Test Prep Companies,GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jan 9, 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 17, 2017
College: University of Kent (UK)
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource!

January 9, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 600 After: 680

I couldn't be happier with the Magoosh course. I used mostly the maths video lessons and practice questions and managed to get 80 points more in comparison to a practice test I took only 3 weeks before my actual exam. It is a great resource and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone willing to significantly increase their score in a very short period of time.
Joined: Dec 27, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 23, 2017
College: Loyola University Chicago
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Don't blow thousands on expensive test prep!

December 27, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I started using Magoosh about three months before taking the GMAT, and I am thrilled with the results! I hadn't done any sort of math over 4.5 years of professional experience following my undergraduate studies. I don't have a pre-Magoosh score because I never made it through the first practice exam. I had NO IDEA how to answer almost ANY of the math problems. Mike came to the rescue! His videos explain everything you need to know to be successful on the exam, and nothing that you don't. He even explains along the lines of "this topic gets complicated if you dive in more deeply, but it won't be on the test, so don't bother!"

It's not just video lessons, Mike and his team provide video solutions to every single practice problem. On the message boards, you can find more solutions to official guide questions. Text explanations are often very hard to follow and can cause headaches (especially in the official guide) but the videos walk you through each problem step by step, and REALLY make a difference.

The best part is, it's not an expensive class! Magoosh is a steal compared to many in-person classes that charge four figures to attend. In classes like those, you're stuck with the course. Magoosh allows you to replay lessons on difficult topics and rewind videos to make sure an idea sinks in. In conjunction with the suggested study schedule, I believe this is far superior GMAT trainer, and WILL raise you score bigtime!
Joined: Dec 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 13, 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Emphasis on Understanding, and Practice, Practice, Practice!

December 2, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

Prior to starting with Magoosh, I took practice tests and my highest score was 570. I signed up for a free one-week GMAT prep with Magoosh and was stunned by the level of detail in the few explanation videos I had access to. So I decided to sign up for the premium package which covers all the math topics encountered in the GMAT Quant section. There are hundreds of practice problems ranging from easy questions to very difficult ones, and a timer helps you keep track of your pace. For every practice problem, there is a video explaining how to arrive at the correct answer. There are also dozens and dozens of video lessons that provide a thorough understanding of all the concepts. I kept watching the video lessons and practicing questions and I probably went through more than a hundred sheets of paper doing practice questions! The Verbal Reasoning, Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing lessons are also very thorough; however, I focused more on Quant because of my limited time. On test day I made sure to choose Option 3, which has the Quant section first, followed by Verbal, then IR, and, lastly, AW. I was confident because I had not memorized a bunch of formulas, rather, I understood the concepts and was able to answer questions using different approaches and still arrive at the same answer. Thank you Magoosh!
Joined: Nov 19, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 26, 2017
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Prep Resource!

November 29, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 690

My tutor actually recommended Magoosh as a supplemental prep resource. I cannot emphasize just how helpful and integral Magoosh was in my Quant prep. For context, I scored in the mid 500s on my very first diagnostic test. My Quant score was miserable and I desperately needed help improving in this area. My amazing tutor brought me up to speed, but told me to keep drilling with problems out of the OG Guide and Magoosh. There are tons of problems in the Magoosh questions so you'll never feel like you're running out. Every problem comes with a video and text explanation which are extremely helpful when you just aren't getting it. You can even filter problems by difficulty and flag ones you want to come back to, or re-do problems that you got incorrect. The interface is very user friendly which makes for a much more enjoyable prep experience. I've seen other online prep resources that seemed way too unorganized or hard to read that it deterred me from wanting to drill problems continuously.

Fast forward to last week, I took the real thing and scored a 690 (Q47)! This is the highest that I scored on any of my practice tests, and specifically on Quant. Considering where I was before I started prepping, this was truly a dream score for me. I could not have asked for a better result and absolutely recommend it to anyone looking to up their Quant game.
Joined: Nov 22, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 19, 2017
College: UNC Wilmington
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hidden Gem of the GMAT Prep World

November 22, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

When I was shopping around for various GMAT Prep courses, I was disappointed at how expensive all of the packages were. But a friend of mine who scored 700 on his GMATs strongly recommended Magoosh along with the GMAT Official Guide, which totaled about 25% of the costs of other leading brands.

I was blown away. On the blog, there are tips and (most importantly for me) different study schedules that you can select. I picked and held to a study schedule, and it prepared me for the exam right on time.

The practice problems were most helpful for my study style. After I watched the teaching videos and went through the entire question bank, I started taking 20-question quizzes and watching the videos following each question to understand why I got the question wrong or what shortcuts I could have taken if I had got the question right.

