Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Dec 17, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 17, 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is the truth

July 16, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 740

Magoosh helped me get back on track towards admission to an elite MBA program. When I first prepared for the GMAT, I thought I had done enough prep through another provider and felt confident. That confidence was shattered when 570 (Q38, V30) flashed on the screen. I almost threw in the towel, but I decided to give it one more go. A friend of mine raved about this product called "Magoosh", and at first I was really hesitant. I thought wow, this product is really fairly priced and they have a bunch of sales - suspisions grew. Nonetheless, I listened to my friend and purchased a premium package combo with GMATClub exam access.

After watching just a few videos and going through some practice questions with video explanations, I was able to see why some people thrive with Magoosh. I am an AV learning - I learn well when someone explains and shows me how to handle a problem. I do not do well when I work with books or just questions and answers explained in words and numbers. This was the first point of distinction where Magoosh is beyond other products that are out there. There is a video explanation for EVERY practice question. Mike McGary became my virtual best friend - and many of my MLT fellows would joke about how we had Saturday night plans with Mike.

Needless to say, the trust I placed in Magoosh paid off. I was able to earn a 740 (Q49, V41) on my retake. The course emphasizes learning the fundamentals down to the core, and understanding how questions can disguise what is really being asked - if you know the fundamentals well, you can and will do well on the GMAT. As I have said to many of my friends and peers, if I could invest in Magoosh, I would - they are such a solid group of professionals and I couldn't imagine my GMAT journey without them.
Joined: Jul 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 8, 2015
College: University of washington
Major: Business
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent GMAT Prep

July 10, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I found Magoosh super helpful for my GMAT prep - and really good value for money compared to other sources like Manhattan. I didn't take the GMAT officially prior to using Magoosh, but was scoring around 500 on my initial practice tests - particularly low in Quant. After about 5 weeks of studying I brought my score up to 690 for the official GMAT.

I mostly used Magoosh for Quant review - I hadn't looked at most of these concepts in years and the videos did a really good job of breaking down the concepts, incorporating practice questions into the lessons, and letting you customize your review/practice tests. The linked blog posts were also really helpful.

The verbal was helpful, especially some of the tricks specific to GMAT questions, but overall I didn't spend too much time on it.

At the end of my studies I realized there are also some apps you can use to practice, didn't use them much but it probably would have been helpful.

I'd highly recommend Magoosh to people looking to improve their GMAT scores - great value for money and really helped me out!
Joined: May 20, 2015
Purchased Course: May 31, 2015
College: Pune
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is one of the best platform if you are planning to give GMAT

July 7, 2015
  • Teacher: Mr. Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I was confused to choose coaching center or self study for the preparation of GMAT but in between one of my friend suggest me to opt magoosh if you are planning to go ahead for self preparation. So i started Magoosh and opt for premium course , the way i go ahead and deep into my studies my basic was going strong day by day and able to solve the tough question as well.

Mr. Mike Mcgarry is brilliant in his teaching and the way of explaining each and every question , i just wanna to say that magoosh is one of the best course if you wanna to score on higher side.

So if you are confuse to opt this course then without hesitate opt Magoosh. You will never regret.
Joined: Jul 1, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 8, 2014
College: New York University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could There Be a Better Value? Impossible!

July 1, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 660

For a person who is going to business school, purchasing Magoosh would be just the kind of demonstration of keen business sense that top schools are looking for.
There are many GMAT Prep courses out there, and some of the can cost upwards of a thousand dollars. I consider that some companies in the field are stodgy, outdated, and rely too much on their established names. They are unable to adapt to the changes that their younger more resourceful rivals - like Magoosh - have brought to the field. When taking a test like the GMAT it boils down to grasping key concepts so well that you can perform under the 'stress' you are likely to experience in a timed exam, the result of which could determine your entrance to the school of your choice. The instructors at Magoosh are masters at explaining complex topics in an easy-to-understand way. And yet what good would that be if they were not able to keep things interesting? This is where the 'soft' factors really shine for Magoosh. It comes thorugh in the personality, likeability and charisma of the instructors. Could I have gotten a better score with a more expensive personalized course? Maybe. Indeed it is not hard to imagine getting an extra 20 points; some of the courses out there offer personalized coaching and instruction. But could I have gotten that for anywhere close to 99 USD that I paid for Magoosh? Impossible!
Joined: Jun 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 24, 2015
College: UCLA
Major: Sociology
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent resource to complement the GMAT Official Guide

June 30, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Magoosh is excellent as an alternative to expensive prep courses or private tutoring. You can study at your own pace and there are plenty of resources from video lessons to blog posts to flashcards.

I used a three month study plan (designed by Magoosh) that took the stress out of having to plan how to study for the test. It was quite effective for me.

Quant: I highly recommend Magoosh for Quant practice. The level of difficulty was about the same if not a bit harder than the actual test. What I really like is that the video lessons focus on core math concepts to help build your foundational knowledge and strengthen your logic skills. It's not about forcing you to memorize formulas blindly. The video lessons are also great because many practice questions share 2 different approaches to solving the questions and include helpful video lessons related to each problem.

