Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Sep 25, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 17, 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great product!

September 25, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 730 After: 760

I entered the Magoosh course frustrated, after having taken the GMAT twice and receiving the same score both times (730). I watched all the Magoosh videos in about two weeks, spent several hours targeting my weaknesses on quant, and achieved a score of 760! I can't recommend this product enough.
Joined: Sep 10, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 9, 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very happy with the product + outcome!

September 10, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 760

I only had 4 weeks to prepare for the GMAT from scratch and found Magoosh products to have worked extremely well in my preparation. I scored a 650 in my very first CAT exam (no preparation); in the actual test, I scored a 760 (M50 / V41). I used Magoosh and OG guide in my preparation and put in about ~120 -150 hrs in total prep time.

Advantages of Magoosh:
1) Video instructions and lessons are much more efficient than live lessons because you can play them at 1.75x playback speed and skip / revist as necessary. The lessons were helpful as material refreshers. Every question also has a mini video explanation, which made me absorb each question much faster than reading from OG / text explanations.
2) High quality question bank, UI is simple to use and makes it easy to revisit wrong questions
3) Every feature is available via iPad apps - the idiom flashcard app was most helpful

Areas for improvement:
1) Bigger question bank for hard / very hard questions - I did all of my practice sessions in "adaptive" difficulty, and found myself mostly working through easy / medium questions in my last week of prep
2) I didn't find a few explanations very convincing (especially in harder CR / DS questions)
3) A few quant questions are slightly poorly worded / misleading - but imo less so than other providers
Joined: Aug 27, 2018
Purchased Course: May 11, 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great product and you can't beat the price

August 27, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

A product that will provide you with all of the information and challenging problems you need in order to get a 700+ score. I condensed the basic 3-month study plan into a 2 month program. The study guides themselves are very helpful and keep you organized and on pace. Magoosh also recommends using other services, I did not use the MGMAT books or practice test they recommended, but did buy the OG. The lessons are great for building the basic blocks and I would strongly recommend using them. Of course, the video explanations are invaluable. When I had taken the two practice test provided by GMATPrep, I scored a 630 and 660. Magoosh is ideal for someone who can manage their own study time and stay motivated/focus to do well on the GMAT without the assistance of a tutor or large sunk cost.
Joined: Aug 25, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 21, 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Construction Technology
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great program to take you from beginner to test day

August 25, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I purchased the Magoosh program when all I knew about the GMAT is that I needed to take it. The reviews and value of Magoosh I found online really caught my eye and thought it would be worth a shot before I take my first attempt at the GMAT. I went through the entire course and took time working on all the problems and watching how the solution videos got to the answers and if they were more optimal than mine even if i got it right. I love the way that they help you think outside the memorization of formulas and really break down number sense and how it can apply across the test. In the end I was able to surprise myself and scored my target score on the first attempt with 3 months of intense Magoosh study. I would recommend the program to anyone starting out as it worked wonders taking me from completely clueless to 650 in a short amount of time.
Joined: Aug 8, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 28, 2018
College: Monash University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Transportation
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Programme

August 8, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 500 After: 730

Magoosh is great.

It contains all the materials that took me from very bad(seriously like below 500) to 730.

The lessons are easy to follow, with a quiz after.

The only issue I have is that there is not enough 700++ questions. So once you get to that level (and believe me you will), its very easy to run out of questions (because their answers are very good)
Joined: Jul 30, 2018
Purchased Course: May 14, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Video explanations are great

July 30, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

The video explanations were great. In the GMAT Official Guide the answer explanations can be short and confusing, but each practice question on Magoosh comes with a 2-3 minute video that clearly explains the logic to get to the correct answer.
Joined: Jul 28, 2018
Purchased Course: May 17, 2018
College: Birla Institute of Science and Technology, Pilani
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Other Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

I highly recommend Magoosh to any GMAT aspirant

July 28, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

Magoosh was crucial to my success in GMAT. Magoosh video lessons and video answers to practice questions cleared all the concepts aptly and helped me in understanding my mistakes. Practice questions are similar to actual GMAT questions. Magoosh completely understands GMAT and helps students in the best possible manner.
Joined: Jul 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 7, 2018
College: Texas A&M University
Major: Management Information Systems
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is an excellent way to improve your GMAT

July 18, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I signed up for the GMAT with a bit of short notice. I had only 7 weeks to prepare for the exam, and many of the topics covered on the exam were ones that I hadn't seen in years. I took the initial diagnostic test from mba.com and scored a 640. It's not a bad score, but it's not a score that I was happy with either. I scored pitifully in math (41st percentile). I instantly started looking for online prep courses and found that many people were recommending Magoosh. They were right to do so!