If you are wondering which GMAT Prep course to get, and you don't need to be one-on-one with an instructor, let me save you some time and money: buy Magoosh, and buy the GMAT Official Guide.
Joined: Nov 21, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 17, 2017
College: University of Bristol
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Military
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Logican, progressive and delivers the results.

November 21, 2017
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I'm 38 and studied for the GMAT at a later stage in life than I'd recommend.

This is noteworthy as the maths is approachable for people like me who are coming at this with a mixed level of knowledge. You can work at your own speed and the video lessons in particular are great if you've forgotten it all!

The aspect I'd recommend the most is the massive question bank with video explanations. This is great when you're just starting out and need to know the start points for your questions. Once you've worked through a reasonable number of these your provided some great data to fine tune your study time.

Using Magoosh, I surpassed my aim by 30 points 2 months ahead of schedule (I'd allowed 6). This is the strongest recommendation I can offer; it's thanks to Magoosh that I'll not be studying over Christmas for the GMAT!
Joined: Nov 16, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 22, 2017
College: Dartmouth College
Major: English
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh - SO worth it!

November 16, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

Magoosh's content, study schedules, flashcards, and easy-to-navigate site were SO helpful during my GMAT prep. I began studying for the GMAT in mid-September and spent about 2 months studying before taking the test on November 16. When I took the initial diagnostic tests, I scored a 710 - I would have been happy if that had been my final score, but I wanted to gain some confidence through additional prep and practice. I very loosely followed Magoosh's 12-week advanced GMAT study plan during the 8 weeks I devoted to studying (pro tip: skip some of the supplemental math materials; they're not nearly as helpful as Magoosh's questions).

I also liked that I always had access to Magoosh. I didn't need to lug around a heavy textbook - I could just login when I had a free moment to solve a few problems.

All in all, great resource. Well done, Magoosh. Thanks for the help!
Joined: Nov 10, 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 16, 2015
College: C Abdul Hakeem College of Engineering and Technology
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is amazing

November 13, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

Magoosh has great content that you will enjoy while you prepare for the GMAT. I bet that there is no other product that offers such quality material as Magoosh does at a better price. Mike is amazing! I am a big fan of Mike and I love the way he teaches both Math and Verbal concepts. He emphasizes on understanding the basics, knowing multiple ways to solve a problem so that you understand the topic more deeply, and not applying--sometimes even knowing --the formulae without understanding the core concept behind them. Magoosh also provides many other apps such as Flash cards for Idioms, Mental Maths, Math etc., You will benefit a lot from these apps if you spend just 15 minutes everyday. Moreover, Magoosh offers many freebies such as the idiom e-book, blogs, some apps, and my favorites Magoosh study schedule and book recommendations.
Joined: Nov 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 19, 2017
College: Bard College
Major: Creative Writing
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

From 0 to 740 in six weeks

November 2, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I had never even taken a practice test when I began the Magoosh program six weeks before my scheduled GMAT. I followed their four-week daily guide, which worked very well for me. Their video lessons are comprehensive and got me familiar and comfortable with all of the material and strategies I needed to succeed. The math lessons were particularly helpful. Their practice questions are hard and there are lots of them. I found them to be a bit harder than the questions in the Official Guide and also those on the actual test, which was great getting me as prepared as possible.
Joined: Oct 24, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 14, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course at a Great Price!

November 1, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

If you are looking for a self paced course then this is the best option out there. The lesson videos easily break the material into 5-10 minute clips that make the content seem very manageable. They also provides 3 month lesson plans that break down what you should review each day to complete the content. This is very helpful for holding yourself accountable. One of the most valuable tools is that each of their online practice questions has an answer video that will walk you through the problem. They also have links to related lesson plans which makes it easier to pinpoint the areas that you need to review.
Joined: Oct 24, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2, 2017
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

100 Point Increase using Magoosh

October 24, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I purchased the Magoosh Premium program. I had heard from a friend that it was an essential study help and that it was extremely affordable. With that background I pulled the trigger and got started. I had less than two months to study (and my wife was pregnant, which didn't make things easier). I watched all of the Quantitative videos and did about 400 practice questions on Magoosh. When I took my first practice GMAT exam I scored a 590, with verbal in the 90th percentile and quant in the 30th percentile... I obviously needed to focus on the quantitative section. After my many hours of study, I ended up with a 46 on quant, which was amazing for me. My final score was a 690. I'm certain that I couldn't have done it without Magoosh.
Joined: Jan 24, 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 5, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

prepare for gmat with the leader!

