Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: May 23, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 24, 2017
College: Maastricht University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Verified Real Student Review

With Magoosh from 510 to 660

May 23, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 660

I have used the Magoosh Premium Course in order to retake the GMAT approximately 2 months after my first try. With Magoosh, I have been able to focus especially on the verbal part. In particular the SC videos are very well organised with good content. The examples are well chosen and the explanations are very easy to grasp. I also very much appreciated that you can actually pick the topic you want to work on. The transparent overview of all topics allowed me to efficiently chose the right topics for my practice. Within 3 weeks, I have managed to improve my verbal score from 23 to 35.
With regards to the Quant part of the GMAT, I also improved my overall score from 37 to 46. Here, I also appreciated the very convenient and transparent overview of all courses and the excellent content of the videos explaining the theory.
An additional aspect I also really liked while studying with Magoosh was the responsiveness in case I had any questions. After submitting my question, I usually received a convenient answer within the next 24 hours.

Overall, I have nothing negative to say about Magoosh. Something to consider when looking for a course is the fact that all content can be learned via videos. This way off teaching is very appealing to me and helped me to understand and grasp all concepts faster.
Consequently, I can only encourage you to sign up for a free trial.

Good Luck!
Joined: May 21, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh raised my GMAT score by 100 points

May 21, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 750

After a disappointing second GMAT attempt, I signed up for Magoosh Premium Prep. I followed the Advanced 3 Month Study Plan (with a full time job it took me 5 months). Magoosh provided a structured study approach and high quality resources. I am a visual learner, so the online lessons and detailed explanations of each question were very valuable. It was easy to see where I needed to focus my prep and the online platform helped to facilitate targeted and productive studying. I loved that I could email the team at Magoosh with a question about an Official Guide problem and would hear back within 12 hours (often faster). The actual GMAT was a piece of cake compared to the practice tests and questions I had done. I highly recommend Magoosh. I wish I had discovered it sooner!
Joined: May 18, 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 24, 2017
College: Pennsylvania State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Premium

May 20, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Magoosh was by far the best prep material for my study style. I am a visual learner, so their instructional videos made the learning process significantly easier. The videos specifically for problem solving made understanding patterns much easier and helped raise my practice Q score from 43 to 49 on test day. I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone prepping for the GMAT, especially students who are visual learners.
Joined: Apr 13, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 17, 2017
College: Georgetown University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible Prep for Disciplined Students!

April 13, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I used the online curriculum to prepare for the GMAT since my schedule requires me travel often and can change day to day. Obviously, in person classes weren't an option and this definitely worked better for me anyways! I didn't spend any time rehashing what I understood and focused instead on my areas of weakness. Not only did the program significantly improve my math skills, but also my verbal as well. Prior to test prep, I was scoring in the high 500/low 600 range. I worked pretty intensively (12 weeks at 2-3 hours a day, 6 days a week) and was able to achieve much higher than I anticipated!
Joined: Apr 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 19, 2017
College: University of Melbourne
Major: Chemical Engineering
Country: Thailand
Verified Real Student Review

MOST EFFECTIVE AND AFFORABLE

April 10, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 620

Magoosh provides very flexible way of getting done. juggling with a full time job, i couldnt attend normal prep classes like many other people. Magoosh gave me the option to study at night. In only about 1 month of prep-ing i got the score that i can be happy with.
Joined: Apr 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 7, 2016
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Tool - Highly Recommended

April 6, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I'm not typically one to write reviews - but I genuinely have nothing but good things to say about Magoosh. As a student that had been out of post-secondary for 6+ years, I had a lot of catching up to do, especially when it came to my quantitative skills.

On the first official GMAT practice test I took (December 2016), I got a 500. Needless to say, I was worried. After reading some reviews, I decided to go with Magoosh as my study tool and it really worked for me. All the video lessons were so helpful. Not only was the teacher excellent, but the fact that you did practice questions in the middle of the video (which were then taken up), was great. Also, the 1.5x speed option was fantastic, allowed me to get more in, in a shorter period of time, while still being able to keep up.

