Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Jan 27, 2015
Purchased Course: May 17, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Structured approach for GMAT preparation

January 27, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 750

The Video lessons were immensely helpful. Also, I also followed the study plan which allowed me to methodically prepare for GMAT. The explanations to the questions were also very helpful.
Joined: Jan 16, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 1, 2014
College: University of Maryland, College Park
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Structured Curriculum allows for Continuous Improvement

January 16, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

The structure given by the Magoosh course really fit my needs as a test-taker and a studier. The lessons and question re-caps via video were extremely helpful because they allowed me to take notes just as I would in a classroom setting. The price is hard to compete with at $99 for the Premium Subscription. This course is great for any one who prefers a self-study method to improve their performance.
Joined: Jan 15, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 15, 2014
College: Allen University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was a great help for me to prepare in a small amount of time

January 15, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 630

Magoosh covers almost all the topics that might come up on a GMAT test for both Math and Verbal section. It helped me a lot to prepare in a very short time. I was not aiming for a over the top score. I wanted to get a decent score by not working for a long time and Magoosh was a great help. Had I used all of the devices provided by Magoosh I think I could have scored even more. If a student just have 2-3 months this website can help him/her to score even 700 or more.
Joined: Jan 12, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 14, 2014
College: Santa Clara University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Verified Real Student Review

Loved it!

January 12, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

Magoosh math was great because it allowed me to move through the material quickly. I greatly improved my quant abilities and speed and couldn't have done it with any other format.
Joined: Jan 3, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 30, 2014
College: University of California, Santa Barbara
Major: Mathematics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT prep course!

January 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

I signed up for Magoosh a few months after I had taken my first GMAT test. I previously studied with Kaplan and was not impressed with my test score. I heard about Magoosh through word of mouth and quickly signed up. I was hesistant about it at first because of the pricetag. How can a GMAT prep program be so inexpensive AND effective?!

Magoosh is definitely one of the best GMAT prep courses available. There is a large question bank with extremely helpful and thorough corresponding video answers. I felt that the questions were very similar (difficulty and content-wise) to what you might see on the actual test. Their lessons are also fantastic resources. There are detailed video lessons for nearly every question type/topic you'll encounter on the GMAT. Note to mention there are also practice tests (excluding the AWA and Integrated Reasoning sections) available.

Magoosh helped improve my score at such a low cost compared to other test prep programs.
Joined: Dec 31, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 18, 2014
College: University of California Berkeley
Major: Economics
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Works!!

December 31, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I believe Magoosh is the only way to go when studying for the GMAT. Taking full length prep courses is like paying someone to teach other people. With Magoosh you can fully focus on things you need to learn and not have to sit through class after class of prescripted material from a teacher who is trying to help everyone learn through covering every topic.

With Magoosh you can learn on the go, which is very important to people like me working full time. With the flexibility of being able to study whenever and wherever I want, I was able to create my own schedule and was not too stressed out when I couldn't keep to the schedule as I can always make up the time later on....not like a prep course where you always have to attend or you feel like you are losing money.

Magoosh is the best if you have self motivation and discipline to get the job done. Other than a few typos here and there I really have no complaints. Aced the GMAT on my first go by sticking to the 3 month Magoosh suggested schedule.
Joined: Dec 22, 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 24, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course at an excellent price

December 24, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 690

After taking the Manhattan live prep course and exhausting all practice exams and questions, I was looking for another source of challenging questions. I didn't find the questions of other providers such as Kaplan very challenging. After learning about Magoosh through a friend, I figured I had nothing to lose since it was only $100 for the premium course. I started out with a 640 and after using Magoosh for only one month I scored a 690 (45Q, 40V). The math and verbal videos were both very helpful. Magoosh is very unique in that it provides video explanations for each of its practice questions. It really helped tie everything I had learned previously together.

In fact, some of the Magoosh practice questions were identical to the actual gmat questions! I would absolutely recommend Magoosh to anyone studying for the gmat. The apps are also very helpful, especially the idioms app.
Joined: Dec 19, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 1, 2014
College: Washington University in St. Louis
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Solid course to get up to high 600s/low 700s

December 19, 2014
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 400

Magoosh premium is a pretty comprehensive gmat study course. I can easily see it getting a student from low/mid 600s to high 600s/low 700s - if you do all the work. If you want to score higher you will need to find a different course for advanced content - magoosh is lacking in that area.

If anyone knows of any that is affordable - please let me know, as I am also searching.
Joined: Dec 7, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 29, 2014
College: University of Cincinnati
Major: Accounting
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Refresher Course 32 years post bachelor's degree

December 7, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

Primarily, I needed refreshing on math operations I had learned 40 years ago. I found the video lessons very effective, as the multi-sensory delivery (visual and audible) enhances comprehension and retention. Also the targeted lessons allowed focused studies for more challenging subjects. The customizable practice and review was also just what I needed. I found untimed review quizzes immediately following lesson completion helped confirm comprehension. Then timed practice quizzes to adjust to the timing factor and still drill on the operations. Later, timed practice tests to identify problem areas requiring focus. Finally, timed practice sessions in quiz mode to confirm subject comprehension or additional targeted review.
Joined: Dec 4, 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 24, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

A good supplement to a complete course - not a course unto itself

December 4, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

I would highly recommend anyone take Magoosh to supplement their studies with another full course (like Veritas). The sheer breadth of questions that Magoosh offers is incredibly important to feel ready for the test.

