Best Promo Code 2021 & Verified Reviews!

Joined: Feb 2, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 14, 2013
College: university of colorado boulder
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic GMAT Prep Course

February 2, 2014
  • Teacher: Multiple teachers
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Took the ACT twice (one time i was sick, the other i was hungover), received a 31 on it both times. I have performed well on standardized tests my entire life.

Timing: Purchased the course in Aug. 13. I was very lazy and also busy with my first real job (Aug. 13 college grad), so it took me a while to make a dent. Finally, after the new year started, I buckled down and committed time to complete it. Still, I did not dedicate as much time as I should have. For the last half of the course, I did not do any bonus problems; I only did the required parts in case the test did not pan out so I would maintain eligibility for the refund.

Course: Here are the results of my CATs:

-Diagnostic: 610 (Q40V35)
-First: 600 (Q42V32)
-Second: 660 (Q42V40)
-Third: 700 (Q45V41)
-Fourth: 680 (Q47V35)

-Actual: 730 (Q46V45)

(1) I finished all but the last module (not including bonus prob) (2) I think Knewton makes the diagnostic very hard to provide themselves with a better margin so they don't have to refund money (3) If I could go back, I would take advantage of three resources better (1, concept queue; 2, progress bars (to ensure that I was 100% in every aspect; 3, bonus problems) (4) This test is beatable if you have a baseline of intelligence and are willing to put in the time to memorize everything (when I say beatable I think an "intelligent" person could score 750+ if they made GMAT the top priority)

I would recommend this course in a second. Also, don't let your scores on their CATs discourage you!

-Chris
Joined: Dec 17, 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 1, 2013
College: Grove City College
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Still in shock!

December 17, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I had taken online prep courses (Kaplan for the LSAT) before with little to show. THIS COURSE, however, IS AMAZING!

Naturally, it requires dedication, concentration, and hard work...and some tears. BUT everything was worth it when I got my score today. With a diagnostic of 520, I was shooting for (fingers crossed) around 600. Today, I beat the GMAT and scored a 680!

My advice? Be CONFIDENT (Knewton helps here because it really prepares you well), acknowledge and learn from your failures and practice, practice, practice!

My test scores are below. As you can see, I barely scored over a 600 on my practice tests - don't get discouraged if this is you, too! You can do it!

Diagnostic: 520
Test 1: 540
Test 2: 630
Test 3: 560
Test 4: 540
Test 5: 590

Official GMAT: 680

160 point increases ARE possible!
Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 3, 2013
College: University of Mumbai
Industry: Transportation
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Whoaa!!!

October 9, 2013
  • Teacher: Jen Rugani, David Ingber, Jess Nepom, Rich Zwelling
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 730

Well where do I begin. I gave the GMAT way back in 2009 with hardly any preparation to speak of and a got an expected 620. This year, I decided to give the GMAT another shot and a friend of mine recommended Knewton. I didn't research too much and signed up. The course as it is is divided into 13 lessons. Each lesson consists of 2 videos to watch, one each on Math and Verbal. The course is brilliantly planned and well organised. It took me close to 2 months to go through the whole course though you could finish it sooner if you wanted if you put in more time. The course comes with 6 practice CAT's. I tried to stick to the recommended schedule and it did work out well for me. My scores in all the practice CAT's are listed below.

Areas for improvement :

I wish the CAT's also included essay and IR sections. That would really help. Especially the IR because there isn't too much of IR practice work out there. And take my word, writing the CAT with the IR and Essay included is a completely different ball game. It demands a lot more stamina and concentration.

It would also be nice if the concept queue marked of the concepts that you have completed reading. More detailed explanations could also be provided for Work rate problems.

One the whole, I am completely satisfied with Knewton and attribute all my GMAT success to it. Dave Ingber and Rich Zwelling are awesome.