I wrote my official GMAT yesterday (April 2017) and got a 710. A huge improvement, in large part to the teaching that Magoosh exposed me to (alongside lots of commitment, of course - nothing comes for free!).

As a side note, Magoosh also has great customer support. I had to get in touch with them twice, and they were very quick to respond.

Thank you, Magoosh!
Joined: Mar 26, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2017
College: Purdue University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Utilities
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thoroughly prepared with Magoosh

March 26, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I was extremely happy with the GMAT preparation I received from Magoosh. I had about a month and a half to prepare starting from nothing. The first practice test I took I received a 540. I structured my studying such that I tried to watch the entire set of video lessons in each topic one day at a time, then doing an additional 10-15 practice problems if I had time. The lessons were thorough, and they stressed just the right points to maximize my time and effort. I believe that the questions on Magoosh were reasonably more difficult than the actual GMAT questions, so I would absolutely recommend using Magoosh to prepare. By studying for a solid month, watching each video, doing three practice exams in total, and doing about 200 total questions from Magoosh, I was well prepared and walked out of the exam with a 730. That score improvement of 540 to 730 was solely due to the preparation I received from Magoosh.
Joined: Mar 18, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

March 21, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I used Magoosh as my only preparation for the GMAT, aside from a handful of books I purchased. I was worried that I wasn't going to be able to be competitive since I couldn't afford to take a $1000+ course. However, I found the resources Magoosh offered to extremely helpful and clear. I am naturally a verbal person, so I didn't use their verbal section, but I found quant section to be extremely challenging. The huge benefit of this service is that every single question has a video explanation, and often a text explanation with a different way of doing the problem, as well as links to relevant videos. The primary instructor, Mike McGarry, has a very clear writing style and was not only great at explaining how to do specific problems, but also at explaining entirely new ways of thinking. At his suggestion I started to develop "number sense," a concept I was previously unfamiliar with. Using this resource daily over about 6 months, I moved my quant score from the 40th percentile to the 87th percentile, and my overall score from a 630 to a 760. I was actually shocked by the score on test day - the highest that I got on a practice test was 710. But I was practicing with only "very hard" questions, so on the test itself I could not believe how easy it was.
Joined: Mar 19, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 5, 2016
College: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Most User-Friendly Online GMAT Course

March 20, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 710

If you're looking for an online GMAT study course, I can't recommend the Magoosh Premium Prep more highly. What I particularly like about the program is how easy it was for me to simply go into the program and practice at my own pace. I could customize my study plan and watch the video lessons that I needed to, skipping the ones where I already felt comfortable.

Before working with Magoosh, I had been studying with The Economist GMAT Tutor, which I also found really helpful. The difference between the two, however, comes down to overall value. With Magoosh, my access was for a full year, while I could only use The Economist GMAT Tutor for a few months. Magoosh's programs are also a fraction of the cost of similar online courses. I paid ~$700 for The Economist's program and only $100 for Magoosh's program.

The one thing I will note is that my practice test scores on Magoosh were consistently lower than what I was getting with The Economist GMAT Tutor. This was a positive result, since the low scores were a good nudge for me to keep studying and refining my strategy.
Joined: Mar 18, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 16, 2017
College: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was totally worth the money!

March 18, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I signed up for Magoosh about a month and a half before my GMAT. I had just started studying but really needed something to keep me on track and make studying simple when I wasn't feeling up to the task of reading chapters in a book. The Magoosh video series was so easy to understand and the lessons are broken down into short videos varying from a couple of minutes to maybe fifteen minutes max. They were easy to start at any time and stop and the professors were easy to understand.

There were also about 1,200 questions provided for both Quant and Verbal sections combined and every question had an explanation. I paid $149 total for the online course and it was money well spent. I suggest you take this course for lessons and possibly supplement with outside questions and exams for more practice.
Joined: Mar 16, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 20, 2017
College: Bocconi University
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

Mastering your analytical skills

March 16, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 730

Magoosh was really helpful in making me look at problems from another perspective. People tend to underestimate the fact that 50% of the difficulty of the question consists in understanding what is actually being asked. Magoosh lessons, bot quant and verbal, put you on the right track to master question rephrasing. They help you understand what was the GMAC member thinking when writing the question and what capabilities are being testes. Moreover, the video explanations for every question are always really detailed, and they make you realize not only what was the mistake itself, but also the root of the mistake. So why did you make that mistake? What was your logical scheme that led to that misake? I'm not an english-native speaker, thus this kind of reasoning, of always going back to the root of the problem by backward reasoning, helped me a lot in mastering the Verbal part, where I scored 41, 7 points more than in the first attempt at GMAT.

