Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Mar 1, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 23, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Dashboard is Your Best Friend

November 7, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 630 After: 720

Mogoosh has many wonderful features. The video explanations are helpful for those who like a visual cue. The questions can be really challenging and therefore help you notice patterns and crack the underlying issue very quickly.

But I thought the dashboard was the an absolute advantage. You can monitor your progress by time, discover topics where you're underperforming, time yourself and analyze your overall performance by topics and difficulty. It's easy when you're studying from books to think you're good here and there, but nothing says it like an actual record.

Additionally, when you practice GMAT using Magoosh you're always in the actual setting and environment of the test itself. You work with paper and screen simultaneously, you monitor timing and check your answers at the end!
Joined: Apr 25, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2, 2015
College: BITS Pilani
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Acing the verbal component

November 6, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

I've been out of engineering college for 3 years now. And I prided myself on my communication skills. So quant should naturally to me and verbal should also be breeze, right? WRONG! 1st attempt: 660(Q:48, V:34).

In order to meet the round one deadlines, I had to rewrite the GMAT in as early a date as possible. I gave myself one month to prepare. Somewhere on-line I had read great stuff about Magoosh, so thought I'll check it out. It was really cheap at about $100 for the whole package. Plus they gave you a 50 points increase guarantee otherwise money back. I decided to try it out.

Since I am an engineer and have extensive quant background, I didn't really gain much from Magoosh on that front. But through their video solutions to each and every question, I learnt the correct approach to solving some really tricky RC, CR and SC questions. Their verbal component video lectures also saved me hours by not having to go through thick grammar books to learn the rules.
2nd attempt(40 days): 720 (Q:49, V:40)

I'd strongly recommend it to everyone, especially to someone whose been out of school for quite some time and needs to start from the basics.
Joined: Sep 1, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 16, 2015
College: University of Chicago
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Verified Real Student Review

Simple, Affordable, Helpful

November 4, 2015
  • Teacher: ONLINE
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Great product for guys who looks for simple, affordable and helpful online tool to ace gmat.
Joined: Nov 4, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT Study Resources

November 4, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 670 After: 710

In my opinion, the two biggest strengths of Magoosh are the amount of resources available and the quality of explanations. The video lessons are concise but on point (with a transcript on the bottom for easy reference). I also love how the lessons are organized neatly all on one page and I can mark each lesson as understood once I'm done with a topic. There are also occasional references to Magoosh's blog posts, where many helpful tips are summarized. It's extremely easy to keep track of what you have learned and what you haven't gone over. The solutions to Quant questions were extremely helpful. I would watch the video solutions to the questions that I felt that I did not necessarily solve in the best way.
Joined: Nov 3, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 29, 2015
College: Kent State University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

AWESOME

November 3, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

It's been ten years since I graduated from college, and I needed a serious refresher course, especially on the Math. I studied on my own for a couple of months, then decided to go with Magoosh's intense 30-day study plan. I spent about 5 hours a day (30-35 hours a week) working my way through Magoosh and the OG. I work full-time, so I was pretty much a GMAT zombie monster the whole month, but when I sat for the GMAT it actually seemed EASY. I was shooting for a 720, and scored 750. Could not have done it without Magoosh. I especially like the videos (both the lessons and the example problem videos). Magoosh also offers some video explanations for OG problems, which I found super helpful. Definitely recommend Magoosh--it's worth much more than the price tag.
Joined: Nov 3, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 17, 2015
College: Cedarville University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The timers were essential!

November 3, 2015
  • Teacher: "Jessica"
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

The best part about GMAT was the timers! This test is easy if you have unlimited time, but Magoosh uniquely ensures you are disciplined with your time, which was critical to helping me obtain 720 on my first try. Everyone told me to spend way more than what I spent on Magoosh on an in-person test, but that was not necessary after using and thoroughly reviewing every question in the Magoosh test bank.
Joined: Nov 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 7, 2015
College: Cornell University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Solid Fundamental Training

November 2, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Based on reviews from previous users, I decided to try Magoosh. It was the first GMAT Prep package I purchased. I spent about 6 weeks studying the materials carefully. It is important to view all of the videos and write notes, if necessary. I would say the quant part is the real strength. As for verbal, the passages are excessively long and the questions are somewhat too technical. But the questions provide good training.

