Test Prep Companies, GRE Prep Company

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2020 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Apr 11, 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 14, 2015
College: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh is very helpful

April 11, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

Magoosh has more than enough questions for you to practice. Each question has a written explanation AND a video explanation so 99% of the time, you'll receive the rationale behind the answer.

Definitely worth it for the price.
Joined: Apr 11, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 20, 2016
College: Saint Louis University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best review I've found

April 11, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I took the GMAT once and had wanted to get a 700 or above. I had a strong math background with my degree coming in engineering, but the verbal was always going to be the toughest for me. I took a few practice tests (both on Magoosh and the 2 offered on the GMAT website), and increased my scores from 600 on the first one to 650 on the last one. I was a little nervous that I wouldn't be able to break 700 based on those. However, the Magoosh site is great for picking specific areas of focus and really allows you to grasp the concepts of difficult lessons with the video explanations after each question. Even if I would get a very hard question correct, many times I would still watch the video to try and understand the concepts better and see if there was a way to get the answer easier. Being able to hone in on the topics I was struggling with really put me over the edge as I scored a 710 (49Q, 37V), beating my goal score by 10. I would say that using this site helped to get me where I wanted to be at in preparation, and it definitely was worth the money. Just an hour or 2 a night, and a few more on the weekends for 3 months got me where I wanted to be at, even with a full time job. Buy the review!
Joined: Mar 7, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 31, 2015
College: Godavari Institute of Engineering and Technology
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Student
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

best source for 99 dollars, apt for students

March 30, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 550

Magoosh is a good tool for GMAT aspirants, quant questions are very useful to students, In GMAT real exam I got some questions same as in magoosh quant. coming to verbal section this section is a quite different from math?s, It requires complete knowledge of English along with lots of patience to read passages. I felt magoosh passages are a bit lengthier than GMAT original exam.
Positives:
? Great flexibility to practice questions as we like,
? Magoosh score predictor is very accurate.
? Explanation of questions and their answers is very nice.
? Customer service is good, reply for doubts will be addressed soon.
? Magoosh YouTube videos like Tuesdays with Kevin are very useful.

Considerations: The only thing I feel wrong with Magoosh is the slow pace of English lessons.
Joined: Mar 29, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 16, 2015
College: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Business
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Phenomenal Study Prep Resource for an Affordable Price!

March 20, 2016
  • Teacher: N/A
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 750

I signed up for the Magoosh Premium Prep (quant and verbal) and couldn't be happier! The videos do a fantastic job of explaining the fundamental concepts, especially on the quant side, and helped me master some of the trickier mental math skills and shortcuts. The adaptive practice problems are also very representative of what you will see on the actual test. I went through almost all of the quant questions and about half of the verbal ones and they definitely covered all the bases. The mobile app is great too and the mobile flashcards were useful for really drilling in formulas, grammar, and idiom rules. I opted to not do a formal class to save money and paired Magoosh with the OG, Manhattan, and Aristotle SC books. Together these were more than enough to prepare me and helped me crush the GMAT on test day!
Joined: Jan 4, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 4, 2016
College: Simon Fraser University
Major: Business
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great for pinning down the basics, especially all of that math that you forgot

March 20, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

The best thing about Magoosh is that it gave me structure. I am NOT at all a self-studying type of person. If I don't have a structured plan given to me by somebody else, I will end up making my own plan, and then straying all over myself. Magoosh's study plans and comprehensive videos are perfect for my style of learning. The only thing that you need to do is follow through their plans, and then tack on 2 weeks of targeting your weaknesses, in order to get a good score. Magoosh's math videos were the strongest point for me, while the verbal videos didn't give me much more than the MGMAT SC book. Perhaps it is because I am a natural English speaker and don't have much patience for grammar rules.

In any case Magoosh brought me from a 690 to a 720 in the course of about 2 months, and I am confident that with some extra study, I will be able to hit around 750 (highest Q + highest V on practice exams = 780). I will be coming back to Magoosh for this second go-around, as I know where to look for the right material to target my weaknesses, and the content is quite comprehensive.

I only wish that Magoosh' practice question database was larger, as I found that I quickly ran out of hard or very hard questions and began seeing repeats. It is in these questions that you raise your score from the above-average to the extraordinary. These questions will get you into the top schools.
Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 1, 2015
College: Illinois State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score from a 460 to 610 in three months

March 18, 2016
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 610

I started with a 460 in the beginning of my GMAT preparation. Through the Magoosh videos and study problems, Beat the GMAT blog, and Magoosh flashcards I was able to increase my score to a 610 in three months. I am fully confident by working with these resources and studying for another month I could get above a 700! I am beyond impressed by the preparation from these online materials and so thankful!
Joined: Mar 15, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 15, 2016
College: Caltech
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing VALUE!

