Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Sep 22, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2015
College: Universidad Sim?n Bol?var
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: Venezuela
Verified Real Student Review

Great, economical self-paced learning product.

September 22, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry - Chris Lele
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Both tutors extensively cover the subjects touched upon on the GMAT test and, more importantly, provide very valuable information on how to tackle the questions. Additionally, each and every practice question is accompanied by a detailed explanation in both video and text format. It is evident that a lot of careful work has been put in the making of this product.

On the other hand, the Magoosh blog is a hugely helpful source of information. The articles are really instructive and well-thought. Moreover, the tutors go to the trouble of answering all the questions in the comment section of the blog posts.

All in all, I enthusiastically recommend this product to everyone who plans to take the GMAT and wants a reliable, knowledgeable source of information.
Joined: Sep 4, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 12, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Support for a Quick Turnaround

September 4, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

For a variety of reasons, I had to move my test date up a month. At this point, I had only studied for about 3 weeks and now only had 4 weeks to go. I already felt reasonably strong about my verbal skills, and from my three weeks of study knew that I needed a self-guided crash course in Quant. I found Magoosh from a Google search, read a few reviews, and jumped. I found their videos clear, thoughtfully done, and helpful. I liked the Practice Questions, with the variety of formats you can take them in, and the explanation videos were essential. I even found myself getting frustrated when taking practice tests elsewhere and had to without such clear explanations after questions I got wrong.

Now having taken the test, I feel that Magoosh's level of questions are appropriately difficult and I felt fairly well prepared. I think the only thing that could have really helped my score was had I had another month to study, time to really become more comfortable with the lessons.

Thanks Magoosh!
Joined: Sep 3, 2015
Purchased Course: May 10, 2015
College: Bharati Vidyapeeth
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

630 to 690 using Magoosh Premium Prep

September 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 690

Based on the reviews and money back guarantee of Magoosh, i enrolled in Magoosh after my first gmat score in which i scored 630. The video lessons and practice questions were extremely helpful. I would put a filter on incorrect questions and practice it again and again till i got it right. I took my gmat again this week and received a 690. This score would not have been possible without Magoosh, so a big thanks to them.
Joined: Aug 31, 2015
Purchased Course: May 30, 2015
College: University of Iowa
Major: Political Science
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good prep software

August 31, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

Very cheap, effective if you're self-motivated.
Joined: Aug 31, 2015
Purchased Course: May 4, 2015
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Invaluable resource

August 31, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

So I'll start this off by saying that I did not study "correctly" from the beginning. I floundered through Manhattan Prep for a few months due before finally refocusing and signing up with Magoosh, and I'm so glad that I did. The video lessons were incredibly clear and the problem set explanations were invaluable in really driving home the tricks that the GMAT likes to play.

I was consistently scoring in the mid 600s in my Manhattan CATs. I set up daily timed quizzes for both quant and verbal using the custom problem sets to help with timing. I believe that was the ticket for me. These practice quizzes, which Magoosh facilitated with such ease, were critical for me to stay fresh on quant topics while I was going through the verbal lessons. I took my final two practice exams using the GMATPrep software in the two weeks leading up to my exam and scored a 710 and 740. By test day, all my timing work and the multitude of problems from Magoosh helped me feel relaxed and prepared and I got my target score. Thanks Magoosh!
Joined: Aug 30, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 3, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing: simple to use, quality content, unbeatable price.

August 30, 2015
  • Teacher: NA
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 690

Magoosh is amazing. I took 2x courses and studied for a year with Manhattan GMAT before switching to Magoosh. MGMAT just wasn't doing it for me. They make you slog through enormous textbooks and the website is confusing by comparison. MGMAT has a lot of resources, don't get me wrong, especially the great practice tests, but you have to work at it. A course with them is also not on your schedule. MGMAT is also ridiculously, prohibitively, expensive.