I would use Magoosh as a resource for solid fundamental training. I personally went through all of the questions - quant and verbal - twice. On the second attempt, I got over 90% of the questions correct.

I then moved on to use some other products, like the Economist and the GMATClub exams. Based on stories written by successful GMAT candidates, it is important to study various study materials, because no one is able to produce what GMAC exactly wants. All these providers try to find a way to "mimic" what GMAT will look for. So, in a sense, you just have to try a variety of study packages and get the most out of each. Some will have strength in Verbal, others in Quant, and so on.

Before my test date, I completed the following study materials:

Magoosh (all questions twice)
The Economist (primarily for Verbal)
GMAT Math Prep Course (Nova)
Kaplan GMAT Premier (5 CAT's)
Kaplan GMAT Verbal Workbook
Aristotle Reading Comprehension Grail
Aristotle Sentence Correction Grail
Aristotle Ace the Bold Face
Aristotle Critical Reasoning Grail
Aristotle The Big Idiom QuestionBank
The GMATClub Exams (about 2 of them)
GMAT Prep Exams (2 exams)

What is really good about Magoosh is that it gives you very solid fundamentals, so when you go through other study packages, you will absorb materials very quickly. In my personal opinion, Magoosh alone is not sufficient for 95+ percentile range. You have to do some more problems.

Some other materials I purchased but did not use:

Kaplan GMAT Math Wrokbook
Kaplan GMAT 800
The Offical Guide GMAT Guide 2015
The Official Guide GMAT Verbal Review
The Official Guide Quantitative Review
MGMAT Advanced GMAT Quant
MGMAT Complete GMAT Strategy Guide Set (6 books)
PowerScore GMAT Critical Reasoning Bible

As part of preparation, I took about 10 CAT's. Here are my CAT scores. I used Magoosh from May to June, and started using some other materials in July.

7/30/2015: The Economist Diagnostic: 700
8/10/2015: Kaplan CAT 1: 740
8/16/2015: Kaplan CAT 2: 700
8/17/2015: Kaplan CAT 3: 750
8/22/2015: Kaplan CAT 4: 730
8/24/2015: Kaplan CAT 5: 730
9/5/2015: The Economist CAT 1: 730
9/13/2015: GMAT Club CAT 1: 640
9/27/2015: GMAT Club CAT 2: 670
9/28/2015: The Economist CAT 2: 690
9/30/2015: The Economist CAT 3: 730
10/1/2015: GMAT Prep 1: 760
10/2/2015: GMAT Prep 2: 770

I got Quant 49, Verbal 42, IR 7, AWA 6, and Total 740 (97th percentile). I was originally aiming for 750+, so I am a bit disappointed, but it is a still good result.
Joined: Jan 24, 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 5, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

If you have 3 months to study, this is the course for you

October 26, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

I started studying for the GMAT in July and wanted to find a course that was self-paced. I chose Magoosh because of its low price and of the amount of material it covers. Don't let the price fool you - using Magoosh was one of the best decisions I made.

To give a background, I used Magoosh in conjunction with the MGMAT practice exams. I think both resources complement each other well, and it's advisable that you use 2-3 resources when you're prepping.

I believe Magoosh's strengths lie in its quant and sentence correction lessons. The lessons do an incredible job teaching you the content. It's best if you have 3 months to study so that you could learn the content well and not cram. I spent my first month learning all of the grammar rules and math topics, and practiced problems to build my stamina during months 2 and 3. As it turned out, SC and quant were my best sections.

