Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Mar 22, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 31, 2014
College: University of Edinburgh
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

An amazing resource that I wish I found earlier

March 22, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 750

My first mock test (GMATPrep), conducted before any studying as a diagnostic, yielded a 690. I initially used Kaplan books to prepare for the GMAT, but in hindsight it was quite possibly a waste of time. More than a month later, with intensive study, I got a 710. Long story short, I did better on a few mocks (730-740) and then, on test day, got a 710.

For my retake, I wanted to switch strategies, and came across Magoosh. I was very fortunate in that I grabbed their Premium Prep for 99 dollars on sale. At this price, it was an absolute steal. With just two weeks to prepare, I managed to drastically improve my performance, and got a 750 on the day (I even got a 790 on a Veritas mock test as well, but in my opinion their verbal is way easier than the official).

What makes Magoosh such an effective resource? That probably depends on the person, but for me it was:

- Visual and audio learning is far more effective for me than books (you need to figure out what works for you).
- The bite-sized videos helped keep my concentration very high, versus a never-ending textbook, and is also great in that you can plug in 5-10 minutes of study throughout your day if need be.
- The explanations for each and every question provided are terrific, much better than the official question banks.
- I listened to the videos at 1.5x speed, the ability to change speeds is fantastic as you can tune it to your needs in a way that it's not too slow (boring, lose focus) and not too fast (doesn't sink in).

I am confident that I would not have done as well without Magoosh, and highly recommend it!
Joined: Mar 22, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 17, 2015
College: University of Mannheim
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Very good preparation for the GMAT

March 22, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 690

Magoosh was an essential part of my preparation and helped me to raise my score!
Joined: Mar 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 28, 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: Japan
Verified Real Student Review

Recommended, especially for practice-learning.

March 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

I used Magoosh GMAT's prep software for 3 weeks while preparing to take the GMAT for the first time. As a source of practice questions, it's very good. Each question has a video/text answer explanation and links to the video lessons relevant to the question. This was great for finding the subject areas where one needs a bit of study, doing so, and then returning to practicing. It's very efficient and focused. I found the explanations in Quantitative questions to be the most helpful, verbal sometimes didn't totally justify its explanations, so I recommend the product more strongly for Quant than Verbal.

You might consider supplementing Magoosh with a practice test pack from another site, for a couple of reasons. First is that Magoosh uses the same body of questions for practices and tests, and can "run low" on fresh questions of certain difficulty/types if you've been practicing a lot. That can lower the realism of the test experience. Second is, to its credit, Magoosh has a nicer interface than the GMAT itself and other providers who seem to favor 1995-forever design. While that's great for practice-learning, for pure practice-testing you might want to buy tests from another source. It's worth noting though that only on Magoosh did I get practice scores indicative of my final GMAT result.
Joined: Mar 6, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 14, 2014
College: Netherlands
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Great math and verbal tips and guides to quickly improve your score!

March 6, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 660

I heard about magoosh by accident, through GMAT Club, and they were having a big discount on their course, so I decided to try it out.

The teaching style of the course is perfect for my style of learning, as it is based on videos explaining the techniques. Everything is very straightforward, they teach techniques that help you solve problems faster and more efficiently. I had prepped for GMAT before, but with the techniques that they taught me I manage to vastly improve my speed.

At first, I have to admit that I thought that ~450 practice math questions isn't that much, compared to other courses out there, but I have to say that they provide sufficient practice to master the techniques they teach you. The same goes for the verbal section; the explanations are very straight forward there as well, and there are enough practice questions available to practice them.

Overall, Magoosh helped me improve my score by 70 points for roughly a month and a half, so I definitely recommend it to people who need/want to take the GMAT!
Joined: Mar 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 10, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

A Great and Affordable Product that mitigates the need for a class

March 2, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

This is a wonderful product. I did not take an official GMAT class. I relied solely on Magoosh and the Official Gmat Guide books. Magoosh gives great video lessons that helped me especially on days where I was too tired after work to do a lot of reading. The staff at Magoosh are also incredibly friendly. I would recommend this product to anyone taking the GMAT.
Joined: Mar 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 15, 2015
College: Southampton University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: England
Verified Real Student Review

Yet to take the course but great so far

March 2, 2015
  • Teacher: All
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The course has been excellent so far. All of the videos have proved extremely useful and the small tips and tricks that are highlighted save you heaps of time during a test.