Actual Gmat Feb 2009 - 620
Diagnostic - 640
CAT #1 - 600
CAT #2 - 670
CAT #3 - 640
CAT #4 - 690
CAT #5 - 700
GMAT Prep CAT 1 - 710
GMAT Prep CAT 2 - 710
Actual GMAT - 730
Joined: May 29, 2013
Purchased Course: May 29, 2013
College: Utah Valley University
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Its so so

October 7, 2013
  • Teacher: Jen, Rich, Dave
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 510 After: 500

The instructors are nice and entertaining and you can watch the explanations again and again which is nice but looking back on it, I would have rather just studied on my own. I would have been able to get just as much out of it. In fact that's what I did the first time and I actually got a little bit of a better score. They will not present anything that you cannot learn from the Official Guide.
Joined: Mar 15, 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 6, 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, great teachers

March 15, 2013
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 690

Very good material. I didnt increase my score by 50 points, but I believe that this is due to the short period of time I had for preparation. I recommend at least 2 months to go through all the classes. The refund process was really easy.
Joined: May 14, 2012
Purchased Course: Jul 16, 2012
College: UFSCar
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Good teachers, Superficial content

November 30, 2012
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 530 After: 660

Although teachers are nice, the content is very superficial. It's not the course you'd take to achieve a 700+, but it's good enough if your target is something on the mid 600s. Can work well if used with complementary material, like Manhattan GMAT books and OGs.
Joined: Nov 17, 2012
Purchased Course: Sep 20, 2012
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Inexpensive and Effective

November 17, 2012
  • Teacher: Jess Nepom, Rich Zwellin
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 680

I studied on my own with the Khan Academy and a Kaplan GMAT book for the GMAT the first time, and got a disappointing 590 (34Q, 37V). Realizing that I needed some structure and more quant help, I looked for a flexible and relatively inexpensive option. I work full time so the time and money of an in-person class did not seem to be a good option.

I chose Knewton for their price, money back guarantee and course style. The courses were divided into pre-class, class, and homework which worked great. After completing all the required items, I went back to classes or questions I felt I needed work on. Getting the GMAT strategy and basic concepts was key.

Heading into the GMAT, my goal was to get over 50 percentile in quant, and over a 50 point increase overall. I ended up getting in the 68th in quant and a 90 point increase! A part of that can be attributable to just more time studying, but Knewton definitely helped.

Some cons would be that I don't think some of the questions or practices tests match actual questions and scoring, a lot of the extra homework questions were way too tough, also Rich and Jess have different volumes in the lessons.

Official GMAT Score Before: 590
Diagnostic: 590
CAT #1: 670
CAT #2: 610
CAT #3: 620
CAT #4: 610
CAT #5: 620
Official GMAT Score After: 680
Joined: Nov 6, 2012
Purchased Course: Aug 21, 2012
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course, and great value for the money.

November 6, 2012
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

I was looking for a flexible course that could be completed in conjunction with my full time job. I ended up going with Knewton, because of the reviews and the online format. I was hesitant to take an online course, but they seemed to be confident in the program with the 50 point money back guarantee, so I gave it a shot.

To keep it short, the course was great. After studying on my own for a while, I realized that I needed something more structured to keep me on track. The Knewton interface was great for this, and I really enjoyed progressing through each assignment and lesson and watching the check marks pile up as I completed the course.

The verbal courses were great, and I ended up being very successful on the verbal portion of the GMAT. Although I've always scored highly on these types of verbal tests, I think Knewton definitely helped me fine tune my strategies and timing, and identified which types of questions I was weakest in.

I believe that I received the greatest value out of taking the 6 adaptive practice tests. I really needed help with timing and there's no better way to fix timing issues, than taking the actual exam.

My scores were as follows:
Diagnostic: 600
CAT #1: 610
CAT #2: 660
CAT #3: 700
CAT #4: 630
CAT #5: 660
Official GMAT score: 720

I took about 2 months to complete the course, which I believe is ideal when working full time. If you can dedicate 6-8 weeks to preparation before taking the real thing, I would highly recommend the Knewton course.
Joined: Jul 5, 2012
Purchased Course: Sep 6, 2012
Major: Engineering
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Indonesia
Verified Real Student Review

Finally a score above 700!

