement for me. Infact, the day before my GMAT, when I sat down to give my RC ability test, I felt I was able to breeze through it easily. I wasn't spending to much time reading and even the answers were coming to me naturally.
When I submitted the test, I saw my score report in which I had just one (Hard) question wrong out of a total of 4 RC passages. This was my biggest confidence booster and I was sure that my GMAT would go well this time, which it did!

Infact, I finished by Quant section 18 minutes in advance and my Verbal section 15 minutes in advance and landed up with a V41, Q50 and a total of 750. I was literally shivering while answering my last few Verbal questions because the difficulty level had gone up which also meant my score was going up.

I wouldn't say that a V41 is a kickass score, but for someone like me who dreaded RCs to such a large extent, it was definitely an accomplishment, specially since I was now able to answer the questions so much faster.

Thank you e-GMAT once again and thanks to all those who read my review till the very end. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me, who may have totally given up on RC.

All the best to you all !!
Joined: May 12, 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 12, 2015
College: BITS Pilani India
Major: Chemical Engineering
Country: Korea, Republic of
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT Verbal Course Indeed !

May 11, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am a GMAT retaker and would like to highlight the improvement egmat Verbal Online course has brought. The course content is very well structured . The concepts especially for SC are explained in a highly effective manner. No further guessing or memorising is required.

The eGMAT three step process for SC and CR initially appears to be quite slow and time consuming but it actually trains the mind to choose the right track. Kudos to the Prethinking strategy in CR.

I highly recommend e-GMAT Verbal Online course and can declare that this is the best programme available online for anyone aiming at improving Verbal accuracy to as high as 99%.
Joined: May 11, 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 8, 2015
College: Panjab university
Major: Chemical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Egmat verbal is excellent!

May 11, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Exceptionally happy with it!
The verbal is rather good. I promise you, you can't find a better SC course anywhere else. My improvement in SC accuracy was through the roof! also the CR and RC sections give you approaches to solve every question type a certain way. The best thing is that there are not hacks or dumb tricks to identify the correct choice like in other courses I have glanced at (trust me, every word you have been told can never be part of the correct answer, CAN be!!! I have seen it myself on the gmat and gmat prep)
The best part is the scholaranium. I especially like the ability quiz and custom quiz section. Helps to work on specific weak areas. And the variety of questions is unparalleled. I don't think there is a better quant question bank in any where else.
All in all, one month of prep and I got a decent score - 720. All thanks to egmat :)
Joined: Aug 22, 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 8, 2015
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Physics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Taiwan
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT rocks!

May 10, 2016
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am a huge fan of the teaching philosophy at e-GMAT. Instead of teaching you "tricks" that may or may not work, e-GMAT gives you a thorough grounding in the key grammatical rules and concepts tested on the GMAT examination, and saves you the countless hours that would otherwise be spent futilely browsing through archaic texts on grammar. In particular, the explanations on verb+ed and verb+ing modifiers are the best I have found anywhere on the web, Manhattan GMAT's forum included. I wholeheartedly recommend e-GMAT! The primary cons are that the videos could have been created more professionally (although I am probably nitpicking by using the high standards I have come to expect from Lynda.com) and that it is sometimes hard to understand the thick Indian accent (for the record, I went to college in the U.S.). In any case, these are minor flaws that should not detract from an otherwise superb learning experience!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 40 41 42 43 44 45 54 55 56 57 58