In addition, Magoosh team was really helpful and available for any problem or technical issue arising during the course. Totally worth it!
Joined: Mar 14, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 9, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

When in a pinch

March 14, 2017
  • Teacher: Mick McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 650

I took the GMAT studying with friend's books for several months and got a 590, a score i felt was fair for the effort I put in. I spoke to some friends who were looking to go to grad school and who were scoring in the low to mid 600s. I was using a online tutor and she suggested that I check out Magoosh. As it turns out, I was already a member and had used their free week trial many months earlier. I upgraded to the premium and started from square one. Mike narrates most of the videos for math which was where I was looking to improve. The videos were simple to follow and not too long where I would lose focus. Magoosh's format is such that when I was at work and had a few minutes here and there I would be able to crank out a few problems or watch a video. Their app is also conducive for on-the-go learning. I took the GMAT after spending several months with Magoosh and scored a 650. A score which I am very happy with. I highly recommend Magoosh to anyone looking for that little something extra to help them study and for students who are on-the-go like I was.
Joined: Mar 13, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 12, 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great software - easy to use at your own pace

March 13, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The massive bank of questions with detailed explanation videos helped me really perfect my strategy and really master the material.

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone, great deal for the price point. Only qualm that I had with it was that it seemed to greatly decrease the scores on practice tests which was a bit discouraging! I got 680 and 710 on the GMAT Prep practice tests and 710 on actual test. On Magoosh practice tests I never broke 600! While this did frustrate me it also motivated me to study harder so maybe it's a pro for some!

Overall great product. Would recommend for anyone looking to improve their GMAT techniques and strategy.
Joined: Mar 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 14, 2016
Major: Business
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Premium

March 6, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 680

Magoosh helped me considerably increase my score. The videos are very helpful and well explained. They have videos for everything you need to know for the GMAT. The customer service is great, they always answer very fast and they make sure you have the best experience with their website. This is a great affordable tool, I recommend it!
Joined: Mar 4, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 28, 2017
College: University of South Carolina
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

620 to 760

March 6, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 760

I took the GMAT 5 years ago with no studying and got a 620. When I decided to go back to get an MBA, I registered for Magoosh and began following their 6 month study schedule for people starting at square one. After three months I saw such massive improvements that I decided to take another practice test. I scored a 750 and a 760 on my practice tests and decided it was time to take the test. On the official GMAT I scored another 760. I absolutely attribute this 140 point increase to Magoosh. I probably finished less than half of their study plan, so can only imagine the improvement for someone with the time to complete the entire thing.
Joined: Mar 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 22, 2016
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wealth of resources and strategies for every component of GMAT

March 6, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 650

My first day of GMAT preparation I took one of the OG practice tests and scored a 610. From there I began studying with Magoosh following the 3-month beginner study plan. I found this to be too much to fit into my schedule - currently working full-time and the months fell over the holidays. I spread some of the material out over the course of a couple of days because I had a long runway before my exam date, but toward the end I resorted to self-guided video lessons, practice problems and flashcard review. This summed to around 8-10 hours of study per week.

Core materials:
- Video lessons
- Practice problems
- Flashcards
- OG practice problems (bought the book on Amazon)

Mike is amazing. Truly so smart and a great teacher. Watch as many of the video lessons as you can, even if by the title you assume you are already a whiz. The tips and tricks gained from these videos are priceless. The other teachers are great too, but he is the star.

One feature I really enjoyed was the score estimate calculator based on the practice problems completed in your profile. On the high end, Magoosh estimated my scores to be 39 for Math and 38 for Verbal. My exam scores ended up being a 42 in Math and a 38 in Verbal, which I was pleased with and made sense because my score estimate stemmed from my total bank of answered practice questions.