October 28, 2012
  • Teacher: David Ingber, Jen Rugani, Jess Nepom, Rich Zwellin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 710

The first time I took a gmat test I scored 640. Believing that I could score much better, I did the second one not too long afterwards. I got a 600 instead!!! I was so devastated. I always acored at the high 600s or lower 700s on my practice tests. I then took time to review everything I did and decided to start from the basic. I learnt from 2 resources, Beat the GMAT 60 day study guide and Knewton Prep. I found all the small things that tripped me on my earlier tests. The Knewton online courses are so effective and the teachers taught us in a very simple way, which made it easier to understand. I would recommend the course to everyone who likes to learn and continously review the GMAT Material via videos

Thanks Knewton
Joined: Jul 25, 2012
Purchased Course: May 18, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Knewton is the best prep course out there!

July 25, 2012
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 370 After: 490

Overall, it was an amazing course! I'm not the greatest standardized test taker, so I needed all the help I could get after taking the GMAT the first time. Knewton was extremely helpful with its many lessons and informative teachers to help me grasp the concepts of both math and verbal skills.

If there's any one who feels that he/she needs to take a course to prepare for the GMAT, Knewton is the one! There is a reason why Knewton guarantees a full refund, if you don't produce a 50 point improvement on your next GMAT. These people know what they are doing. They wouldn't offer this deal if they didn't know how to teach the course.
Joined: Dec 25, 2011
Purchased Course: Feb 6, 2012
College: University Of Utah
Major: Economics
Industry: Construction
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Decent course, but mainly for people unfamiliar with the test. Your money could be better spend on MGMAT books.

June 10, 2012
  • Teacher: Multiple
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

This course was beneficial in the sense that it required me to sit through all of the sessions and practice tests. That is the one main positive I found.

The things I did not like: I think the initial test is bogus which makes the 50 point guarantee almost worthless. I had been scoring well into the 700+ scores on every other test I took (MGMAT, GMAC) before taking Knewton, and although I only missed a total of 9 questions in the entire test, I scored a 650 on my initial test. I ended up scoring 760 on the actual exam and feel Knewton intentially depresses your initial score for the benefit of them not having to issue many refunds.
Secondly, the content seems to be focused on basic material. If you have been studying for a while and have a thorough understanding of the basic principles then you will not get much from this course, and for the price you could spend that money much more wisely. If you are foreign, or a beginner then this course will likely benefit you, but I feel that no matter what your level you would be better served spending around $200 and buying the entire MGMAT set of books because they will prepare you much better for the exam and at half the price of Knewton.
Joined: Jun 5, 2012
Purchased Course: May 5, 2012
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

60-point increase in one month

June 5, 2012
  • Teacher: David Ingber, Jen Rugani, Jess Nepom, Rich Zwellin
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 740

I started my GMAT journey by scoring 640 in a simulated test in GMAT Prep. So I enrolled at a local MBA school and did online classes, attended individual sessions and practiced literature exercises for four months straight. As a result, I scored 680 in my first official GMAT. By that time, I had solved about 3,000 questions, so I was pretty disappointed. In fact, it was all my fault, because I had not learned how to solve many problems I faced. To a great extent, I simply applied the methods I had learned in high school to solve those problems, but I knew that was not right, since GMAT problems are fundamentally different from the ones I mastered in high school. So I decided to seek a resource that could help me spot my learning gaps and show how to address them. Knewton not only offered those features, but also offered a 50-point increase guarantee, so it seemed a fair deal because I originally targeted a 730 score. Knewton proved to be an incredible resource providing engaging classes (David Ingber is the best instructor ever), relevant exercises, six challenging simulated tests (in which I scored 730, 620, 640, 700, 620 and 750) and an innovative dashboard of learning gaps - a concept queue that displayed the concepts I have not mastered yet in assignments. As I completed the 13 classes exercises and simulated tests during a single month, I patiently reviewed all incorrect answers, to make sure I would not repeat such mistakes. Today, I scored 740 in my second and last official GMAT, achieving a 60-point increase over my previous 680 score. Hands down to Knewton. It lived up to its promise.
Joined: May 28, 2012
Purchased Course: May 17, 2012
College: NYU
Major: Science, Technology and Society
Verified Real Student Review

waste of time and money

May 28, 2012
  • Teacher: can't reach anyone
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am so annoyed right now. I just finished taking the 2.5 hour diagnostic test for the Knewton GMAT course that I paid for. After the exam, a window popped up asking me to View Results of my test, I clicked the button and poof, then it went right back to the first page that says "Start Diagnostic" - so it didn't even register that I took the darn diagnostic test at all - I wasted 2.5 hours and you can't move forward with anything until you take the diagnostic!!!