Verbal: I did not spend much time watching Magoosh video lessons but I found the practice questions to be helpful with great explanations.
Joined: Mar 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 31, 2015
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Really good value for money

June 29, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I did not take the GMAT before the course, which means that in a way is harder to know how much Magoosh impacted my GMAT. However, I found it really usefull for the three following reasons: 1) verbal problemas are really good (I found many poor verbal problems in the internet which tend to be extremely confusing); 2) maths videos, problems and problems explanations were really good and really helped me to improve my maths score (which was my weakest area) and 3) the fact that everything ws online allowed me to go online and do a couple oc problems every time I would have 3 free min.

I finally got a 730 in my first try!

I thought it was a really good value for money.
Joined: Jun 22, 2015
Purchased Course: May 20, 2015
College: University of South Carolina
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The absolute best test prep out there

June 22, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Magoosh has collected all the necessary lessons into the most user friendly learning portal I have ever experienced. The lessons include countless hours of practice problems, examples, and explanations. The math training is absolutely invaluable to succeed on the exam. The instructors don't just teach the material, but offer insights on how questions are crafted and trap door answers that novices often fall prey to during the exam. Overall, a must have for any serious GMAT taker.
Joined: Jun 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 24, 2015
College: UCLA
Major: Sociology
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent resource to complement the GMAT Official Guide

June 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Magoosh offers test prep for an extremely reasonable price. They have so many resources, from video lessons to flash cards to practice tests to blog articles.

I used Magoosh's 3 month study plan to help guide my studies. It was a good resource to keep me on track and took the stress out of trying to plan how to study for the test.

Quant --
The quant lessons and practice questions are great. The video lessons focus on teaching you logic and reasoning instead of equations, and they help build these skills with each lesson. The lessons are particularly good at teaching you a new way to look at the question, and giving you a deeper understanding of mathematical concepts. The practice questions were very similar to what I actually saw on the test and each question comes with a video explanation as well as related video lessons. I like that many questions come with more than one way to solve problems. I think Magoosh's explanations are more thorough than ones you'd find in the GMAT Official Guide textbook.

Verbal --
I didn't rely on Magoosh too much for verbal except for the practice questions. The practice questions were similar to the level of difficulty that you'd see on the actual test.

IR--
I found the IR video explanations for the IR practice questions to be very helpful.

Overall I think Magoosh's offering is just as effective as tutoring, but is much more flexible and affordable. I increased my score (from my diagnostic test) by over 100 points.
Joined: Mar 23, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 15, 2014
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Practice Problems!

June 20, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The main advantage of Magoosh, in my opinion, is the large question bank. I used the question bank as a supplement to the MGMAT books, which provided my core skills. I ended up doing every quant and SC question available while allowed me to be ready for the test. The actual content was a bit harder than the actual test, making test day a breeze. Highly recommend Magoosh, especially at $99!
Joined: May 25, 2015
Purchased Course: May 25, 2015
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing value for money!

June 20, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

My GMAT score when I first took a trial test without any form of preparation whatsoever was 620. In three weeks, I took the real GMAT and got a score of 740. Magoosh GMAT math is extremely thorough. They have 800+ questions, that you can work on, by difficulty level. They have excellent (video) solution explanations for each question, that teach you the shortest way to get to the answer. Magoosh verbal covers the main points. It\'s good, but I think it takes more than this to substantially increase your verbal score. Overall, I am very happy with this prep tool and my GMAT results. Thank you Magoosh!
Joined: Jun 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 26, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

+110 in 2 month

June 18, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 530 After: 640

I chose the online video course model, because I was interested in a good value for money model. It was a great decision and I managed to score +110 compared to my first GMAT score, which was 530. The videos and all the tips which the magoosh teachers provide during the videos were very useful and the basis for my improvement. It was the best investment I could have made. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who seeks to improve his math and verbal knowledge.
Joined: Jun 15, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 29, 2015
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great guide for studying

June 15, 2015
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 770

When I first took the GMAT, my studying was erratic and I didn't really know how to approach studying for the GMAT.

Magoosh's 30 day guide truly helped me focus my studying and enabled me to get a score I wasn't even shooting for! I highly recommend the 30 day guide because, although it's brutal, it will get you prepared.