When I first started the GMAT, I was mind-boggled with many of the questions. I totally flunked the initial diagnostic test in the Official GMAT guide and was ready to give up before I'd even started. A quick web search for some guidance and up popped Magoosh - on sale for a very reasonable price. It had good reviews so I figured I'd go for it.

And I'm glad I did!! I've been working away at the 3 month study plan for beginners. Again, it starts as an uphill battle - I work full-time and it took me about 4 weeks to fully complete the first week of the course (lots of reading and a full analysis of your initial diagnostic test). After that, it's now just commiting 2/3 hours daily to attack the next set of recommended questions, reviewing them right away.

I haven't used all of the features of the course yet but based on the learnings I am taking away from the course so far, I have no doubt that the material will be excellent.

If you are considering the GMAT and have been put off by your initial review of the questions - sign up to magoosh. My primary advise is that if you're working, give yourself sufficient time to prepare for the test. The 3 month plan for beginners in Magoosh is a great starting point!
Joined: Feb 27, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 30, 2014
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect way to prepare for the GMAT and great value

February 27, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I did all of my GMAT prep based on the 1 Month GMAT Study Schedule on the Magoosh GMAT Blog, but spread it out over the course of two months since I was often very busy. Quantitative section video lessons were a perfect way to brush up on concepts I hadn't seen in quite some time. Verbal section lessons offered tips that were very helpful in developing my test taking approach. Many of the Quantitative practice problems turned out to be very similar to problems I saw on the actual test. Timed questions allowed me to experience what the actual test would feel like. This was the first time I took the GMAT and I am very satisfied with my outcome.
Joined: Feb 26, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 24, 2014
College: Korea University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: Korea, Republic of
Verified Real Student Review

First test score 750 for an Asian, what more can you say?

February 26, 2015
  • Teacher: Rachel
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I write this review from South Korea, where so much money is spent on English education with very low efficiency. Frankly, I've taken a few Korean GMAT courses here. Although they teach you many many (oft too many) things, it was really hard to grasp what I should do when I get into the test room.

After one month of confusing lessons, I took several months off. And last Christmas I signed up for Magoosh with my girlfriend's advice. What I've noticed was that Magoosh, unlike Korean lessons, was much more concise, was easy to understand, and gave me concrete instruction of what to do when I got into the test room. (Korean lessons also did, but they provide you with much much much longer lessons, many of which are redundant)

I admit that I was a bit more familiar with English than other Koreans (for whom the Korean GMAT lessons were targeted for), but if you are native speaker, I strongly believe Magoosh is all it takes to get a good GMAT score. It's just a right amount, with high quality questions. :)
Joined: Feb 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 6, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Videos, Learn at your Own Pace, & On the Go

February 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

They provide plenty of useful videos that really summarize important ways to tackle various GMAT problems. Great for studying while you travel. No books needed. Study at your own place. Great in depth videos. So worth $100
Joined: Dec 8, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Online Course, Especially for Consultants

February 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

Magoosh was great because everything was online. As a consultant who travels on a weekly basis, carrying large books was not an option for me. The course is definitely worth it for those not wanting to shell out thousands for in-person classes. The lessons provide great explanations.

I would like to see more questions in the question bank. Also for practice tests, it would be nice to have the full test rather than just the verbal and math so students can truly simulate test day.
Joined: Feb 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 4, 2014
College: University of South Carolina
Major: International Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Absolute Best Value Study Package

February 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am currently using Manhattan in conjunction with Magoosh and I can feel myself progressing so quickly. I really like Magoosh because of its unique format, and the ability to time myself on each individual question.

I am very satisfied with the program and would recommend to anyone.
Joined: Feb 20, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 6, 2014
College: Trinity College Dublin
Country: Ireland
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with Magoosh

February 20, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 770

I did my GMAT prep almost entirely with Magoosh. I also had the official GMAT book but hardly touched it and I did some last minute practice tests on various popular sites. I found the Magoosh example answers excellent, probably some of the most useful I have seen. The verbal and quant sections were great. (I'm a native English speaker).
It's easy to use, lots of variety. The ebooks are very helpful, particularly for idioms, though I prefer to study by practice. The flashcard apps were very handy when I was starting out to brush up on the basic principles.