So - I called Knewton - there is no tech support extension at all - there is no tech support email address on the site - everything on the website support section is form 2011 -And calling only put me into a voice mailbox for a "student representative" to call me back... I tried dialing 0 for operator - and that goes to a mailbox that says the extension is invalid... It's obviously a very small company with very little support.

I will be demanding my money back.
Joined: Mar 25, 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 18, 2012
College: Middlebury College
Major: English
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible online course

May 25, 2012
  • Teacher: Jess, Rich, David, Jen
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 710

I had originally been very nervous about signing up for an online course, because I have a terrible attention span, so I was worried I wouldn't be able to pay attention to online videos. However, I ended up taking this prep course for a few reasons: it was more affordable than in person classes and I was on a strict budget, my erratic work schedule meant I needed to be flexible with class times, there were no other full-length classes that were offered before the GMAT would be changed in JUne 2012, and I needed a more intensive study schedule than most GMAT classes offered since I only had a month to study. This prep course was an incredible way to do all of the above.

First of all, the videos are amazing and were easy to pay attention to because the instructors were energetic, and you could see both them and the lesson slides the entire time, which made it feel like a real class. Second, I liked that the instructors moved fairly quickly, because I get bored very easily and lose attention if a class isn't moving fast enough. At the same time, I was able to rewind if I didn't get something the first time, or watch the additional provided videos for certain topics that I needed more slow instructions on.

The layout of the curriculum was done very intelligently, so that each lesson built on the last. Also, the way they split the verbal and math study allowed me to compartmentalize my studying. This ended up being extremely helpful by the end, when I started running out of time and needed to focus just on the math section, where I was struggling heavily. Also, for every single prep test that I took, they not only put down what you got right and wrong as well as the explanation to the answers, but they put down the content areas that the question addressed and hyperlinked those subject areas to an instructional video or description of that content area. This allowed me to very easily look at a GMAT prep test I had taken and get a quick sense for the pattern of mistakes I was making, and which content areas I still needed to go back and review or ask a friend to tutor me on more deeply.

In a month of studying three hours daily (with one day break a week), I moved up 60 points.
Joined: May 17, 2012
Purchased Course: Feb 7, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Pretty damn good

May 17, 2012
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 710

Took the gmat 3 times with a score progression of 650-610-710 all awa 5.0

Before taking Knewton my preparation consisted of MGMAT and GMATprep tests. I think the material from Manhattan is sufficient, but working close to 80 hours a week stymies any kind of content development. I found Knewton to be extremely malleable in terms of being able to fit it into my already busy schedule. In fact, I did a total of 4 weeks of video lessons, ultimately finishing only 3/4 of the way through. The information gleaned from the lessons were more strategy orientated as opposed to content based.

Verbal went from 30 to 41 in that period of 1.5 months. I felt the strategies and basic algorithms the course teaches efficiently prepares a test taker to recognize and access SC questions faster than Manhattan. My Math stayed the same, however I didn't focus on the quant section at all. In hindsight I should have, but my immediate focus was on verbal since it presented the highest hurdle. After 3 SC lessons I observed my verbal score improving by folds. I firmly believe the quant lessons are just as good, and because of that I do harbor some regret in my lax preparation.

Even with minimal time invested into Knewton, I increased my second score from 610 to 710, and had an overall improvement of 60 points in less than 1.5 months. I really recommend this course to people who have busy schedules.