Thanks Magoosh!
Joined: Jun 12, 2015
Purchased Course: May 19, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Only prep I did (just a few weeks) and boosted my score from 690 to 770

June 12, 2015
  • Teacher: Online and mobile apps only
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 770

The subject videos and the videos that outline the approach to specific practice questions are clear, easy to understand, and hugely helpful. The quantitative section, my biggest challenge, broke the content down into easy, digestible chunks. The apps are great for fitting a little studying in on the go. Highly recommended!!
Joined: Jun 9, 2015
Purchased Course: May 12, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Value

June 9, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

After buying a more expensive course and access to additional tests, the Magoosh question bank (along with associated video explanations) was exactly what I was looking for to boost my score. Absolutely the right place to start for self-guided study.
Joined: Jun 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 31, 2015
College: Russia
Major: Economics
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great help for preparing

June 6, 2015
  • Teacher: Online course
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I absolutely enjoyed taking the course! You get access to tons of very nice lessons - I understood a lot more from just listening to these lessons and explanations to questions than from reading few 700 pages books. Both quantitative and verbal parts have tons of questions - it was a great practice ! I learnt to understand from these videos how to understand the logic that testmakers utilize and learn quite useful tricks for math section . Plus, whenever I had questions, Magoosh team was really prompt to respond and helped in every way they could. In my opinion, it's a very good price for a course like that and gives you a very good idea of the test.

Questions in math section appeared to be harder than on the real test - which was a benefit for me. As for timing, I learnt to pace myself quite well which saved me from panic during the exam. I would definitely recommend the course - and take advantage of every aspect of it from lessons to practice questions with explanations.
Joined: Nov 13, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 29, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great curriculum and pedagogy (especially for math)

June 2, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

Some of the few good things about Magoosh:

1. Great focus by Mike McGarry on developing skills like number sense and training your right brain to solve really challenging quant questions. Kudos to Mike for that.

2. Amazing study plans that are catered to all sorts of student needs. I just stuck to their verbal focussed plan as per my needs and the results were great. The important thing is the plan includes daily activities that span across the content area. In other words, they are full of "mixed" problem sets which closely imitates the actual GMAT scenario.

3. Practice questions were of very high quality, especially the "very hard" ones. I found that the "700+" questions designed by Magoosh were more close to the ones that would appear on GMAT. I find MGMAT questions just to be calculation intensive and far off the mark when it comes to the "700+" level interpretation of difficulty. The questions on the GMAT and Magoosh appear to be more focussed on your ability to find a solution path and once that becomes clear, the calculation is usually very fast.
Joined: May 24, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 28, 2015
College: Florida State University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is the best value on the market.

May 24, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 710

First I spend $800 for a prep course at a local university here in town and I scored 550. That wasn't going to cut it for the type of schools I wanted to attend. A good friend turned me on to Magoosh and it was the greatest gift he could have given me. First - I loved the $99 price tag. Im sure there are other good prep courses out there but I didn't feel comfortable forking out 1500 of my after tax dollar for a test. Magoosh is great because it allowed me to take as many practice test as my schedule could handle, I could customize to build up my weak areas, and they're a little bit harder than the real thing so test day was a breeze. In fact, when my actual test ended, I felt like I could keep going. Also video lessons allowed me to keep fresh on slow days at work. Overall, the Magoosh format was the best way for me to learn.
Joined: May 21, 2015
Purchased Course: May 9, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is THE BEST

May 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 550 After: 680

For those who are into self prep rather than going for classroom coaching...Magoosh is the write place...My verbal was terrible... Magoosh helped me to overcome that problem..I wish that i could have bought the Magoosh prep much earlier..If I had done that i am sure would have got much better score(It was more of a last minute preparation and was unable to look much into much of Magoosh math) .

Best factors:

*Magoosh interface(the website platform) is quite user friendly and visually appealing ...

*Has a large question bank which covers the important concepts in GMAT

*Each question has an explanatory video( i was quite impressed with that) plus links to videos covering topics related to the question.

* It has a really good faculty who are friendly and always there to clear your doubts..(Which i feel is the most important factor in such courses)

*Magoosh makes GMAT prep fun :D
Joined: May 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 6, 2015
College: Wayne State University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Taught Me How to Improve My Quant Score

May 18, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 620

The Magoosh Quant + IR preparation tools were so easy to use and understand. The online availability allowed me to study anywhere while frequently travelling without needing to haul study books and prep materials with me everywhere I went. This convenience was crucial in motivating me to regularly study. The video lessons were short but detailed and engaged me to learn the material in a more thorough way than I had been in just using prep books. My lessons page even kept track of lessons I had already viewed and ones that I had not, so I never had to guess what I had looked at already. It was also extremely useful to have the "Custom Practice" section where I could customize the number of practice questions I wanted in a session, with a defined difficulty level, time limits, and focused areas of study. This was all much easier than doing it manually using the study books. I definitely saw improvement in my Quant score and of my overall grasp of the math concepts by using Magoosh and I highly recommend it to everyone looking for an affordable, convenient, and thorough means with which to prepare for the GMAT.
Joined: May 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 7, 2015
College: Amherst College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful Prep Tools

May 18, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 720

Magoosh does a great job breaking down all of the different areas of study. Being able to make custom practice sets that focused on specific areas and were timed was most helpful. I also liked that you can flag questions in the practice sets, so you know to review them later even if you happened to get the answer right by guessing.

Each practice question has a link to its relevant video tutorials in the answer section. This helped me go back and review the fundamental concepts when I didn't understand a questions.

Overall Magoosh is a great product and well worth the price.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 11 12 13 14 15 16 17