Magoosh, on the other hand, makes everything easy. I can sit down at any computer and start practicing or studying in SECONDS. No more lugging around heavy textbooks or logging my progress in the OG. Magoosh has enough practice problems that I'm confident you don't even need the OG. Furthermore, since all of the problems are online, it is a great way to get used to testing on a computer. Magoosh is very reasonably priced; in fact, it's downright cheap. I think other companies are just scamming you. Don't be fooled into paying thousands!

Finally, the video lessons and problem explanations are top notch. If you get a problem wrong, there is no more trying to sort through a tough explanation--just watch the video! Personally, I just had more success watching videos to learn content than self-study from a textbook. Everything is organized and simple. I can't recommend Magoosh enough.
Joined: Apr 11, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 11, 2015
College: Northern Arizona University
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh helped me a lot in improving my score

August 26, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 730

I liked Magoosh because it was online and allowed me to work at my own pace. Watching all the videos was what I assume helped me the most, and being able to set them to watching at 1.5x speed made it very efficient. The Quant videos probably helped me improve my score the most, and the AWA and IR sections were unparalleled to any other prep material I used. (but who cares about those sections anyways)

My scores on their practice questions were a little off, my estimated score was around 620, but I got a 730 on the actual exam; however, I would much rather a conservative estimate than the other way around.

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone on a utility basis. I can't speak for the $800+ costing prep courses, (you could take the GMAT almost four times for that price!) but Magoosh was exactly what I needed and didn't break the bank.
Joined: Jul 31, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 23, 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Education
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very targeted, helpful, and accessible approach to GMAT prep

August 25, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I really enjoyed Magoosh's style of GMAT prep. You can work your way through the lessons, set up short quizzes, or go problem by problem. The best parts are the explanation videos after every question and related lesson videos you can watch if you're really lost on a particular topic. The videos have practice questions in them to help you process the material, and Mike McGarry explains concepts in ways that pop into your head while you're working problems (happened several times while taking the GMAT!).

Mike really makes the lessons great, and the entire structure of the website is incredibly useful.
Joined: May 7, 2015
Purchased Course: May 8, 2015
College: University of California, Santa Barbara
Major: Political Science
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hone your timing!

August 25, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 660

You can learn the same math and verbal concepts from most gmat courses and books. Magoosh really helped me to gauge my timing on questions and understand which areas I took too much time on. This is especially important on the Quant section when you really need to be able to make quick and educated guesses.
Joined: Aug 23, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 20, 2015
College: University of Texas at Dallas
Major: Accounting
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Godsend

August 23, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Simply put, I owe Magoosh a lot. I can't imagine getting the score I did without it. Granted I had to put in a ton of time in, studying for hours each day, but following a Magoosh study plan schedule is well advised.

Not only is there a large pools of test questions to prepare you, but they are adaptive, meaning the difficulty of the problems you receive are dependent on your skill level. Taking adaptive questions allows you to assess where you are and improve according, and answering them, I found my learning retention to be significantly higher than without.

Additionally, the answers and explanation videos are top notch. They are concise and clear and show you the logical steps necessary for problem solving. Personally I recommend watching the videos for the problems you answered correctly anyway. Even if that seems redundant, I noticed that my understanding of the problem types and the time it takes to solve those types have noticeably improved.

All in all Magoosh is a great resource, but it is only as effective as the commitment you give it.
Joined: Aug 19, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 4, 2015
College: York University
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great Value

August 19, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 210

Magoosh offers a great self study program at a fraction of the cost of other GMAT prep courses. That being said, I can't seem to find any compromises in it at all. Each practice question has a video explanation and the the instructors are very clear and easy to understand. I have already increased my score by 100 points in less then a month by following the basic three month study plan. I also liked how the lessons start at a very basic level as I have not taken any math or english classes in over 5 years. Overall, I highly recommend this program to anyone wishing to improve their scores.
Joined: Aug 14, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 23, 2015
College: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Political Science
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal value

August 14, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

For the money, Magoosh probably delivers the best value in test preparation. The video collection on quantitative/verbal review and test questions is quite extensive, and the instructors in the videos were clear and articulate. There was also a large question bank, and every question had an explanatory video. If I didn't understand a particular video, I left a comment in the feedback box under every video and someone from Magoosh would contact me with additional explanations.

