Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: May 24, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2015
College: Florida State University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is the best value on the market.

May 24, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 710

First I spend $800 for a prep course at a local university here in town and I scored 550. That wasn't going to cut it for the type of schools I wanted to attend. A good friend turned me on to Magoosh and it was the greatest gift he could have given me. First - I loved the $99 price tag. Im sure there are other good prep courses out there but I didn't feel comfortable forking out 1500 of my after tax dollar for a test. Magoosh is great because it allowed me to take as many practice test as my schedule could handle, I could customize to build up my weak areas, and they're a little bit harder than the real thing so test day was a breeze. In fact, when my actual test ended, I felt like I could keep going. Also video lessons allowed me to keep fresh on slow days at work. Overall, the Magoosh format was the best way for me to learn.
Joined: May 21, 2015
Purchased Course: May 9, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is THE BEST

May 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 680

For those who are into self prep rather than going for classroom coaching...Magoosh is the write place...My verbal was terrible... Magoosh helped me to overcome that problem..I wish that i could have bought the Magoosh prep much earlier..If I had done that i am sure would have got much better score(It was more of a last minute preparation and was unable to look much into much of Magoosh math) .

Best factors:

*Magoosh interface(the website platform) is quite user friendly and visually appealing ...

*Has a large question bank which covers the important concepts in GMAT

*Each question has an explanatory video( i was quite impressed with that) plus links to videos covering topics related to the question.

* It has a really good faculty who are friendly and always there to clear your doubts..(Which i feel is the most important factor in such courses)

*Magoosh makes GMAT prep fun :D
Joined: May 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 6, 2015
College: Wayne State University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Taught Me How to Improve My Quant Score

May 18, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 620

The Magoosh Quant + IR preparation tools were so easy to use and understand. The online availability allowed me to study anywhere while frequently travelling without needing to haul study books and prep materials with me everywhere I went. This convenience was crucial in motivating me to regularly study. The video lessons were short but detailed and engaged me to learn the material in a more thorough way than I had been in just using prep books. My lessons page even kept track of lessons I had already viewed and ones that I had not, so I never had to guess what I had looked at already. It was also extremely useful to have the "Custom Practice" section where I could customize the number of practice questions I wanted in a session, with a defined difficulty level, time limits, and focused areas of study. This was all much easier than doing it manually using the study books. I definitely saw improvement in my Quant score and of my overall grasp of the math concepts by using Magoosh and I highly recommend it to everyone looking for an affordable, convenient, and thorough means with which to prepare for the GMAT.
Joined: May 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 7, 2015
College: Amherst College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful Prep Tools

May 18, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 720

Magoosh does a great job breaking down all of the different areas of study. Being able to make custom practice sets that focused on specific areas and were timed was most helpful. I also liked that you can flag questions in the practice sets, so you know to review them later even if you happened to get the answer right by guessing.

Each practice question has a link to its relevant video tutorials in the answer section. This helped me go back and review the fundamental concepts when I didn't understand a questions.

Overall Magoosh is a great product and well worth the price.
Joined: May 13, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Two thumbs up

May 13, 2015
  • Teacher: Chris Lele
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I was a Magoosh member right from its inception. Didn't pay for any course until I decided I had to take my GMAT in May, 2015. And I'm glad I did. The premium course itself is very affordable and good value for money. What I liked best was the custom test practice mode. You could set yourself a fixed amount of time for a fixed amount of questions. For a beginner, that's very helpful, as GMAT is all about time management. Every question has an answer with easy explanations; answers in both video and text format. And every practice question has a 'related lessons' section which you can refer to if one's in doubt. What's not to like in that?

