Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Aug 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 5, 2017
College: Radford
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource

August 25, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 700

My favorite resource from Magoosh is the video explanation of each question in the question bank. I think that this really helped me develop the right approach to questions. I found it helpful to see someone work through the questions step by step when I was lost.
If you are willing to take the time to work through the lessons and question bank then you will see the benefit, but you will have to hold yourself accountable. It is easy to get off track from a study plan if you are not disciplined.
Overall I would definitely recommend Magoosh fr anyone looking for a self study plan.
Joined: Aug 12, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 30, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Very very helpful!

August 12, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I subscribed to Magoosh about one month before my GMAT date and used only their site (and flashcards app on iPhone) to prepare, and I was very very happy with my experience! The platform is extremely easy to use and the lessons are SUPER helpful- both quantitive and verbal. What I found most helpful was that after doing practice tests (or just any practice question) on Magoosh, instead of only seeing the correct answer, they have individual videos for each question that explain how the correct answer was obtained and why the others were wrong. Also, they give you very in-depth statistics about your performance, like what specific topics you are best and worst at, linking you to videos that deal with these topics specifically. Overall I am very very happy I used Magoosh and thankful this platform is so well done!!
Joined: Aug 11, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 4, 2017
College: The London School of Economics and Political Science
Major: Political Science
Industry: Accounting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect tool for GMAT in 5 weeks

August 11, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I'd first and foremost like to thank Magoosh for delivering such a high quality product at such a fair price. As the title suggests, I went from having never heard of the GMAT to sitting it today in 7 weeks, whilst working a full-time job and getting 720. From my first practice test in the low-mid 600's five weeks ago, just before I signed up to Magoosh, todayrepresented a good 70/80 point improvement (despite my Quant not being as good as expected because of my own nerves/concentration lapses and no fault of Magoosh).

For somebody in my position, who is self-motivated, Magoosh is the perfect product and here is why:
- Excellent quality of resources - Mike McGarry's tutelage for the Quant was exceptional. The content is always snappy and no frills. If you are realistic about where you need to give yourself help, the video bank has you covered. I can't say as much for the Verbal because I didn't use it very much, taking the approach that Quant is where I needed improvement and basically free-styled the Verbal for lack of a better term.
- Fantastic customer service - all of my interactions with the product and its team have been very positive. There is a great array of resources, with the blog, the phone apps, etc. Also, the product feels very positive to use and the atmosphere is friendly. There will no doubt be bad and good days and I found it easy to pick myself back up on Magoosh, knowing I'd be back listening to Mike.
- Very decent question bank - enough said, but it did the job for the period of time I had.
- Great value - clearly $150 is an absolute bargain. In comparison with The Economist's app at ?500 for 3 months (an app which I was not thrilled by trialling), I think there is little doubt that this is hands down the best value for money out there.

Overall, a very valuable product. I should caveat, however, that I am somebody who is self-disciplined and also good at self-diagnosing where I need help with things. One thing I would say is that Magoosh is what you make of it, and whilst it gave me every tool I needed, I'd suggest everybody thinks about what they need when selecting a service. If you need a more full-on GMAT course, I'd recommend thinking about how best to integrate Magoosh into your arsenal, but, at its price and with the content and resources it has, I can't see how you can go wrong with buying the Premium Prep course.

Thanks again Magoosh,

Harry
Joined: Dec 12, 2013
Purchased Course: May 27, 2016
College: uk
Major: Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best Course available at affordable price

August 9, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 730

Magooh helped me build core grammatical concepts, that helped me solve SC question. The free idiom book is an asset given to those who are preparing for GMAT. No course explained idioms in such a lucid way.
Though, I am strong in quant, I went through the videos of quant and solving the same question becomes easier after watching videos of magoosh. I especially like videos of P&C and probability very much. One thing I can simply say about magooh is that no test prep company on this planet can give such a good course at such a price.
Joined: Jul 28, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 19, 2016
College: Singapore Management University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Incredible bite-sized lessons packed with information and an insatiable question bank

August 7, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Magoosh was an absolute godsend for my GMAT preparation.

Before I heard of Magoosh I reckoned that I could get by purely based on practicing questions from the OG, but that's not nearly enough to score in top 10%. To get a 700+ score you need lessons, and lots of them.

Most importantly you need quality practice questions done ON A COMPUTER! You can't simply practice off a book because the experience is complete different. You need to get used to computer adaptive testing and looking up and down from the screen to your scratchpad and back.

