Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Dec 29, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 17, 2015
College: Lehman College
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An all encompassing package!

January 13, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 650

Doing this online course was probably the best decision I made in terms of flexibility and price. If I had more time to commit to studying for the GMAT, I am absolutely sure that I could have reached the 700 score range easily. The concepts were simply explained by all the teachers in the Math and Verbal section and it was helpful that I could always repeat the explanation until I really understood it. The bank of practice questions were also crucial as it was by constant practice that I increased my score levels from my diagnostic exam.

Overall, I was expecting a flexible study schedule with plenty of review opportunities and I got much more, such as video explanations for many of the Official GMAT Prep questions. I would certainly recommend Magoosh to anyone who plans to take the GMAT, especially if they are concerned about pricing and high quality instruction!

Thank you, Magoosh!
Joined: Jan 5, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 5, 2015
College: Colegio Buen Pastor
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Colombia
Verified Real Student Review

A great way to study the gmat

January 5, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

The videos are really good, it?s great that is possible to study using the phone or the tablet. It has many exercises. The mark on the test is very similar to the mark on the real test.
Joined: Jan 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 4, 2015
College: Georgetown University
Major: English
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An absolute lifesaver!

January 1, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Whether you're looking to relearn content or brush up on test-taking strategies, I think it would be hard to find a better value than Magoosh. Before I signed up I tried working with a tutor and going through practice problems on my own, but I started to feel overwhelmed by how much content I needed to relearn (or, in some cases, learn) in such a short time. The great thing about Magoosh is that it breaks down every topic (and I mean EVERY topic) you might see on the GMAT, and each topic has its own <20 minute video packed with practice questions and explanations. I started using Magoosh just a month before my test, and I had no trouble getting through all of the videos, doing the ~900 practice problems, and still having time left over to review my weakest areas.

I took three diagnostic tests before signing up for Magoosh, and all of my scores were between 630 and 650. After using Magoosh for less than a month, though, I ended up with a 740 on the actual exam. I never would have expected to see that much growth in so little time, and I'm so thankful that Magoosh helped me to meet my goals!
Joined: Dec 27, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 8, 2015
College: BHU, Varanasi
Major: Agriculture
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Very Good Course

December 31, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Video explanations of Magoosh are awesome, it will helps in brushing up the foundation.

The best part of the course is it has 800+ awesome questions, which really are close to the GMAT. Second good thing is all these questions come with detailed video explanation.

The verbal videos could be made more interesting, sometimes it gives you a feeling of monotony.

Support from Magoosh team was fantastic.

I would sincerely recommend this course to the aspirants.
Joined: Dec 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 1, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is Awesome!

December 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Chris Lele
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 540 After: 640

Magoosh offers quality prep materials at a very affordable price. The materials were effectively delivered. Tips and tricks on the verbal section are very useful! Most importantly, using Magoosh prep helped improving my gmat score!

Highly recommended!
Joined: Dec 16, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 24, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Crystallizing concepts helped improve my score by 60 points

December 27, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 760

Magoosh helped me tremendously in quant (went from a 46 to 50) - I made sure I solved all the 'hard' and 'very hard' questions, and saw the video explanations for the ones I couldn't understand. I'd say practicing as many Magoosh problems as possible in math helped me in understanding the fundamental mistakes I was making. The video explanations further crystallized the concepts. Also, I wasn't so scared of math as I was the first time I attempted the GMAT Exam. I would say the quant questions are pretty close to actual GMAT ones.

I'm good at relying on common sense and on my ears in Verbal, but I knew that I needed some sort of strategy to cross 40 in that section. Critical Reasoning was where I was making the maximum mistakes in verbal. I saw the Magoosh lectures on it and solved hard questions. That was enough to boost my verbal score by 2 points (39 to 41). I think I could've improved more if I had studied Sentence Correction strategies too, but I didn't have enough time for that.

Overall, I'd recommend this course as its question bank is pretty close to GMAT's, and the video explanations make all the difference.
Joined: Dec 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 16, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing test prep

December 22, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I couldn't recommend a product more. In pretest diagnostics I was testing around 550, but after a month of using only this product, I received a 690 on my official test.
Joined: Dec 1, 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 14, 2015
College: University College London
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

640 to 720 in 3 weeks: Learn the basics first! Magoosh Style.