The whole Magoosh team is extremely helpful and they always give prompt replies to any query. All in all, a great site to help you prepare for the GMAT. I fully recommend.
Joined: Jul 2, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 26, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Best Self-Study Program

May 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Magoosh is a great program. I love how each practice problem has its own video explanation. Manhattan and Kaplan do not offer such feature. The 'custom' practice section is second to none, this was definitely a selling point for me. While you can do timed sets with the official guides, it is not the same when you have to do them in front a computer. This was definitely a selling point for me - timing is very important on the GMAT and you have to practice at it every time you can, not just with CATs. Did I mention how affordable it is? The quality and quantity of the program rival that of Manhattan GMAT and Kaplan, so it is definitely a smart investment in your GMAT prep.
Joined: May 3, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 3, 2014
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Product to Improve in Quant; Recommend Other Sources for Verbal

May 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Magoosh's strength is a comprehensive Quant video set. Furthermore, explanations for each Math problem are well done - often the easiest solution in under 2 minutes.

The verbal videos will give you advice such as, "read the NY times", that will lead to improvement, assuming you follow the advice. SC videos are comparable to reviewing MGMAT's famous SC guide and are stronger than RC and CR videos (newer videos, which I have not viewed, may have improved in these two areas?).

If you are struggling with CR or RC, ditch Magoosh and go for Powerscore's Critical Reasoning Bible. It is worth every penny (just the first five chapters alone tremendously improved my CR and RC scores).

Overall: Five stars for value - cannot be beaten if you're willing to self study and not spend a thousand dollars for GMAT classes.
Joined: Oct 8, 2013
Purchased Course: Jun 23, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Study Resource!

April 27, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

The quality of the website is outstanding and truly prepares students for both Quant and Verbal -- makes a huge difference!
Joined: Jul 31, 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 30, 2014
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh to improve Quant

April 16, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 720

Hello, I did purchase the premium version of Magoosh. But I only used it for quants prep. I had taken GMAT before as well but I was stuck at Q49. Being someone from a engineering background I mostly needed and the basic requirement was that of a video course. Also I didn\'t want to shell out mega bucks so I decided to go for Magoosh. It was really a good experience. The level of difficulty can be adjusted. Lucid explanation to some of the tough concepts really helped. I think Magoosh was really helpful to increase my score from Q49 to Q50. I didn\'t use their verbal section.
Joined: Apr 13, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 24, 2014
College: University of Nevada Las Vegas
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped TREMENDOUSLY

April 13, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 620

I first heard of the Magoosh program through other reviews I read on this site a month ago. I was late into the MBA and GMAT game when I decided that I wanted to apply for high ranked business school programs in their final rounds for admissions. I have an undergraduate and masters degree in Kinesiology and have not taken math since my sophomore year of college, so needless to say the quant section I knew would give me problems. In a 3 week crash course of me remembering NOTHING of my previous studies in math Magoosh helped me to recall all the major concepts that were tested, and had I more time to prepare with the program I know I would have mastered rather than just recalled the math concepts tested on the exam. I also learned many valuable verbal tactics that helped me to maximize my strengths in that portion of the exam. My math score was at a 39 and verbal at 36 and I have no doubt should I decide to take the GMAT again after a couple more months of prep with Magoosh, I could easily have a quant score in the mid to upper 40s and a verbal in the low 40s getting me the much coveted 700+ scores.
Joined: Apr 13, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 13, 2014
College: Dartmouth College
Major: English
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Online Videos Are a Great Self-Study Tool

April 13, 2015
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I signed up for Magoosh upon the recommendation of a friend who had recently taken the GMAT. Since I was self-studying, Magoosh's short video platform was the most effective/efficient way for me to re-build a base of math knowledge and then target weaknesses. I really loved the fact that you could speed up videos to skip through certain parts. My only suggestion for improvement there would be to have the same function available on the app version (I used the Android app).

Content-wise Magoosh is great. Every module is well-organized and self-contained, which gives you flexibility in your approach. If you want to tackle Probability questions before Geometry, you're more than welcome to. Though I would generally recommend reviewing fundamental number properties and algebraic skills as these will be incorporated into all topic areas.

I didn't use it much for verbal as my study focus was quant-heavy, though the idioms ebook is a fantastic summary of the most common idioms that will appear in the sentence correction questions.