In my time practicing, however, I found a data sufficiency problem with two contradictory premises. Only one, but that is too many. As a student, I don't have time to worry about flawed questions. Further, the help desk took three days to respond to the question. Not exactly the customer service I was looking for

Still, the ability to crank through questions is incredibly helpful and unmatched at $100.
Joined: May 19, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2, 2014
College: Florida State University
Major: Real Estate
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Indispensable Prep Tool!

November 28, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I used Magoosh in conjunction with some other GMAT prep materials and feel that Magoosh is really what tied everything together. There were some concepts I was having difficulty with that Magoosh helped to clearly explain. Without Magoosh, I think my score would have been 30 points less. Also, the question banks are soooo valuable!
Joined: Nov 21, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 8, 2014
College: India
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is really helpful for beginners like me

November 21, 2014
  • Teacher: AKAASH MISHRA
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

Magoosh's materials are really detailed and well explained with a lot of practice questions. It helped me a lot to understand the various elements in the verbal section and revise my concepts on the maths section. I would recommend some more IR questions and some more full length practice tests as well. My overall score was 660, Q47, V34, IR5, AWA4.5. I'm moderately satisfied with my first attempt and I'm looking forward to make it to the 700's next time! Best of luck Magooshers!
Thanks a lot Magoosh!
Joined: Mar 24, 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 6, 2014
College: India
Major: Engineering
Country: Japan
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommended....

November 20, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 740

1. Great Product at the price
2. Great Questions Bank,Questions very close to the actual thing.
3. Great UI
4. Concepts covered in short and succinct tutorial videos that makes learning easy.
5. Good explanations for the questions

All in All, Great Product, adds the necessary edge to the prep....
Joined: Oct 17, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 4, 2014
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Sign up for Magoosh. You won't regret it.

October 17, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

Pros:
-The price is unbeatable
-Video tutorials and video explanations of EVERY question in Magoosh's extensive question bank make learning easy
-Dashboard of progress and score estimates makes progress tracking easy
-As many practice tests as you'd like (with questions selected from the bank)
-Focus on understanding, rather than trying to "beat" the test

Cons:
-Could focus more on strategy
-Although the SC aspect of verbal is strong, CR and RC could be enhanced (although everything you NEED to know is covered)
-IR is covered in the same way as CR and RC, but it could be more comprehensive
-No AWA practice essays

Without hesitation, I would recommend Magoosh to anyone taking the GMAT. It was the most helpful study resource I encountered.
Joined: Oct 24, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 25, 2013
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best ROI - You have nothing to lose!!

October 12, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

I paid $99 for access to this site, and out of all other prep companies this has the best value.
They guarantee 50 point improvement (or money back) -- there is no reason not to try this.

You get an excellent question bank and access to some of the best math and verbal video's. Lucid and makes learning interesting. Recommend to couple this with mgmat set of books (see their study plans).

I hope they don't change the price !! The UI/UX of the site is better than most prep companies -- they have a timer on all questions let you see your incorrect and correct answer choices. Makes it easy to spot your weaknesses.
Joined: Jun 10, 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 8, 2014
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Need help with Quant? Magoosh can help

October 10, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 640

With only 3 weeks of study time Magoosh was able to simply explain some of the tricky concepts in math that were giving me trouble. I can't say I used the verbal section much, but what I did touch on was very informative. My focus was in math, and magoosh provided plenty of problems and explanations that kept me busy. I'm certain that Magoosh helped me improve my score. I would definitely recommend this course.
Joined: Oct 7, 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 17, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Worth it

October 7, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

The short videos for GMAT are very useful. Practice questions with video explanations simplify your prep. Worth the money! go for it
Joined: Sep 28, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 18, 2014
College: UCLA
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very affordable and efficient way to prepare for the Gmat

September 28, 2014
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 710

This course has all the tools you need to self-study for the Gmat including access to a lot of practice questions, detailed explanations for each question, and video lessons galore! This site isn't the only self-study course out there but I think its definitely one of the most convenient and effective! 10/10 would refer others.
Joined: Mar 3, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 15, 2014
College: Texas Christian University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for re-takers and self studiers

September 26, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 700

I was already familiar with the GMAT format having taken the test 3 months prior after a classroom course. Magoosh put me over the top by helping me master the topics, rather than simply being familiar with them. The question bank is quite extensive, and logging errors is much easier with a video explanation for each. The lesson videos were great for "on your own time" studying - I especially utilized these on my commute. My total study time was 6 weeks. Anything more than that and you might exhaust the question bank, especially the "Very Hard" level.
Joined: Sep 25, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 19, 2014
College: University of Colorado at Boulder
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program, Great Price

September 25, 2014
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

Magoosh has an amazing amount of content for the price. Honestly, I don't think there is a better deal out there that is as comprehensive as Magoosh. While it may not be in depth as other, more expensive programs, it definitely has everything you need to do well or improve your GMAT score. I think Magoosh's math is its strongest aspect. It has a lot of practice problems and in depth video explanations for every question. I think Magoosh's math is a lot harder than the actual GMAT, which helps you reach the higher score questions. Magoosh's verbal, while not as extensive as the math in my opinion, does still provide enough practice. All in all, Magoosh is an amazing product for the price!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 13 14 15 16 17