Magoosh also has tons of practice problems and your focus during the last few weeks of prep should be to practice as many problems as possible. Their problems mimic the GMAT fairly well.

In summary, Magoosh is a steal for its price and the lessons, particularly in SC and Quant, are worth the price alone. It's best used if you have 3 months to study so you could really learn the content.

Shout out to Mike McGarry for making grammar FUN to learn!
Joined: Jul 20, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 19, 2015
College: University of Delaware
Major: Political Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

So clutch

October 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 560 After: 710

Magoosh proved to be an extraordinary study resource that is unique because of the huge amount of practice questions it has with excellent explanations of the answers. My strategy was to focus on all the ones I got incorrect (especially for Quant) as many times as it took until the lessons behind all 500 math problems correct.

While some people may prefer classroom settings with instructors, Magoosh has the key advantage of offering short and concise video lessons that allow you to re-enforce challenging ideas as many times as needed.
Joined: Feb 20, 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 21, 2015
College: Peru
Major: Industrial Technology
Industry: Construction
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

I love Magoosh

October 13, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Magoosh is great. I can't recommend it enough. Found out about it on /r/gmat and I'm so glad. I only really studied Magoosh and the OG using the schedules they have. Magoosh even has solutions for almost all the OG problems. Watching the videos helps you understand the math and verbal, not only do them. I watched all the lessons and they helped me so much. I can't emphasize this enough.

Magoosh even got me into meditating. Mike McGarry mentions mindfulness in a couple of lectures on blog posts and I decided to give it a try.

Really, if you wan't to study for the GMAT start with Magoosh.
Joined: Jun 19, 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 9, 2015
College: University of California, Los Angeles
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive and everything I needed for a great score

October 12, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I previously used a Kaplan 2013 book to study over the course of the year since 2014, and got a 560 on a Kaplan practice test in August '15 when I was getting ready to schedule the actual test. Of course I was disappointed. So, I searched around and found Magoosh, signed up for their premium service, and scheduled the exam for Oct '15, giving myself 2 months to seriously prepare.

I then took Magoosh's 3 month study plan and crammed it into two months -- after 4 practice tests (I suggest just doing the 2 free GMAC tests and buying the other 2 via the exack), watching all the videos, doing all the questions (on magoosh and the OG 2015), and 2 months of non-stop studying after work on weeknights and weekends, I got a 710 on my final score!

Magoosh really gave me a comprehensive overview of everything that I needed to know to understand the fundamental concepts in both quant and verbal -- If I had more time to practice and review my errors, I think my score would have been higher.

All in all, great course! I highly recommend it -- just follow their study plans, learn, practice, learn, practice, practice, practice! Invest the time and effort, and it will pay off!
Joined: Apr 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 22, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent!

October 11, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry, Chris Lele
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

I signed up for Magoosh classes 2 months before my GMAT. I stumbled upon Magoosh through their blog which is truly an encyclopedia of all GMAT topics under the sun! I was really impressed with the brilliant techniques explained through the articles- and also pleasantly surprised that these were available for free. When I learnt they had a flash sale for course, I jumped at the opportunity and purchased it for a mere $99 which was a steal!

Up until Magoosh, I was struggling with Quant topics as Math has always been my achilles heel. Mike McGarry made everything so much easier to understand in his video lessons and removed a lot of my inhibitions about different math topics. The question bank is also quite exhaustive (I could not finish all the 800 questions) and there are detailed video explanations for each and every question. Though I was significantly better off with verbal, the videos on sentence correction cleared a lot of ambiguity about what the GMAT considers grammatically correct. I found the lessons on IR a big help and I managed to do most of the questions in this section without relying too much on using the calculator (which can seriously absorb too much of time if you're not careful). The lessons on AWA give a pretty exhaustive list of all possible flaws that are typically found in most arguments.