The flashcard apps were nice for while on the go, but I admittedly did not gain nearly as much from them as from the practice problems and videos. The vocabulary one was the most helpful.

For next time:
Yes, there is going to be a next time. While I was happy to see the score increase from my initial raw test results, I feel that if I dedicated time to the following I can increase my 650 to closer to my goal of 700. One mistake I made was always doing the practice problems in practice mode, which gave me the habit of having time between each question to watch the video lesson and regroup. On test day, this is not an option, and I felt pressed for time during the Math section.

tldr; Magoosh is amazing! Use all of the resources and you will gain a lot! Good luck!
Joined: Nov 20, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2, 2016
College: Boston College
Major: Economics
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

6 months of study to 750!

March 4, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 570 After: 750

I'm so pleased with how magoosh helped me prepare for the GMAT. I mostly only used the quant so that's all I can really comment on. I did the videos and worked through the example questions and then found myself doing really well on the practice questions. When I did the GMAT Prep practice tests, i found the lessons in magoosh easily applicable. The teacher was clear and easy to listen to and overall very easy to follow and comprehensive. After I had finished all the questions, I went back and redid all my incorrect ones. After doing this, i was well prepped for the exam and ended up scoring a 50 on quant.
Joined: Mar 3, 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 19, 2016
College: Univeresity of Notre Dame
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic GMAT Prep Tool - Got Me to 780

March 3, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 780

Magoosh really set itself apart from other GMAT study tools. I used Magoosh to complement the Manhattan study tools. The Manhattan guides more basic and helped build a foundation, but didn't challenge me or help me learn more difficult concepts. I used both the Quant and the Verbal question banks and found the to far exceed my expectations. First of all, they were online and allowed you to easily access questions whenever and wherever you want. Second, the questions had a good range of difficulties and adjusted the difficulty as you do more problems to challenge you just enough to maximize your time and improvement. Third, and most importantly, Magoosh had, by far, the BEST explanations for question solutions. They had both a written explanation and a video explanation that was very thorough in walking you through the reasoning behind the answer. Importantly, they put it in simpler terms so you fully understand where you went wrong and why you got the question wrong. The most important part in studying for the GMAT isn't just doing questions or putting hours in. It is really analyzing your mistakes and trying to avoid making the same mistakes again. Magoosh has made that very, very easy.

Additionally, Magoosh's online software platform is by far the smoothest and user friendly. I highly recommend using Magoosh. My first practice test was a 650 and by the end I was scoring a 770 and 780 consistently.
Joined: Feb 19, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 5, 2017
College: New York University
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Affordable, engaging, and helpful content.

February 19, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

This was my first time taking the GMAT. The prep materials I used were the 2016 Official Guide for 3 months + Magoosh Prep for the final month before my test date. I had done the 2016 Official Guide before, but was having difficulty retaining any information from doing the work in the textbook?the solutions were text heavy and difficult to read.

Magoosh's premium package had a question bank, practice tests, solution videos, and lessons for only $150, compared to Manhattan Prep's $1000. I found the solution videos particularly helpful because they walked me step-by-step through any problem that I had trouble with while explaining the general concept behind each answer, so I started to catch onto the patterns in the GMAT. I found the Magoosh Prep to be slightly harder in terms of Quant and Verbal than the real test, so when I actually took it, I had a +160 point difference than the anticipated score on Magoosh.
Joined: Feb 13, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 1, 2016
College: Maastricht University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Best help I could have wished for!

February 13, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I only had a month for studying while working full-time as a consultant in the first three weeks. The impressive amount of study material provided by Magoosh with hundreds of explanations from Mike helped me so much to get my score, I couldn't have done it without Magoosh! They have so many video lessons, practice questions and even video explanations for every single practice question, too. I have to say that a month is not a lot of time to prepare for the GMAT, at least two more weeks or so would be good, so better take your time, but either way, it is definitely doable with Magoosh which is worth every cent!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 12 13 14 15 16