Magoosh is great for this because:
1) Math lessons are succint and provide numerous shortcuts
2) Math practice problems are considerably harder than those on the actual exam. This lets you get acclimatized to the intensity and the requirements of the GMAT exam
3) Every single practice question has an answer video with detailed explanations behind it
4) Magoosh support replies within one day and answers any questions in a detailed manner

All of these combined for the relatively low price of 100-200$ is nothing short of magical.
Joined: May 24, 2011
Purchased Course: Feb 27, 2017
College: Washington University in St. Louis
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

40 Point Improvement - 6 Years Later

August 2, 2017
  • Teacher: Self- Taught
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 700

Magoosh is a fantastic tool for someone who's looking to avoid the classroom (and the classroom cost) but wants effective and efficient training. I studied for 3 months with Magoosh, and was able to hit my target score on my first attempt. My approach was to try and cover as much as possible within the 3 months, and I firmly believe that if I had another month/took the test again, I could have done even better. In addition to the tools and videos, Magoosh's customer service is bar none. I would send questions around 12 am EST and would wake up at 6 EST to answers. Would recommend 10x over.
Joined: Jun 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 24, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

30 point jump in 1 month!

August 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 660

I only had 1 month until I re-sat my exam and I'm so glad I leaned on Magoosh for that intense 30 day study. The video explanations for each problem helped me to change the way I approached problems... I felt like I could hear Mike McGarry's voice walking me through the answer choices on the day of the exam!

Albeit I'm still not at my ideal score, I'd say a 30 point jump in just 30 days of unsupervised study was pretty impressive. I look forward to studying even more and working harder for my third attempt at the GMAT!
Joined: Jul 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2017
College: Plymouth University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: Vietnam
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommnded GMAT course

July 28, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I started learning GMAT at Magoosh five months ago and I am extremely satisfied with not only the in-depth explaination provided by the Tutor but also the support from staff when i encountered any problems. I took GMAT Exam after 5 months studying part-time and got a 740. I highly recommend students to attend a Magoosh Gmat course.
Joined: May 11, 2017
Purchased Course: May 12, 2017
College: West Bengal university of technology
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect place to start off your preparations th the

July 24, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike mcgarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I took magoosh premium gmat premium 2 months ago.The tutorials are of immense help for a newbie.Even before you start solving problems,I advise to go through the full tutorials at least twice.Once do with was in a very solid ground.the problem s are quite exhaustive and the videos provide enough materials to understand the problem in detail.I only used magoosh for a month and then also started with beat the gnat forum.Thr gmat blogs are one of the best available materials online.For a beginner ,I will surely recommend it.
Joined: Jul 24, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 29, 2017
College: Amity University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best course in terms of being not too much to go through.

July 24, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

The cost is attractive and its worth every cent. The course has math videos by Mike McGarry ( who also writes the Magoosh GMat Blog - very good) The videos are topic wise and short, to the point with examples. I'd say go through a video once and try some problems. The second time you go through the video you'll pick up on finer points. Mike is a great teacher and I loved Math. He shares "Big Ideas" in the video for advanced topics like numbers and these Ideas once understood can make doing 700 level questions a matter of seconds.
The SC section is excellent and better to do SC with Magoosh and outside practice questions than Manhattan prep. I did CR via Powerscore CR Bible so I don't comment on Magoosh CR but if you have shortage of time I say its ok. RC I saw videos and they are good but I didnt use RC as I am confident of RC.
All in all its a great tool. They have a lot of articles that talk about your prep. The two practice tests gaged my level - I got 700 in one and 760 in the second. The explanations are there to all questions on magoosh - video and text with alternate explanations. They have around thousand practice questions for Math an Verbal and the Important thing is that each question tests you. so i suggest watch the explanation even if you get it right.
The idea is to chill in your gmat rep and Magoosh takes it so. Overloading with questions that can be redundant is just a waste in my opinion so try Magoosh u'll find their to the point in their prep strategy. They give you what you need and want and don't waste your stamina.
Also go through the Magoosh blog in case of being stuck in any topic like ratio and proportion they have a great way of teaching.
Joined: Jul 14, 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 28, 2016
College: Clemson University
Major: Biology
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Study right and get the score you want.

July 14, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Magoosh is a great tool, especially for someone who has never taken the GMAT before. I had not taken formal math or english courses since high school (Biology major), but Magoosh made it easy to learn the basics that eventually led to more advanced understanding.

The first practice test I took was a 550, but after studying Magoosh for six months (using their six-month study plan), I was able to bring my practice test score up to a 650, which was 30 points away from my 680 goal. Although this cannot be proven, I believe that the Magoosh practice tests were harder than the actual GMAT. At no point during my actual GMAT, did I feel like the questions were harder than the Magoosh questions. This greatly enhanced my confidence and led to my eventual 720 score.