October 22, 2017
  • Teacher: Anne
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

magoosh video lessons are best. All the GMAT topics are covered wonderfully! Also the OG video solution for maths came in handy. The practice questions helped me a lot in finding out my weak areas. At the end of each session, it also suggested me some video lessons that helped me improving specific areas.
Another thing that really impressed me was their prompt response to my queries, be it related to specific questions or GMAT as a whole. Magoosh played a very important role in my GMAT preparation.
Thier support is the un matched. go for magoosh without any doubt.
Joined: Oct 21, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 8, 2017
College: Pennsylvania State University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Legal Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great service with lots of resources

October 21, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I thought this was a great program. I am many years out of undergrad, and was overwhelmed with re-learning the math to take the GMAT. I thought I was pretty much hopeless, but the videos, flashcards, study schedule, and huge supply of practice questions helped me get back up to speed. I'm really happy with my score and I'm glad that I invested in the Magoosh program.
Joined: Oct 20, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 28, 2017
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh GMAT Prep Is a Lifesaver

October 20, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 520 After: 660

After taking the GMAT once and doing very poorly on it, I knew that I needed to improve my score by at least 50-80 points. With Magoosh, I improved my score by 140 points. This not only restored a sense of confidence in my abilities, but it also made me realize how beneficial Magoosh was for me. I hadn't taken a math class since high school, so every single math lesson video was a refresher course and re-taught me all the pesky rules I had forgotten about that had previously tripped me up in my earlier GMAT prep. I was decent at verbal in the first place, but I always got extremely frustrated with critical reasoning questions. The Magoosh videos and hundreds of practice problems finally made me understand what the critical reasoning questions were looking for. By the time I took the test again, I felt like every Quant and Verbal practice question I had seen in Magoosh, even the medium ones, were harder than any question I saw on my real GMAT. Additionally, as a broke undergrad, the $120 I paid for a yearlong premium subscription seemed like pocket change for what I got in return for using the program. You seriously cannot beat 100+ lesson videos and hundreds of adaptive and well-explained practice questions. To sum up my experience with Magoosh, I'll leave a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
-Math lesson videos are extensive
-Math practice questions are extensive and all-encompassing
-Critical reasoning question explanations were extremely thourough
-Reading comprehension passages were way harder than anything I saw on the real thing
-Cost

Cons:
-Reading comprehension videos could be a bit more descriptive

If you're shooting for admission to public, mid-tier state school specialized masters programs and a goal score of 700 or less, you seriously cannot go wrong with Magoosh.
Joined: Oct 13, 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 3, 2017
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The only non-OG resource I used and you'll ever need.

October 13, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Magoosh is the only resource I used apart from the OGs. I followed their 1 month study schedule and managed a 710. The quant lessons were very detailed and I wasn't taken by surprise by any of the questions on the actual GMAT. All thanks to Mike and his pedagogy.
Joined: Sep 25, 2017
Purchased Course: May 23, 2017
College: University of Kansas
Major: Political Science
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An all around amazing tool

September 25, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 760

My career has been in politics. I'm 32, and the last math class I took was in high school (college Calculus in 2004).

I began studying for the GMAT about 2 years ago (Fall of 2015), as time allowed. I knew that I was going to be applying for matriculation to business school in the Fall of 2018. I bought the 2016 Official GMAT Guide, and began working through it slowly but surely.

Fast forward to November 2016, when I began studying in earnest. I'd take a few hours every weekend, and work through an amount of problems roughly equal to the GMAT, with the distribution of question types roughly even to that on the GMAT, as best as I could engineer. I really struggled, but figured it was because I hadn't taken a math class in over a decade, and, as a fairly bright guy, assumed it would come back to me with practice.

Fast forward again to the Spring of 2017. I had signed up for the actual test (August 2017). I was studying pretty much every day at that point, all on my own. I found myself making the same mistakes over and over, and really hitting a wall as far as my improvement and progress. After what can only be described as a nervous breakdown (I'm KIND of kidding), I began to look into 12 week prep courses. Because of my schedule, I determined I couldn't do a traditional prep course (Manhattan, Kaplan, etc) because I couldn't guarantee I could carve out a three-hour window on "x-night" every week for 12 weeks. I then began looking at online prep courses, and came across Magoosh. After reading some extremely positive reviews, and determining that the price was certainly right, I signed up for Magoosh.

I can unequivocally state that signing up for Magoosh was the best decision I made in the GMAT prep process. There is nothing I didn't like about Magoosh. I used the 3-month study plan for advanced students (I knew I needed an elite score - 700+). While demanding, the study plan forced me to keep myself accountable, on track, and allowed me to really dedicate myself to the process. Beyond that, the online questions that Magoosh has are varied, completely customizable, and extremely helpful. The online videos, both for materials and for answers, really help you to understand the logic behind questions. The online help is responsive and insightful. The tools that Magoosh provides were absolutely amazing, and in many instances, prepare you for questions that are harder than anything you'll actually see on the GMAT.