March 15, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 690

I understand that these courses are preparing you for a career (and life) changing step that will hopefully net you eleventy billion dollars for the rest of your life. However, we are not made of money and value is a key variable that needs to be maximized. This is where MAGOOSH shines! Especially if you find one of the 20% off coupons - I used the Valentines Day special and studied from Valentines Day to the Ides of March - 30 days.
As a working professional, I had limited time and money resources. I needed a course that didnt break the bank and helped me remember all that great math I used to love in highschool / college. Magoosh delivered and helped me build general strategies to approach each question "style" The Lesson Videos are great, and the question solution videos are even greater. I dedicated at least 2 hours every day for about a month and it got me from feeling very uncomfortable to scoring a decent 690. I studied with a friend that purchased something from Veritas for ~$2K and we both agreed that Magoosh was better. She then wanted to Magoosh and chill every Saturday. She got 560 :(
The interface is really easy to use and is available on mobile platform so you can take it on the go. It has a very powerful question selection tool that you can set so you can practice a particular type of question, of a desired difficulty. Also, you can review missed questions, flag intractable ones, you can do it ALL. The program also has guidelines on what and how to study depending on the amount of time you have to prepare.
I found the Quantitative section to be much better than the Verbal section. The large amount and variety of practice questions with video explanations were the most helpful. Even though the Verbal part is good, it seems to be not as developed as the Quantitative section. For example, the video narrators are less engaging and it got boring at times, maybe because math is just intrinsically more exciting. There were a few too many typos that were somewhat annoying.
Overall, Magoosh was a big part of me doing better than I would have by just reviewing the GMAT official guides. 10/10 would buy again.
Joined: Aug 3, 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 9, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Good course to brush up Basics

February 25, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I am yet to appear for my GMAT, but the resources of Magoosh was very comprehensive and upto date.
The focus of the course never shifts away from the core understanding of the concepts which is the most important part in the preparation.
The design of the course takes care of the understanding and the sequence you should follow for your preparation and you can trust it and follow it without worrying about a separate plan for your prep.
Although I feel the course best suits somebody who is starting with very little knowledge of GMAT. The videos does at times stretch towards a lot of basics. But you always have the option of rushing through it by reading the transcripts.
They even extended my course free of cost when I was not able to prepare during the course validity period.
Best of luck to anyone who finds this review helpful and ends up getting a score they desire after using Magoosh's products.
Best
Joined: Feb 24, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 11, 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Video explanations are fantastic!

February 24, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

Magoosh has videos for both the concepts necessary to know for the GMAT as well as for EACH practice problem. This is a huge resource that should not be overlooked! Very nice user interface as the cherry on top.
Joined: Jan 24, 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 24, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Great structure for my studying

February 14, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

When I first started preparing for the GMAT I decided not to spend >$1000 in a prep course and decided to hey the original guides and learned everything by myself. However I realized that my studying lacked structure and that's why I decided to purchase Magoosh. With the Ir study plans I made sure to not only.l cover and review the core concepts but also I had the chance to try hundreds of practice questions. The videos and explanations are easy to follow. I would recommend Magoosh for anyone serious tabout he GMAT but not wanting to spend a fortune in that prep.
Joined: Feb 12, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 1, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect course for self-study

February 12, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

Magoosh is the perfect course for students looking to learn on their own time and at their own pace. Everything is self-contained within Magoosh. The only outside resources I used were the official GMAC practice tests and a couple Veritas practice tests. I learned/reviewed everything else in Magoosh.

Having watched every single math video, I can say with authority that every lesson is well designed and recorded in high quality. I will admit that I found the verbal review a little lacking in terms of overall content, but since I started with a decently high verbal score it wasn't an issue for me. I would still recommend Magoosh to folks that need to dramatically improve their verbal score, but I'd recommend using additional outside resources to supplement the content in Magoosh.

As far as pricing goes, I only spent $99 for one year access. I grabbed the Black Friday deal. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to spend the full retail price ($399) if you can't find any discounts. It's absolutely worth it.

Magoosh helped me raise my score 50 full points in just 2 short months of studying. I could not have done this without Magoosh and I would recommend it to any student.
Joined: Jan 29, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 22, 2015
College: university of connecticut
Major: Biology
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Product if you have very less time and need a good score

February 7, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 670

I had less than two weeks to take the GMAT. I was skeptical at first to purchase magoosh. I finally bought it when i took a practice test and score a 560. I realized I needed to review my concepts. I loved magoosh and loved the big video library. I also really liked how all the practice questions were accompanied with an explanation video. I was having timing problems in quant and the videos taught me alternative methods to think faster. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants a high score. I went from a 560 to 670 in two weeks. It only makes you wonder how high one would score if practiced for a month or two. It is a great product with a great team behind it.
Joined: Jan 30, 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 23, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Videos and practice problems are great!

February 3, 2016
  • Teacher: NA
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 660 After: 740

I studied for approximately two months before I took the test the first time. I used Manhattan prep books, OG15, Math and Verbal OGs, and Aristotle Sentence Correction. I studied probably 3 to 4 hours a day for two months straight and could only seem to increase my score by 20 points on my first GMAT from my practice tests.