The one thing I wish it provided was a more personal analysis of the types of questions you're getting right and wrong, so that you can focus more on those types (the GMAC software that comes when you register the test provides this). But it's easy enough to categorize the questions by type when you're practicing, so it's not a critical point.

There's also notecard apps available for verbal and quantitative review (in addition to the main Magoosh app) which I found useful.

For the value, I don't think you can really go wrong with Magoosh. Fantastic customer service tops it off. Can't
Joined: Aug 14, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 10, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT for international students

August 14, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 660

First of all, for international students studying GMAT verbal via book may be a bit challenging, since it is very easy to miss the important/subtle points without a teacher who explains.
I do believe most of the Magoosh verbal questions are quite good, and well explained.

However do not rely on only video explanations and read well-written newspapers and books .
Joined: Apr 20, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 18, 2015
College: Tufts
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome program, great explanations, superb customer service - Excellent value

August 13, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 750

Magoosh is an awesome program- I used it as a supplement to Kaplan & MGMAT materials, and it's an awesome tool for practicing problems, creating practice tests, and learning strategies. The explanations are excellent - they usually provide a written and video explanation- and this quickly became my go-to for practice questions after working through the MGMAT print material. To be honest, I did very few, if any, OG problems (not that I'd recommend that)- I had more than enough problems from Magoosh, MGMAT and Kaplan. Would recommend to anyone, and quite frankly think that Magoosh is the best bang for your buck.
Joined: Aug 9, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 10, 2015
College: Middlebury College
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Easy to use, great practice for the actual test!

August 9, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry, Chris Lele
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I found the Magoosh prep course very helpful. The video lessons were engaging and made the concepts clear and easy to understand. Magoosh has a huge question bank and I was able to take a lot of practice tests that I think simulated the actual testing experience very well. I would definitely recommend a subscription to anyone- it is much more fun and engaging than the standard books and much closer to the actual test experience.
Joined: Aug 3, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 28, 2015
College: Florida State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Verified Real Student Review

Hands Down Favorite Product

August 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

This product is heads-and-shoulders above other GMAT prep services: Kaplan, Princeton Review, etc. I used Magoosh to go from a 670 (practice exam) to a 770 on my first GMAT run.

I tell my friends taking the GMAT to do the following:

1) Buy a Princeton Review book, complete all the problems and take a test or two. This is to "dust off the cobwebs" so that you can get the most out of the Magoosh materials.

2) Buy Magoosh and the Manhattan GMAT books. Follow the 3-month advanced study guide.
Joined: Jul 29, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 17, 2015
College: Savannah College of Art and Design
Major: Computer Graphics
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent videos and customer service

July 29, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 630

Magoosh is the best website for the money that I found in my search for test prep materials. They have videos that not only lecture on concepts for the exam, each question has a video explanation with it. The explanation videos are extremely helpful. The lecture videos are all fairly short, at five to fifteen minutes for most of them so you can pace yourself. They start at the most basic thing and work their way up to the most difficult stuff on the GMAT. They also have videos on discussing the GMAT format and general strategies, etc.

Their customer service is attentive. Once I marked a video that I didn't like it, their customer service wrote me to ask what I didn't like about it. And when I say they wrote me, I mean they wrote me. It did not appear to be an auto-response, it appeared that someone had actually written me. It might have been an automatic thing, but it didn't look like it. And when I told them what I didn't like, they wrote me again thanking me for the feedback.

I got the premium account for a great price. I found Magoosh through the GMATClub forum, and so the discount I was given might have been because I went through the GMATClub, I was not sure about that, or if it was a temporary sale. I will say that it was well worth the money I spent, and in fact, I think it's worth the full price if you were going to have to pay the full amount.