While I didn't study the IR section that much, the practice questions on Magoosh are not set up the best way. You can't re-order tables by column as you can in the actual test. I mostly relied on the IR practice questions available on the GMAC practice test software and focused quant/critical reasoning review to brush up on skills needed for this section.

Overall: if you plan to self-study or need a supplement to your other course materials, Magoosh offers a great platform to customize your learning experience. You have the freedom to utilize the resources on their site in any way you want, which is a huge plus if you don't want to drop hundreds of dollars on a structured course.
Joined: Apr 9, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 8, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

great way to study for GMAT

April 9, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I had only two months to study for GMAT and I didn't want to spend too much money on the books/couses. I also knew that studying with books alone won't work for me because I'd have a harder time concentrating. I chose Magoosh on these criteria. I first tried their 1-week free trial and saw some of the video lessons and liked them, so I bought the $99 package for verbal+quant, which is considerably cheaper than many other popular prep courses. I also bought the Official Guide from GMAC. Magoosh has an adequate number of questions for both verbal and quant, and video lessons for each different topic and for each and every question really helped. Also, they have a great wealth of information on their blog, too. I wish I had more time to browse through their blog... They also give you several study plans that you can choose from. I decided to follow the 1-month study plan, which required me to spend 4-5 hours each day on studying. Because of travel, etc, I actually finished the study plan in about 6-7 weeks. By the time I finished the study plan, I had solved almost all problems in the Official Guide and nearly all Magoosh problems in Quant. For verbal there were about 100 questions left unsolved. However my weakenss was quant, so I did spend more time studying math than verbal. After I was done with the study plan, I went on to Kaplan (on a promotion) to do their practice exams. I felt Kaplan had some quant problems I haven't seen from Magoosh, so it helped diversity-wise. My estimated quant score from Magoosh was 48-50 (which is a bit inflated because i redid the problems i got wrong and that's reflected in the estimated score), and in Kaplan & GMAC's practice exams I scored 49-51 in quant. My actual quant score was 48, which was a bit disappointing... but I almost have a stage-fright with math, so... Overall, I think Magoosh is a great value for money. If you follow their study plan diligently, I think you will score will improve a lot. I'm so happy I can put away both Magoosh and the OG now that I'm done with GMAT!! Thank you Magoosh and good luck to everyone who's taking GMAT!
Joined: Apr 5, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Value for money

April 5, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I had around 2 months to prepare for the GMAT and Magoosh helped me immensely. The prep videos were short in length and precise in content. They cover every topic in Quant, Verbal, IR and, AWA.These videos are the strongest USP of this product.
Moreover, the custom practice and the subsequent analysis is very useful as it helps in understanding your strengths and weaknesses. Moreover, the video explanations at the end of every question are very useful as well.
A few more practice tests (presently there are 2) would be very useful. Nevertheless, this product is a great buy for $99 and would strongly recommend it anyone preparing for GMAT.
Joined: Apr 4, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 11, 2014
College: Russia
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

Great, and great value!

April 4, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

They have 900+ questions, 500+ of which are hard/very hard level. Each question has a solution video. Lesson videos as well as question videos are for the most part very good, but I couldn't bear videos on Reading Comprehension and Critical Reasoning by Chris Lele, because of the way he speaks. IR section also needs some improvement.

All in all Magoosh was critically important in my preparation for GMAT and for $99 it was a bargain! It allowed me to move from 630/M:45/V:31 on my first Magoosh's practice test to 720/M:50/V:38 on the real test in just 10 days. And that's at 40 years old, with school a very distant memory! :) With English being my second language, 38 on the verbal section is probably the max I could have hoped for, but I still feel like I could do better if Chris Lele's videos were better.

I also tried The Economist Prep and used all my free quota there on verbal section. It was very good, but the price is astronomical!
Joined: Mar 30, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 12, 2015
College: california state university, San Bernardino
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

great short videos

March 30, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

Magoosh had really great SHORT video lessons that made it easy to study "here and there" throughout the day instead of magically finding a 4-hour block of free time to go over a traditional lesson. Plus lots of practice questions in the format they appear on the actual GMAT.
Applying for a mba/msa program and the need to take the GMAT exam was a late decison. I only had about 3 weeks with Magoosh to prepare for the GMAT and I scored a 690.