My verbal and quant scores went up significantly by almost 10 points to my final score of 640 where I achieved a 39 on both verbal and quant. I would recommend this course to anyone preparing for the GMAT irrespective of the time you may have. You can watch the videos at your own pace without leaving the comfort of your home. In case of doubts, you can always submit a question to the Magoosh staff and they get back within 24- 48 hours. The question bank can also be customized to take practice tests though I also had access to the MGMAT practice exams as I had purchased one of their strategy guides. Coupled with the OG- 13 (detailed quant answer explanations for which are available on Magoosh), the Quant 2015 and Verbal 2016 reviews, I had a great bank of questions to practice for the exam. The Magoosh GMAT flashcards that are available as a phone app were excellent for revising concepts a few days before the test.
Joined: Jul 22, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 22, 2015
College: India
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

How Magoosh helped me touch 720 on my first attempt!

October 11, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

As a non-native speaker looking to give the GMAT for the first time, I was on the lookout for an effective,affordable online course to help me cross the 700 barrier. The $99 Magoosh premium course seemed like a perfect fit, and after touching 720 on my first attempt, I am glad I picked the course.
The course is designed around a number of audio-visual lectures focusing on specific concepts and strategies required to master the nuances of the test. The question pool is also great for practice, and the questions are a decent approximation of the ones I eventually saw on the actual test. The video explanations for every question were concise and eye-opening.
The staff is helpful, and any query I had was addressed promptly via email. Also,the 3 month study schedule designed by the Magoosh team allowed me to streamline my studies.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Magoosh premium plan for its value for money, and especially to those who learn better using an audio-visual medium.
Joined: Aug 18, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 18, 2015
College: West Virginia University
Major: History
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Save Money, Study Smarter, Score Higher

October 10, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I started my GMAT study with only 6 weeks to prepare and no math skills. I hadn't done math of any sort in over 10 years, and essentially needed to start from scratch. The many video lessons offered by Magoosh helped me quickly learn the basic fundamentals of math and allowed me to score respectably on the quant section of the GMAT. Beyond the easy to follow video lessons, magoosh also has a collection of nearly 1,000 practice problems for both verbal and quant. These problems come with detailed video explanations to help you understand your mistakes, and the dashboard is easily organizable so you can focus on weak areas. Magoosh also comes with helpful flash cards that can be reviewed on your phone, laptop, or tablet. Of course, whenever you get stuck, you can reach out to Magoosh and get personalized help. Overall, Magoosh gives you the resources and quality of instruction that one would expect from a private tutor at a fraction of the cost. I highly recommend utilizing Magoosh to study for the GMAT.
Joined: Jun 14, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 22, 2015
College: Harvard
Major: Economics
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is amazing!

October 10, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 740

I got a 680 (Q-44, V-38) on my first GMAT and was really disappointed as I had put a lot of time in my studies and had gotten a 720 (Q-47, V-42) on my last GMAT prep practice exam. I enrolled with Magoosh only because of the 50 point guarantee but never expected to get at least a 730. I just took the test and got a 740 unofficial score with Q-49 and V-42. My Quant score has never been that high and I owe it all to Magoosh! The practice question are so well put and really makes you think about how to approach the official questions correctly.
Joined: Oct 7, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Very efficient and smart structure.

October 7, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 760

One of the reasons I signed up with Magoosh was it was one of the online courses which was one of the cheapest and still rated decent. I was surprised with amount of lectures and video explanations for every practice question.
The lectures very pretty solid with fundamentals, at the same time keeping an eye on Gmat. The best feature however was the that they were brief. For someone like me who has studied all his life in English, they were perfect. I skipped a few but mostly saw all of them once at least and made notes which definitely helped me. The teachers were very articulate.
The problem solving was always easy and quick. If you didn't understand the explanation you could watch the video explanation, further still you could ask testers directly. Apart from this there were blogs and resources which always helped as common concerns were generally addressed there.
Finally, the customised practice helped me a lot. I could set a test for particular topic, particular difficulty level and revisit my incorrect and flagged answers quickly. That really boosted me since I needed help in very specific topics and reviewing your mistakes always helps.
Joined: Sep 30, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 12, 2015
College: William & Mary
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing - wish I had discovered sooner!