I then switched gears and ordered the Magoosh Premium Prep. I went through almost all the videos and about 1/3 of the practice problems. It seemed to provide the missing key to unlock a great score. I went from a 660 on my first test to a 740 on my second test. I think Magoosh tied together all the info I had learned and was a great review to take the test the second time.
Joined: Sep 24, 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2, 2015
College: Vanderbilt Univeristy
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely wonderful

January 30, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 640 After: 700

The depth of information between the blogs, explanation videos, review videos, vocab/idiom cards and schedule is incredible. No matter what you're preferred learning style is or how much time you have you'll find a method that works best for you. Work out you're own pace and with the materials you feel are benefiting you best.
Joined: Jan 29, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 21, 2015
College: university of connecticut
Major: Biology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great strategies that will guarantee a success on the GMAT

January 29, 2016
  • Teacher: Mike McGarry
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I was a skpetical at first to purchase magoosh. I decided to try it out though and I was surprised how user-friendly the product was. I have taken courses before for other tests like MCAT with princeton review and kaplan. I think magoosh does a much better job with their student interface than any of the other major companies. They have a variety of questions with different difficulties for each topic studied on the test. They also have an extensive video library that is well taught by Mike McGarry. The strategies and the resources they provide on the blog will lead to great success. On a note, I increased my score from 570 to 680 in less than two weeks as that was all of the time i had due to my hasty decisions. I think if you work hard and work with a company that is willing to help students, like magoosh, you can achieve the 700plus score. I think magoosh is the best for cheap and most effective way for studying for the GMAT.
Joined: Jan 26, 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 4, 2015
College: Texas A&M University
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great practice resource and helpful videos

January 26, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 680

I was recommended Magoosh by a friend as a good supplement for classroom studying. With only a month to study due to approaching deadlines, I ran out of time for a class and used only Magoosh. I followed the one-month prep guide located in the blog section of the site and found it to be intense but exactly what I needed under the time constraints. The learning videos were useful but a little repetitive in some areas. I ended up skimming through videos by the end and only watching videos that contained material I needed help with. Other than that I was very pleased with the number of practice questions available, the varying degrees of difficulty (which are stated after answering) and the accompanying video solutions. It made it easy to pinpoint my strengths and weaknesses and saved me time by allowing me to only focus my efforts where I needed. I would definitely recommend Magoosh. (I paid $99 for the Premium, so that could be why I think it is so good for the value.)
Joined: Jan 25, 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 31, 2014
Verified Real Student Review

user-friendly and perfect for working on your weaknesses

January 25, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: N/A

I have been studying for GMAT for over six months with MGMAT and Magoosh materials. IMHO, MGMAT and Magoosh complement each other very well. MGMAT is an excellent resource to get up to speed on the content but once you cover the books/classes you are pretty much left only with OG questions to practise. While Magoosh's explanation may be inferior to MGMAT, it is by far the best resource for practising and improving your weak areas. Magoosh's interface easily allows you to select the topic and the level of difficulty. Each question is accompanied by a video as well as comparison of your timing to others. The latter function is very handy if you are concerned about your timing on certain questions (not all easy questions can be solved in 1 minute!). Overall, Magoosh is an excellent resource for practising, provided you have solid understanding of the content.
Joined: Jan 20, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 14, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

it creates a pressure - free environement

January 20, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

I am a working professional who have limited time to study. I like the online videoes which give me a lot of free time to arrange my own schedule. The lessons are short but to the point. I don't feel super pressured to prepare for this exam. I am relaxed but I learned.
Joined: Sep 27, 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 28, 2015
College: SASTRA University
Verified Real Student Review

Great approach to GMAT prep!

January 17, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

My GMAT aspirations were big, but my problem had been deciding how and when to start studying. Magoosh was to be the solution. The study plans suggested are comprehensive and cater to a variety of skill levels.

I watched a few lesson videos in the free version and immediately knew I had to buy the Premium product. At $99, it was a top-notch product available at an affordable price. The videos, especially the ones by Mike McGarry (who I tend to refer to as 'Mike Magoosh' :)), are brilliantly articulated and filled with concept review as well as strategies to maximise your performance.

I watched the lesson videos and backed it up with regular timed problem sets. For the first 7-8 weeks, I followed, almost to a tee, the 3-month advanced study plan. I took the second GMAT Prep test a week before the exam, and scored a 740. That's when I realized the contribution of Magoosh to my improvement.

Test day could have gone better, but I was happy overall with my final score of 710. Thank you Magoosh!
Joined: Jan 16, 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 30, 2015
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: History
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh- the easiest way to become a GMAT guru

January 16, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

A month and a half ago, a Masters of Marketing program was announced at a school where I live, and I felt I needed to jump at the opportunity. I had no knowledge of the GMAT and little background in business/math, so I knew I needed some kind of study aid. Magoosh was recommended to me by an admissions counselor and I loved it. Magoosh uses video tutorials to cover every topic that could appear on the GMAT. The video tutorials were easy to follow and explained each concept really well. My favorite little thing about them was the ability to slow down the video to .75x the normal rate or speed it up to 1.25x or 1.5x. Really helpful. Magoosh also has study guides that you can follow that vary from 1 month to 3 months to 6 months to a year. Overall, I came in with zero knowledge and had only a month to prepare but thanks to Magoosh, my score was way above what I thought was possible. And it's affordable! (I got a Black Friday deal).
Page:1 2 3 4 5 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17