But I think the most important thing about Magoosh is the central philosophy behind the product. The materials are not presented to teach you how to do (insert random skill here). The materials are prepared so you learn the logic behind the problems. As anyone who has taken the GMAT will tell you - the test does not test your math and english knowledge as much as it tests your ability to understand the logic behind the questions. The test is about figuring out the problems, not about answering them.

I had taken one practice test right before signing up for Magoosh and scored a 610 (Q: 40, V: 34, IR: 6, AWA: 4.5).

After more than 12 weeks of using Magoosh, I scored a 760 (Q:50, V:42, IR: 8, AWA: 6).

I'm fully confident I'd not have been able to crack 700 without Magoosh. Hopefully, I never have to take a standardized test again, but if I do, Magoosh is the first place I'll turn. I'll recommend Magoosh to anyone I encounter in the future who is studying for a standardized test.

The one thing I will "warn" people considering signing up for Magoosh about is that it forces you to hold yourself accountable. If you are one that has trouble getting motivated, and really needs a presence forcing you to do what you need to do, Magoosh is likely not the product for you. If you will do better reporting to a teacher, and being assigned homework, look at one of the more traditional prep courses. But if you are able to keep yourself motivated, to force yourself to do the work, and to keep yourself driven, you don't need to look any further than Magoosh.
Joined: Sep 6, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 8, 2016
Major: Business
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh- A great course

September 16, 2017
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 400 After: 660

I sat for the Gmat and scored 660 Q47 V34. I can definitely say that my Q47 is a product of Magoosh preparation since i didn't use any other products or books, not even the OG. Mike McGarry and his team have put a great product out there-designed, in my opinion for 660-700 level score targets. They don't have many super hard questions of the level 700-800 that you will see on the gmat if you are striving for a Q51 but, you probably don't need them. To be honest, there are questions of this level, but only in a small number, in my opinion not adequate to get the elusive Q51. If you want a 660 with a low cost, go for Magoosh. The Verbal part is renowned also.

The course has 1 year subscription for a small amount of money while other prep companies ask a lot of money for only a fraction of this time.

The Magoosh team is always there to resolve any queries with a lot of effort. Other prep companies answer very sparingly. Magoosh instructors may write 1-2 pages to help you with only one question.

The question bank is well inspired as it helps you build the quizzes you want and the analysis helps you home in on your weaknesses and Beat Them!

One thing that could make the course better is the number of questions. If the team adds some more questions (i myself like to practice a lot ) the product will be amazing.

Overall, this course provides a great ROI and i highly recommend it. Anyone out there trying to study all alone with only free resources no matter how poor you are, find a promotion of Magoosh and buy it. You will remember me.
Joined: Sep 7, 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 18, 2016
College: Bannari Amman institute of Technology
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A resource for the best GMAT score

September 8, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The course was really good!!

The videos were really good and comprehensive. The instructors were very well versed, witty and made the classes really interesting. And a special mention to the video explanations of the questions which really helped me understand the questions and where I went wrong.

The question bank which Magoosh is really really thorough and encompasses almost every single type of question you can think of. Sorting through types of questions and the topics from which they come from helped me to understand which topics needed more concentration

All in all, the course helped me get a 720 ( Q 49, V 39) on my first attempt and I would recommend this course wholeheartedly to everyone who wants to prepare for GMAT.
Joined: Sep 2, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2, 2017
College: Toronto
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Course - got a 730 on my first attempt!

September 2, 2017
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

The course was absolutely amazing. While the video lessons were fantastic, it was the detailed video explainations of the comprehensive question bank that truly made Magoosh crucial to my prep. I did also greatly appreciate the videos on what to expect on the test day, tips for before the test day and also on how to answer the essay question.

While I did do all the GmatPrep tests as well as the Official Guide questions, Magoosh helped provide me with a strong foundation, especially in quant. However, in all honesty, I believe that they need to fix up the score predictor as, atleast in my case, it was quite off.

That minor issue aside, I would strongly recommend this course as it helped me score a 730 (Q47 V42) on my very first attempt!
Joined: Aug 26, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 18, 2017
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The only course you need, it has everything!!

August 26, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

The Magoosh platform is simply amazing. The video lessons explain every topic that could possibly be covered on the GMAT, complete with tips on what the GMAT test makers are thinking and tricks on how to approach seemingly complex problems. There are tons of practice problems that you can create custom practice sets with, with the ability to select which topics, what difficulty level, how many problems, etc. each time. The absolute best part is the fact that they have video explanations for every single practice question. I watched the video for every problem that I got wrong or guessed on or was unsure of in some way and it helped me learn way faster than trying to read text explanations for everything. I started my Magoosh Premium subscription after taking the GMATFree practice tests and 5.5 weeks later I went from a 670 to a 730. I definitely recommend it!!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 12 13 14 15 16