I signed up for the free 1-week trial on March 5th, bought the program on March 12th, and took the GMAT exam on March 28th.
I honestly believe if I had 6 weeks, instead of 3, with Magoosh lessons that I would have scored in the mid 700's or better.
Joined: Dec 4, 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2, 2014
College: State University of New York at Geneseo
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Lost Without Magoosh

March 30, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I started studying for the GMAT 2 years ago with Manhattan GMAT prep books and a Kaplan course. I have to say, the amount of money spent on the Kaplan course was wasted, as I was not a diligent student at the time. What I can say is that if you need the absolute basics, Kaplan is a good starting point, but there are other resources out there if you sort of have the fundamentals down. Magoosh is one of those services, and for $100, I was able to watch hours upon hours of lesson videos that are created in a way similar to how Manhattan GMAT designed separate workbooks for each sub-section of the test. If I needed a thorough review of probability, they had it. How to write my essay? That became simple once I watched a few of the AWA videos. Brushing up on Verbal? Videos for that as well. I ended up focusing more of my time (though i watched all of the videos) on re-watching math videos to really pound concepts into my head. The question banks for verbal and math were beyond adequate, as you have access to over 700 questions with video responses for each question to do a deep-dive on how to solve the problem. If you have Magoosh and the OG, you have more than enough questions to adequately prepare you for the GMAT.

That being said, you don't have access to any tests (besides creating one for yourself for just Math and Verbal) on Magoosh. This really is a simple fix though, as you can download the GMAC software and take each of the two tests twice, in addition to finding free tests from Veritas and Kaplan online as well. You can probably take 6 or 7 free tests if you just use the Internet to your advantage!

Overall, my score of a 650 (Q45, V35) was on the lower bound of what I considered acceptable, but having taken my first practice test in January and scored a 570, I have definitely come a long way. My goal was a score of 650-700, and Magoosh definitely helped me get there. If you want the MOST bang for your buck, look no further than Magoosh. You get what you put into the prep, but the lesson videos make it easy to watch from anywhere. That type of versatility is essential when you work full-time.
Joined: Mar 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 13, 2015
College: University of Windsor
Major: Criminal Justice
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent ground-up approach

March 28, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

Magoosh provides an excellent-ground up approach that starts with the most basic material and works its way up to advanced GMAT material, for both verbal and quantitative. I had an extremely weak quantitative background when I began preparing for the GMAT, with under 2 months until my test. I only needed a score of 550 for the program I was was planning on attending, but after completing the one-month daily study plan from Magoosh, I was able to score a 660 - well above the score I needed. I would highly recommend Magoosh GMAT prep to anybody who is looking for a back to the basics approach, or a large pool of practice questions with thorough explanations.
Joined: Nov 12, 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 26, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Good value prep, but not the best around

March 26, 2015
  • Teacher: Online
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 760

Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.
Joined: Mar 25, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2015
College: India
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Focused, relevant guidance for busy working people

March 25, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 620

Initially I planned on preparing for the GMAT by myself, but I quickly got lost in the sea of information and material available online. I realized i will need a focused approach due to the limited time I had in my busy work schedule as a professional. Magoosh helped me study relevant topics in an organized manner. The sample tests were also very helpful in keeping track of my progress. I went from a 440 to 660 in 1.5 months of study. Although I could only score 620 on the actual exam, I know I could have done much better so I will be taking the exam once again in 2 months.
Magoosh team - thanks for putting together the whole study package!
Joined: Mar 23, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 24, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Helped me keep the pace

March 23, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I had a hard time with pacing before I started with Magoosh. They really helped me bring my average time down in answering the questions, and watching a short video explanation was a much better way for me to learn than reading yet more text. Overall, great experience and I'd recommend their self-study program to anyone!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 12 13 14 15 16 17