Over the course of 7 weeks, I did upwards of 1000 practice problems, spending about 2 hours each day working on (mostly math) problems. I watched almost all of the math lessons, and a good chunk of the verbal lessons as well. The test date came up quick, and a practice test that I took on Magoosh's website indicated I was going to score around 650, a marginal improvement at best. However, I felt that I had covered so much ground over the course of my studying, so I didn't stress it too much.

Test day comes up, and I found that I was able to answer many questions with relative ease. I ended up scoring a 710 (47Q/41V), which I was ecstatic about. Magoosh's problems were more difficult than the test's problems, and this helped immensely when test day came. I truly cannot recommend the service enough, they are excellent at what they do, and while everyone's results may not be as good as mine, a motivated individual can go pretty far using this as a resource.

Thanks, Magoosh!
Joined: May 7, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 4, 2018
College: University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best at its price range

May 7, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Arguably, having a video explanation for every single question makes Magoosh the best offer for its price point. While in a perfect world it could use a larger question bank to review with, having each question clearly and concisely explained was immensely helpful in achieving the goal I set out for. Overall, it's absolutely a worthwhile buy in reviewing for the GMAT.
Joined: Apr 30, 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 10, 2016
College: Miami University
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I didn't have a lot of time to study and Magoosh made it happen.

April 30, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 710

I work in consulting and have a very hectic schedule, so study for the GMAT was falling through the cracks. I just needed to boost my score up a bit and Magoosh was perfect for that. I have no doubt that I could have scored even better if I spent more time on the platform, but am more than happy with my score (+700).
Joined: Apr 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 27, 2018
College: University of Michigan
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is the best prep out there

April 30, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I completed the official GMAT guide before starting Magoosh. Although the official verbal questions are more similar to the actual test, Magoosh's verbal practice is much harder than anything you will face on the real exam. The videos are great at explaining concepts and how to tackle different question types, and the flexibility of learning on your own is much better than taking an expensive course!
Joined: Apr 28, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2018
College: Birla Institute of Technology and Science(BITS), Pilani
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Student
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Your ladder to a 700+ score

April 28, 2018
  • Teacher: Sarai Yaseen, Kathryn Tucker,, Aida, Jessica
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I gave GMAT with less than a months preparation and Magoosh made it possible with its month plan which I followed religiously. I was bad at verbal like most other engineers out there. I focused very little on the Quant part because I was consistently scoring 50-51 on the practice tests. I started with the verbal from the Official guide and the Magoosh question set. I took several 31 question quizzes for verbal at the same time as my exam because that helped me get into the exam mode everyday so tat when the test day arrives , I don't find it difficult to Focus. For the rest of the day, I used to review the question that i did incorrectly and see where I was lacking. There is no substitute to review. Unless you see why you were wrong, you won't improve no matter how many questions you practice. Magoosh video explanations are incomparable with any other resource out there. if you follow the 1month/3 month plan, you can rest assured that you will see a minimum 50 point score improvement.
Joined: Apr 13, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 27, 2018
College: University of Michigan
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Don't take a class!

April 13, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I completed the full book's worth of practice problems in the Official GMAT Guide before starting Magoosh. While the official guide may be more similar to actual test questions, Magoosh is more challenging and has much better explanations for how to get the answer using the right method.