I would definitely recommend Magoosh. First go at the GMAT - 770, Q50, V44. Thanks!
Joined: Feb 19, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 10, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

February 19, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Magoosh's content and question-answer services are very helpful. I used the Manhattan GMAT books and this was a great complement to better prepare for the GMAT. I definitely recommend spending the money for this service.
Joined: Feb 19, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 22, 2014
Industry: Medical/Health Care Devices
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best money you will spend

February 19, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Magoosh was the first test prep course I tried for the GMAT - I tried it out for free, loved it and when they were having a sale I signed up for the whole thing. For the price - it cannot be beat.
Their interface and website are wonderful - simple to navigate, with an easy way to track your progress. The videos are excellent, especially on the Quant and SC. I was VERY rusty when I started studying and was afraid that I would not have enough time to cover all the content. I WAS SORELY MISTAKEN! The lessons are all on video, you can play them at a slower or faster speed (which I prefer) and I was able to study anywhere. The Quant and SC videos are excellent, and the IR and AW are good enough (for those sections). I personally found the CR and RC videos a little lacking - they were good but not to the standard of the Quant or SC videos. You also get around 1000 questions to study from, all with video explanations and comparisons to previous test takers, which is something that even (much) more expensive programs don't have.
My personal suggestion would be to get Magoosh, get their flashcard apps (which are top notch - low on flash but HIGH on functionality and information), get the OG, get the Manhattan GMAT books (used is cheaper) and sign up for GMAT Club (which provides you with ~1400 questions). With that package you can be VERY well prepared for under $300 (and most of that is the books).
Joined: Feb 14, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 23, 2015
College: louisiana state university
Major: Gender Studies
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Up ten points on quant

February 14, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 770

I was pretty pleased with my verbal score on my first attempt at the GMAT (98th percentile), so I only purchased the quant package... The self-paced on demand format is ideal for a motivated test taker. I crushed the math problems every single day after work for 2 weeks. I did hundreds of them. I watched the videos and worked the problems again. The results speak for themselves... from 47th percentile on quant to 88th... from waitlisted to scholarship!!! Thank you.
Joined: Feb 13, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 5, 2015
College: NC A&T
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Videos and Study Plans

February 13, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

They provide plenty of useful videos that really summarize important ways to tackle various GMAT problems. Highly recommended and totally worth the $100.
Joined: Jan 27, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 29, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great online Math + Verbal Guide to the GMAT

February 13, 2015
  • Teacher: Online
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I really enjoyed the online premium prep. It was very informative and have already increased my CAT scores. I'm planning on taking the GMATs in March and know that my score will reflect this incredible prep course.
Joined: Feb 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2015
College: Kalamazoo College
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Approach for First Time Test Takers

February 12, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 450 After: 600

I needed a huge boost in my score, fast, and Magoosh really helped me. This curriculum provides a solid foundation to understand the methodology of the test, and helps you create an approach for significant improvement that works best for you.

Great videos and explanations, the idiom app is great, I also enjoy breaking up studying with their blog posts.
Joined: Feb 3, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 24, 2014
College: Michigan State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Effective and Cost Efficient!

February 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 620

After bombing the math section of the test, I bought the Math and IR package from Magoosh after a friend recommended it. I wasn't looking to spend a lot of money on extra study materials, and it seemed like a good price. What a difference it made! The videos are very informative and easy to follow, and very applicable to actual test questions. Additionally, the practice questions are very similar to actual test questions, quite possibly more difficult. I felt that the math videos and practice questions really helped me improve my score, and I would absolutely recommend this product to anyone needing to improve their own score!
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 4, 2014
College: USMA (West Point)
Major: International Relations
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent and Cost Efficient Alternative to Tutors

January 27, 2015
  • Teacher: Self Study
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I chose to use Magoosh because of the flexibility to study when it was convenient to me, I have a busy military job and a small family so dedicating time to study when my kids were awake was a real downer. Magoosh provided me with instructional videos that I could watch at my own pace and at a time/place of my choosing (generally when my children were in bed). The videos were very helpful and I found myself referring to them throughout my study process.

I think the practice questions were realistic in their difficulty but I do wish there were more medium difficulty questions to mix up the deck.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 13 14 15 16 17