September 30, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 720

I found out about Magoosh as I was doing OG problems with Manhattan GMAT prep. I was finding that a lot of the quant explanations from Manhattan or the OG book were not helpful at all. I started googling the specific problem and found that Magoosh had a VIDEO for each quant problem. Two weeks out from my test date I checked out the Magoosh website and did the free trial. 8 hours later I bought the Verbal and Quant review package because I found the explanatory videos and extra problems so helpful. It was a fraction of the cost of Manhattan and helped me exponentially in terms of my quant score. I could not get my quant score up from 40-41 on the Manhattan CAT exams - verbal was fine for me as I pretty much always scored a 41. After just under two weeks with Magoosh I scored a 44 on quant and 44 on verbal on the real test. All I did for verbal was watch a few sentence correction videos! I didn't have time to do any problems, as quant was my main focus. Three point increase by just watching the videos - amazing.
In terms of quant, I did every single math problem and re-did the ones that I flagged as questions I should know how to do. I also watched videos on areas that I was having trouble with - mostly timing. Magoosh videos have SUCH helpful tips on how to do the problems faster. Things that I had never heard of, and I shelled out a lot of $$$ for the Manhattan 9-week course.
I cannot say enough nice things about the Magoosh practicum. Mike McGarry's videos break down the problems in a way that I was able to put into practice. If timing is your issue - I would absolutely invest the $98 in math and verbal. The little hints in the videos were just enough to get me the score I wanted/needed.
Another thing I have to add - the staff is SO incredibly nice and will send you helpful hints and good luck emails right up until the test. The program is so personalized, which really sets it apart from Manhattan. Thanks, Magoosh!
Joined: Aug 29, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 9, 2015
College: USP
Verified Real Student Review

6 points on verbal in 3 weeks

September 30, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 690 After: 730

Hi all! At the beginning of the month I took my first GMAT test, which I scored 690. Basically I needed to improve my verbal, since I had a 50 on Quant and a 34 on verbal. The problem is that I had only 3 weeks to do so, because of universities deadlines... I opted for magoosh verbal after some research, and I loved it. The videos are amazing, easy to understand and help you to to focus on what you need. (Mike is an awesome teacher...!) the exercises with explanations are also a differential. On my second gmat test, 3 weeks later, I improved my verbal in 6 points, which gave me a 730. I've already recommend magoosh for my girlfriend, that is studying for GRE! =)
Go for it, you won't regret. Besides, they have a great policy of money refund.
Joined: Sep 13, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 11, 2015
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Wish i had taken purchased this before

September 26, 2015
  • Teacher: mike mc garry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I started off with my gmat prep in July 15. The problem was being an indian-a non native engligh speaker, I had good Q score (Q47) at my initial diagnostic test but very poor verbals (V28).
I didnt know about magoosh as i was new to gmat game.
So got crackverbal as werll as all MGMAT startegy guides and 5 MGMAT tests. To my dismay, i wasnt improving, V scores were still the same at V25-30.
So i saw Gmat club reviews and people were highly recommending Magoosh. SO i purchased the premium pack on 8th Sept. My exam was just yesterday i.e. 26.09..
and i got a Q47 and V37=690.
Wish i had purchased magoosh before. But as i am gearing up to retake the test, i hope to increase my scores a little more so as to cross the 700 benchmark.
Joined: Sep 25, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 13, 2015
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Invaluable prep.

September 25, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

Magoosh got me a score higher than I aimed for. Clear video explanations with the practise questions and clear topic explanation video's. It's easy to keep track of what you did and didn't watch. The level of the practise questions is easy to set, so you wont waste time with making too easy or too hard questions.

All in all, a perfect way to study for the GMAT.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17