I would have gotten a high score if I'd had more time to utilize Magoosh's videos and to practice more. I still had hundreds of questions that I hadn't touched. Unfortunately, my summer didn't go as planned, and so I didn't get to use it as much as I'd originally intended. Bottom line, excellent site, well worth the money.
Joined: Jul 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 7, 2015
College: United States Naval Academy
Major: Aerospace Engineering
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Fantastic Option for Self Study

July 26, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I spent roughly 6 weeks preparing for the GMAT and primarily used Magoosh throughout my study. As I was also working full-time, I needed very efficiently designed study material, and Magoosh far exceeded my expectations. The video lessons on grammar were essential. Mike McGarry dissects and provides grammar topics in a digestible format that allowed me to quickly improve my verbal CAT scores. Additionally, Magoosh has a very large question bank that can be quickly accessed in computer adaptive practice sessions, and provides results for these sessions in a very cogent manner. Again, there are video explanations to help you make sense of some of the more challenging questions. I found this preferable to reading the explanations provided by other prep sources My brain was usually fried after a study session and trying to interpret some confusing grammatical explanation felt like I was doing another critical reasoning question; it was nice to sit back and listen to a pro explain the nuances of a tricky question. Finally, the price point was simply fantastic. I understand it may be a temporary discount, but $99 was more than fair considering the wealth of resources made available to me.
Joined: Jul 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 25, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Ease of use is Magoosh's key strength

July 25, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

What I found most valuable about Magoosh was it's incredibly easy-to-use interface. Whenever I had a few minutes to spare, I could jump right into doing practice problems. With other materials I felt that I always had to set aside at least 20 minutes, set up a timer, do the problems, then go back and spend another 20 or more minutes reviewing answers. Everything felt like a lump of a chore. But with Magoosh I could do as many or as few problems as time allowed. This really helped me get into the mode of doing practice problems under timed conditions. If you work full or go to school full-time and are finding it difficult to squeeze in enough practice, I highly recommend giving Magoosh a try.
Joined: Jul 23, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 9, 2015
College: Simon Fraser University
Major: Finance
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufacturing
Country: Philippines
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible, easy to follow, best user interface, fantastic support

July 23, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 720

I used 3 review programs consecutively (Manhattan, Kaplan, Magoosh). I would say Manhattan is the most comprehensive reviewer, and if you want to really get down to the basics and work your way up to the more complicated concepts then Manhattan is the best option.

This isn't to say that the Magoosh videos aren't helpful. They are, but it is not as in-depth as other reviewers. What I would recommend you look out for in the videos are the tips and tricks for solving problems faster and easier (i.e. the quick way to divide by 5, square integers that end in 5, sides of the 45-45-90, 30-60-90 triangles, etc). These tips and tricks really made a difference come exam time. In my first GMAT, I had to rush thru 5 math problems in 3 minutes. On my retake, I had 2 minutes to spare, with a higher score to boot!

Magoosh's flexibility is what sets it apart from the rest. With other programs, you cannot break down the type of problems you want to answer and the only way to access the questions was to do practice exams. It was difficult for me to find 4 hours of uninterrupted time just to do that.

With Magoosh, I can choose which topics I wanted to work on (i.e. probability today, geometry tomorrow, all data sufficiency questions only, you get the idea). Yes, I still needed to commit a lot of time to study for the GMAT but that time didn't need to be 3-4 hours straight. 30 minute break? Do 10 math problems. Done. Favorite TV show a rerun? One hour verbal problems. Done. You are still able to get your study time in without blocking off a large part of the day.

The support Magoosh offers is fantastic. I had a lot of "wouldn't it be better if...", "but then you should also consider this POV..." in the critical reasoning section. They respond very quickly (2 days max) and they walk you through the thought process as to why their answer is the best, and they also work through my point of view and bring up holes in my argument that I hadn't considered. In other words, their support is personal. It was so nice to have somebody to bounce ideas with and see how they write their questions and answers.

Best $99 ever.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17