December 22, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 720

Hi all,

So here are my thoughts on Magoosh

The main difference for me using Magoosh Vs some other courses was that they went into the basics, especially with Verbal, much more than other courses have such as OG 13th Edition.

For me personally I realised after my 3rd test getting to 640 that my approach was wrong somewhere. After taking the Magoosh course for 1 week I reflected back and realised "I'm going through the basic lessons and i'm still learning new things!" especially in Verbal. I must not have had a good foundation or understanding of the fundamentals from the beginning! This is where it really changed for me and was a turning point in my learning approach. The course developed me to being able to:
- Think like an examiner and see where they would try to trap you.
- Answer questions with the knowledge of various shortcuts saving time
- increase the accuracy with which I answered questions.
- understand what outside material you need (i.e. reading the economist and using mental math training apps)

In summary my situation before Magoosh was that when reviewing my practice tests I would say "Oh I would have got this one right it was just a careless mistake". If you feel you are in the same situation don't shrug off these mistakes. It could mean you have a rocky foundation and you need to fix it by going back to basics, hopefully Magoosh can help you with this as it did with me.

Good luck!
Joined: Jul 31, 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 26, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Best value for money course

December 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 730

I enrolled for Magoosh Premium after faltering twice on the GMAT and scoring low on the verbal(31 & 28). Although I scored Q47 and Q49 on quant, I did not wanted to reduce my quant score while focusing primarily on verbal part, thus I enrolled for premium course.

Out rightly I noticed that Magoosh products are much more exhaustive than what is depicted through its low price. It has excellent concept files synergized with almost GMAT style practice questions. Also, I found that its quant questions were more actual GMAT like than that of Manhattan i.e. they are high on trickiness just like actual GMAT. Even verbal practice questions are also truly representative of the actual GMAT.

But the part that most impressed me was its support email service. They have some of the best tutors in the market who are always "Happy to help!". They were inseparable part of my journey and helped me patiently throughout the part of the journey. They have some great insights about GMAT, which one can find on free blogs posted on its website.

Overall, a great product which can demand much more price than it currently demands. I must say this is the most underrated course of GMAT.
Joined: Dec 21, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 15, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep for the Price

December 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 590 After: 640

MAgoosh is a great tool providing online interactive test prep. Ideal for identifying weak spots, practice testing, working on timing, extra prep work. The Magoosh team is extremely helpful and friendly, they certainly went the extra mile for me. Highly recommended for the user looking to improve their timing and improve their skills in a simulated testing environment.
Joined: Dec 15, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 16, 2015
College: Princeton University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing resource and great value

December 15, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

Magoosh was my primary tool for studying for the GMAT. In conjunction with only 2 tutoring sessions, Magoosh allowed me to get my target score after 3 months. I highly recommend using their study schedules. While these schedules could be more user friendly, they will provide the structure you need to keep you on track. Magoosh is an excellent resource for refreshing your math and grammar skills while also learning more advanced concepts and strategies that are specific to the GMAT. All of the practice problem answer explanations are amazing!! So clear and easy to follow. My only complaint is that Magoosh doesn't help too much with pacing and test taking strategy. Regardless, it prepared me for the test so much more than I even thought and it was by far the most cost effective option out there.
Joined: Oct 22, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 26, 2015
College: Eastern Kentucky University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for building fundamental knowledge

December 14, 2015
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: 700

Magoosh is a great course to build your fundamental knowledge. The video lessons and explanations are fun and easy to watch. Mike McGarry is an incredible instructor as well. The video explanations for each Official Guide's problem are also extremely helpful. The value for price that Magoosh offers is second to none.
Joined: Dec 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2014
College: Gitam
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Video Explanations

December 14, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 610 After: N/A

Video explanations of Magoosh are really good . Magoosh prep will help to brush up all basics . When I started my preparation for gmat , I was looking for some online classes which will help me in the right direction and Magoosh gave that confidence .

Coming to question bank it is limited , and same questions are popping up during full length tests as well . full length tests are not giving the right picture of my preparation . Though video explanation for each question is very helpful.

I would say , Magoosh is good for kick starting ones preparation .