PS: the first practice test i took from Knewton post 650 and 610, was 530. Don't worry about the practice material peeps.
Joined: Apr 5, 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 28, 2011
College: new delhi
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

magical improvement guaranteed

April 5, 2012
  • Teacher: rich jess david jen
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

i gave my first attempt without any professional coaching and scored a disappointing 660.....a month down the line i heard about the knewton gmat prep online course. the online training course gave my flexibility and the 50 points money back guarantee was too hard to resist.The study material is comprehensive and exhaustive.the online clases are very interactive.sometimes you dont even feel you are watching some prerecorded stuff.a special thanks to david and jen as my scores improved remarkebly in verbal i.e. from 33 to 42....now thats a huge jump! its practice tests are very much similar to the real thing.(though scoring system seemed relatively harder).
my score improved like magic....thankyou knewton
highly recomended :)
Joined: Nov 2, 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 6, 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Focussed study plan

February 28, 2012
  • Teacher: David Ingber, Jen Rugani, Jess Nepom and Rich Zwelling
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 700

Knewton certainly helped me improve my quant score from 37 to 49.
Some features that I liked about the course - basics are covered in detail, concept queue,practice tests,instructors are just amazing the way they make you remember things on actual test for example- question part of the question,hugging commas :)

My approach towards sentence correction and reading comprehension became more focussed after attending Knewton course,I started recognizing patterns in SCs.

Some suggestions for further improvement -
1.It would be great if concept queue can be segregated in sections and can show the time of preparation when I lacked at certain concept and whether I have made any improvement.
2. There has to be a specific time to get reply for any query I enter.
3. I should be able to attempt questions I got wrong during practice tests by hiding answers. Right now, it shows explanation and correct answer right next to the question.

Thanks a lot to all my instructors for getting me to my dream score. Fingers crossed for applications :)

Joined: Feb 11, 2012
Purchased Course: Feb 11, 2011
College: Fordham University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT Prep

February 11, 2012
  • Teacher: There was more than one teacher
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I would recommend GMAT as a prep. The only thing I wish they provided is text book or workbooks as a review guide.
Joined: Mar 22, 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 27, 2011
Major: International Relations
Industry: Trading/Import/Export
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT strategy, Most test like option!

January 16, 2012
  • Teacher: Dave, Jen, Jess, Rich
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 710

After taking the MGMAT course and scoring a 670, I was understandably disappointed. I felt that while excellent at preparing me for the concepts tested on the GMAT, it did not do a good job of providing me with the proper strategies and test-like questions necessary to succeed on test day. Thankfully, I decided to try Knewton, in part because of their 50 point guarantee.

What I found from Knewton was an extremely strategy-oriented course that offered questions that much more closely matched what I saw on the test, round 1. Admittedly, my Verbal did not increase at all after Knewton, however I barely focused on this part. My Quant score went from a 43 to a 48, which is a significant improvement!

The only drawback is that there is not as much content-oriented material as MGMAT or others. I think this course is best for those who already have a sound understanding of content and need to learn the best strategies and practice in a setting similar to GMAT. While I did not reach the 50 point improvement, I was very satisfied with Knewton's program and would highly recommend this course.
Joined: Dec 4, 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 31, 2011
College: Mount St Mary's College
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I tried everything and it didn't work

December 4, 2011
  • Teacher: Various teachers through webinars
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 530 After: 640

I bought the OG Guide 12th edition, did the GMAT Pill (which was a waste of time and they only give you a month to refund which is impossible to rate in a month), studied online forums, read and went through all of the Manhattan guides and I still got a low score. I decided to try the Knewton course because of the 50 point money back guarantee. I wasn't sure if it would actually work, but I did all of the homework and completed all of the quizzes. The 6 free tests were especially helpful and the concept queue was helpful in letting me know what I needed to work on. There were resources for more tests that I had access to, but I didn't do. My score probably would have increased had I concentrated more on taking more tests and reviewing concepts. Those tests are invaluable as well as the detailed explanation on the webinars and extra practice homework. I wish I would have done Knewton in the beginning and it would have saved me a lot of money and wasted time. Spend the money!!
Page:1 2 3 4 5 8 9 10 11 12