For those considering Magoosh, my only recommendation is to stick to a study plan. The independent study nature of Magoosh can make it difficult to remain diligent in your preparation. If you stick to a plan and have a clear goal, then you will succeed.
Joined: Jul 9, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 9, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Good questions and good study schedule

July 9, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I followed the "3 Month GMAT Study Schedule for Advanced Students" offered by Magoosh. The study schedule was very intense, but eventually paid off. I found the question bank and lesson plan offered by Magoosh to be very strong and helpful for improving my math score significantly. However, some of the "very hard" math questions are well beyond what you would expect to see on the GMAT.
Joined: Jul 9, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 5, 2017
College: Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Major: Management Information Systems
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep material at an economical price

July 9, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

It was a great basic course overall. Covered most of the material to prepare for the test. Comes at an economical price when compared with other sources, which can almost break the bank. Highly recommended for any one who is beginning their GMAT prep
Joined: Jul 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 8, 2017
College: University of Calgary
Major: Chemical Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Incredibly interactive, very responsive staff, worth every bit

July 6, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

The videos were incredibly informative, and were much more interactive than textbook reading or other GMAT videos. Extremely thorough questions that were similar to the regular GMAT (particularly the Quant Section). A must for any exam taker who wants to take an online self-directed course.

Best of all, incredibly responsive staff - received help with my questions (via email) very rapidly with thorough explanations.

No better bang for your buck!
Joined: Jun 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 26, 2016
College: University of Wisconsin Madison
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good overall experience, great practice Q's and Explanations.

June 27, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Magoosh was a very good study tool for me. While the actual videos lessons were a little slow for my taste, the practice question sets were invaluable. I did all hard / very hard questions on both quant and verbal by the time I had finished, and significantly boosted my very first practice test score (~640) to a 740 on the actual GMAT. The explanations given at the end of each practice question significantly enhance the overall experience for me.
Joined: Jan 25, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 1, 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: International Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Value to Maximize Your Score

June 24, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

There is no other program that provides comprehensive study materials at such a reasonable price. Magoosh provides detailed lessons, realistic questions, and thorough explanations for every concept tested on the GMAT. I especially found the study guides and adaptive question mode helpful in preparing for my test. I would not have scored as well as I did without Magoosh. And I'm convinced that I would not find a comparable program for the same price.
Joined: Jun 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 7, 2017
College: NYU
Major: Finance
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Bang for Your Buck

June 23, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Great videos on how to deconstruct DS and CR questions, in addition to creative methods around solving all types of questions. I really sharpened my approach to the exam thanks to Magoosh!
Joined: May 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 8, 2017
College: Ryerson University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Most thorough course and greatest return on investment

June 16, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This is the best. I would have happily paid the amount I paid for Kaplan or Economist for this course. It blows them away. Here's why:

1) Way more video lessons! This has like 3-4 times the video lessons and covers far more categories. So useful. It touches upon everything

2) Quizzes: It quizzes you after lessons

3) Question bank: Solid question bank! Does not have as many questions as Kaplan but has over 800 and they're very good.

Out of the 3-4 prep courses I've purchased, this and gmatprepnow are the two I'm most happy with.
Joined: Jun 5, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 26, 2017
College: Rotterdam
Major: International Business
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

The best GMAT prep available ! Improved from 410 to 610 in 2+ months!

June 8, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 410 After: 610

After a very disappointing first GMAT exam (410) a colleague recommended Magoosh. Although I was a bit skeptic, I was blown away right from the first video lesson I watched. Magoosh helped me exactly the way I needed. The materials were discussed from the very basics to the most difficult questions, and as such it all started to make sense to me. I did not had to memorise any formula's anymore and felt more confident every day! Besides that, I laughed a lot during my studies as all teachers (from math to verbal) were very pleasant to listen to, and funny! As a result, I improved 200 points up to 610. (Side note: Magoosh helped me improve my Verbal score from 13 to 36!) I have recommended Magoosh to tens of people already and will definitely continue to do so in the future. Magoosh was the most valuable investment in my GMAT preparation! (And I wished so so so so badly that I had known about Magoosh from the very beginning of my GMAT studies....! .....Thank you Magoosh!
Joined: Feb 17, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 1, 2017
College: Stephen F. Austin State University
Major: Nursing
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Take this course, take the test once.

May 24, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I took a course offered by a local college, and this course blew it out of the water. The amount of detail they go into in all the blog posts, videos, and answer explanations will give you more than enough material to master the test. I found the essay videos particularly helpful, since I had no idea where to begin. At first I started with the 3 month study guide, which I found to be particularly intense for someone with a full-time job. Eventually I ended up coming up with my own plan which focused on the areas I was struggling with in my practice tests. I do recommend getting a Manhattan Prep book as well- which Magoosh recommended for the additional 7 practice tests. Another note- the founder of Magoosh seems like a really passionate, personable dude. It is clear he really wants you to succeed. Thank you to Magoosh for all the help. It was definitely my most valuable investment in my preparation for the GMAT.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 12 13 14 15 16