The lessons are tremendous, and explain the key principles and how to apply them in a coherent, straightforward way. If you took a class, you would be stuck at the group's pace, but the lessons allow you to really hone in on your personalized area for improvement.
Joined: Apr 2, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 3, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Everything you need to know for the GMAT

April 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Let me start by saying I didn't even know calculators weren't allowed during the test and that a max score is 800. I was not ready for the GMAT, to say the least. Thankfully, Magoosh provides (almost excruciatingly, but necessarily) detailed videos covering all the material you need to know for the GMAT. With the Premium Course, they also provide practice tests and over 800 practice questions, which is what probably helped me the most! They also cover great tips to do quick mental math (ex. doubling and halving). My only regrets are waiting to take their practice exams and not leaving more time to review before my test date. Overall, Magoosh is great for starting from 0 and reaching a score you want!
Joined: Mar 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 11, 2017
College: Penn State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth It - No Other Tool Needed

March 18, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

x
Joined: Mar 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 19, 2018
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Finance
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great lesson videos and practice questions!

March 18, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The lessons were very effective and were a great refresher, especially for the math section. The self pacing of the prep was also very nice!
Joined: Jan 19, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 12, 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was a great source in my GMAT toolkit

March 6, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 730

Magoosh was a great resource with helpful videos of the official guide questions. I decided to prep for the GMAT in 2014 on a whim and this was the first source I used before the official guide. I used it throughout my multiple retakes and was able to reach my target score of 730. I really enjoyed using the user interface and solving all of the practice questions that are similar to the official GMAC format that you will see on the test date. It was not my own source, and I would recommend getting more than one prep source, but it was definitely a great complementary tool in my test prep toolkit
Joined: Jan 27, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 22, 2017
College: Rutgers University
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

760 (50Q/44V) Convenient, Self-Paced Program. Excellent for Full-Time Workers With Busy Schedules

January 27, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

Magoosh was the only study material I used when preparing for the GMAT. I scored a 760!!! My target score was a 700. My Magoosh practice test score was a 670. The Magoosh problems were actually a bit tougher than the problems I encountered on the test, and that really helped to push me to master the concepts necessary to do well.
Joined: Jan 22, 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 16, 2017
College: North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Chemicals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

WORTH EVERY CENT YOU WILL PAY!!!

January 22, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 490 After: 610

I can honestly say that I have never been a great standardized test taker. So when I decided I was going back to school to get my MBA, I knew that the GMAT would be my hardest feat. And this was further proven when I took the test the first time. I had a deadline to meet to qualify for a pre-MBA Program and did not have much time to meet it. So I read about Magoosh and read all of the wonderful reviews about the program and decided I should try it. I did the one month study plan (definitely modified but completed all required Magoosh material) and I can say it was all worth it. My score increased 120 points in a short time span. I am still not where I want to be, but now that I have qualified for my program, I plan to review the Magoosh material and do the 3 month study plan (all material included) to get to the score I truly desire. But I would recommend this program to anybody. Especially if you are a visual learner, but don't really have the time to sit in a 3-4 hour weekly prep class (I'm an Engineer in Oil & Gas so time is of the essence). You definitely have to be self motivated, as you are responsible for your progress and the knowledge learned, but I cannot say enough great things about Magoosh. Take from someone who absolutely HATES standardized tests. This will definitely help you well on your way to greatness on the GMAT!
Joined: Jan 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 15, 2017
College: McMaster University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep tool

January 9, 2018
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 700

Magoosh's video lessons were incredibly helpful in my preparation for my GMAT. The math videos allowed me to refresh on concepts that I haven't visited since highschool being in an arts undergrad program, and helped me to pass my goal score. My initial practice test were estimating a score of 610, with a very poor quantitative score of 37. After my actual test I came out with 45 in Quant and 40 in Verbal for a total score of 700. I really liked the videos that were linked after each practice question to further strengthen knowledge, and I found the practice questions to be very similar to the actual GMAT. I did, however, find the quantitative questions slightly harder than what I saw on the actual test, with Magoosh's software estimating my score significantly lower than what I received on test day. I used Magoosh primarily in my studying and near test day also began using the official GMAT prep guide to do more practice questions. I highly recommend using these videos in your preparation rather than reading from a book, and using it in combination with the CAT GMATPrep tests you are given access to when you register for your exam. I found that score from the GMATPrep to be very accurate in comparison to my final score, so using them in combination with Magoosh will give you a great idea of where you stand.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 12 13 14 15 16