Support from Magoosh team was fantastic !!!!
Joined: Dec 13, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 11, 2015
College: University of Maryland
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Verified Real Student Review

Practice through repetition

December 13, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 750

The main aspect that Magoosh helped me with was repetition of problems. The problems in the Magoosh review are quite similar to the real GMAT problems. The explanations were also extremely helpful in understanding the solutions. Magoosh also has a feature where you can review problems that you got wrong and even flag problems to return to. I used this feature a lot in practicing problems that were difficult for me.
Joined: Dec 10, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 15, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great resource great value

December 10, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 710 After: 750

I had taken the GMATS in the past and used Manhattan Prep and received a 710. After being rejected from some of the top b schools I used Magoosh and supplemented it with some private tutoring. I mainly used the verbal parts of the course because I was already happy with my math section.

The online videos are extremely helpful! In addition, anytime I had a question I was able to email them and get feedback within a day. This was the number one part for me. To have such a quick and detailed response was so helpful.
Joined: Dec 2, 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2014
College: GITAM
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Very good video explanations

December 5, 2015
  • Teacher: online classes
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

Video explanations of Magoosh are really good . Magoosh prep will help to brush up all basics . When I started my preparation for gmat , I was looking for some online classes which will help me in the right direction and Magoosh gave that confidence .

Coming to question bank it is limited , and same questions are popping up during full length tests as well . full length tests are not giving the right picture of my preparation . Though video explanation for each question is very helpful.

I would say , Magoosh is good for kick starting ones preparation .

Support from Magoosh team was fantastic !!!!
Joined: Dec 1, 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 19, 2015
College: The Ohio State University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh - Useful tool for GMAT prep

December 1, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 630

I was on a tight schedule - applied to start my studies winter quarter, but found out the school I applied to would like to see a GMAT score from me prior to acceptance... So in 1 month I needed to learn/relearn all of the things I've forgotten since high school/college (I've been out of college for 10+ years...)

Magoosh was a great tool to help me review all of the topics and question types on the test. The videos were a convenient way to study and the practice tests were excellent. Each practice question provided a video explanation of the answer.

The entire prep schedule was a little overwhelming with work and life ... but the Magoosh video instructor was really encouraging (funny, since it was just a video) - but his lesson delivery was upbeat and it was obvious he truly interested in the topics - it helped keep me on track and not too feel discouraged.
Joined: Nov 18, 2015
Purchased Course: May 11, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Good practice questions, GREAT tutorials and lessons

November 23, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I added Magoosh to my studying regimen when I felt like using Manhattan Prep wasn't giving me enough "hands on" practice. I was afraid to waste using the limited test questions Manhattan gave us before I was ready, so I used Magoosh to supplement it. Magoosh had pretty good practice questions, although nothing compares to the leaps and bounds I made when using "real" GMAT questions and tests that I purchased from the official site. Magoosh DEFINITELY helped me get my verbal score up, though, and the lessons were all really great. I loved how they pretty much had a video explanation for every question--that was really helpful.
Joined: Jul 21, 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 22, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course that takes the intimidation out of studying for the GMAT

November 22, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 660

Great course! These guys really know how to teach in a way that helps students understand the material on a deep level. Although the course was self-paced and delivered entirely online, all of the video courses were great and you can customize the level of difficulty in terms of the practice questions. The practice questions are well-designed and take on the same format as the official guide practice questions. These guys are great. This was the second prep course I signed-up for and I say between the two, this one costed about 1/10 the price of the other and provided about 20 times the value!
Joined: Sep 14, 2012
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Good overall material but Verbal strategic content can be improved

November 21, 2015
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I took this course reading the great reviews and knowing I can study the material via apps on my phone since I travel every week being a consultant. I studied on flights, during lunch breaks, nights after work, made notes of important things. But in my practice mocks, I couldn't see much improvement, I moved from 550 to 650. I benefited a lot from Math section but Verbal score didn't see much jump. I realized that the SC course is teaching me excellent grammar details that I'm unable to retain, so it wasn't working well in my case, also I found CR section less detailed than required, with me unable to apply strategy consistently. So I realized I need another course for Verbal that was more practical for my current low level, I'm sure this course is great for a lot other people, but I couldn't derive the same benefit. But I kept coming back to Magoosh for other great things they offer : tips, idiom ebooks, math videos, question bank to practice timing, etc. I finally gave my first GMAT and got a satisfactory 730, and Magoosh did play 50 % role, so deserves credit. Their material is great, but can be improved.
Page:1 2 3 4 5 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17